We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive but service is crap”
Review of Clinton Park Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Clinton Park Inn
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Velankanni
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Expensive but service is crap”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Had stayed at this hotel for two nights, The hotel accommodation is good, Liked the room which is spacious and shower / toilets are neat. The one back log is the resturant service is pathetic, No was was there to attend or take the order, There seem to be only 3 people working in resturant, Had to wait about 40 minutes to get served. The food served is cold, When requested for more plain rice - the answer was they don't have any left. The breakfast buffet is good, but there is no toaster, the water was served in small tank which is filthy. I don't think that good hotels do that...they need to post or have more people in resturant working and catering to guests. One thing I noticed that when requested to clean the table. One of the resturant worker came with cloth and just instead of collecting all the left overs in to a collector he threw them on sides of table and made us sit. This is just disgusting and he didn't stop there he just went on doing the same for all tables before anyone has come.

Room Tip: Do check your cupboards and tables before using as they are not cleaned properly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cherry231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clintonparkinn, Guest Relations Manager at Clinton Park Inn, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Sir,

Our hearty thanks on your feedback and comments about your stay at our hotel.

Based on your feedback on the SERVICE QUALITY AND CLEANLINESS, we shall take it to our management and take necessary action.

We look forward to welcome you to visit our Clinton Park Inn whenever you come to the Shrine to receive the blessings of Our Lady of Health.

Thanking you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    65
    40
    19
    7
See reviews for
138
23
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brighton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

I did the mistake of booking it directly, instead of booking through Agoda or any other travel sites. I was promised a discount of 20% when I booked it over phone, however during checkout they argued that it was for only one day. The hotel is neat to some extent, however they don't clean the room regularly - unless you call-up house keeping REPEATEDLY. Food (we had the free breakfast) wasn't great, but OK. There was a mini-Fridge in the room, but it wasn't working. Air conditioner controls weren't working properly. The hotel is close to the church - about 700-800 metres, so is walkable. Hotel Seagate is just opposite to this, possibly will try that the next time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The-Genie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clintonparkinn, Guest Relations Manager at Clinton Park Inn, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Sir,

Our hearty thanks on your feedback and comments about your stay at our hotel.

Based on your feedback on the DISCOUNT, we shall take it to our management and take necessary action.

We look forward to welcome you to visit our Clinton Park Inn whenever you come to the Shrine to receive the blessings of Our Lady of Health.

Thanking you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chennai
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Really i like this hotel It was a brilliant experience in Clinton Park Inn. The staff were hospitable and multi-lingual. Great housekeeping. Good service and well maintained rooms.t's a decent pick and probably the best in the locale!Thank you very much for making our stay so pleasant!!!

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter./ No305
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SanthoshQatar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clintonparkinn, Guest Relations Manager at Clinton Park Inn, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Sir,

Our hearty thanks on your feedback and comments about your stay at our hotel.


We look forward to welcome you to visit our Clinton Park Inn whenever you come to the Shrine to receive the blessings of Our Lady of Health.

Thanking you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
165 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed here on a pilgrimage to Velankanni for one night.

Upon check-in the receptionist was confused about the rates but later confirmed our rate of Rs. 3200 and assured a 20% discount on the room rate as we had been recommended the room by someone.

On checking in, the room was hot and stuffy and we somehow managed to get the air conditioner started. We were very disappointed to notice that the minibar fridge was not working and neither was the hot water kettle. It took 1 hour and 3 phone calls to get these replaced. There was only one cup on the tray and the house keeping were hesitant to provide a second cup (very strange). Upon my insistence they did.

We went to the restaurant around 3.30pm and were told that Chinese items and snacks would be available as the kitchen had closed after lunch. We ordered some sandwiches, french fries and noodles. The order took unusually long to be served and came in a very poorly cooked and presented condition. We were provided exactly 15 small pcs of french fries and the embarrassed steward promised to bring a few more. Literally he brought another 10 small pcs and all appeared re-fried and full of oil and soggy. The sandwiches lacked taste and were prepared poorly. On inquiring further, we were informed that the chef had "abruptly left" and so trainees were trying to manage our orders. It was disgusting to make us scape goats of the far less than desirable cooking. We still had to pay a compulsory service charge and a full price for being the "lab rats."

After our church visit, we decided to use in room dining for dinner. There was no menu card in the room. After wasting more than one hour, making 5 phone calls and losing my head, they decided to send a menu after arguing 3 times that the menu card should be in the room. My kids were crying as they were hungry. The meal order was taken and delivered within reasonable time thereafter. The quality of food remained questionable though and pre-empting the same we ordered milk shakes as well.

Past might night the air conditioner broke down and all our attempts to get it fixed were in vain and the maintenance department could not figure what was wrong. They appeared helpless. The reception make no attempt nor offer to change our room so we slept in a furnace all night long.

Early morning the complaints from me continued but the management was NOT BOTHERED. We were fed up and went to the breakfast room (restaurant) and were shocked to see the "rural" functioning of this hotel. There was no toaster, all the cutlery was placed like you would with the buffet like in a youth hostel. When we asked for toast, they took 30 mins to bring us 3 pcs of soggy warm bread which appeared to have been attempted to "toast" on a frying pan. When several guests complained they brought out the "conveyor belt toaster" which otherwise is a standard norm at most hotels. The food was not very edible and coffee/ tea was self service in paper cups (which meant we used double paper cups to prevent burning our hands). Water too was on self service out of ancient dispensers with paper cups.

We spent lots of money ordering milk shakes for every meal since the food was SO BAD. When we ordered milkshakes for breakfast the very first thing the manager informed was that the beverages would be "chargeable." Very money minded in my opinion, specially since the food was so spicy for our kids.

On going back to our room and asking for fresh bath towels, we were given half dried smelly towels which we refused to use and simply decided to check out without taking a bath since the room was hot, towels were dirty and we had already had a pathetic experience in the restaurant.

It took them 45 minutes to check us out and the receptionist could not produce supporting receipts for the items availed in the room service / restaurant. This delayed our departure. They charged us a tariff of Rs. 3500 for a churchview room + taxes despite us not requesting for a room with view and the fact that the lady checking us in promised a tariff of Rs. 3200 less 20% discount. They were successful in making such a scene with the rates that I got fed up and just paid the bill and left in disgust. Attempts to speak to Manohar or Senthil the two supposed managers of the hotel were in vain and they were "not contactable" nor were they willing to assume responsibility.

So, I paid a high price for a non-conditioned room, with a malfunctioning kettle and fridge and was subjected to dirty linen / towels, poor service in the restaurant and room with a compulsory service charge. To top it all PATHETIC ATTITUDE TOWARDS CUSTOMER SERVICE. I would stay in a lodge but NEVER in this place again. If you make the mistake, don't say I didn't warn you.

Room Tip: Doesn't matter. Don't stay here but if you do, no point taking the church view room because...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MumbaiIndiTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clintonparkinn, Guest Relations Manager at Clinton Park Inn, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Sir,

Our hearty thanks on your feedback and comments about your stay at our hotel

Based on your feedback on the QUALITY OF SERVICE, we shall take it to our management and take necessary action for betterment.

We look forward to welcome you to visit our Clinton Park Inn whenever you come to the Shrine to receive the blessings of Our Lady of Health.

Thanking you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

It was a brilliant experience in Clinton Park Inn. The staff were hospitable and multi-lingual. Great housekeeping. Good service and well maintained rooms. Considering the cost, that covers the breakfast at their own restaurant, Clinton Park Inn is work every cent. All in all, it's a decent pick and probably the best in the locale!

Room Tip: Make sure to book a room well in advance! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rana J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clintonparkinn, Guest Relations Manager at Clinton Park Inn, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Sir,

Our hearty thanks on your feedback and comments about your stay at our hotel.


We look forward to welcome you to visit our Clinton Park Inn whenever you come to the Shrine to receive the blessings of Our Lady of Health.

Thanking you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We were a family of 4 to visit velankanni. Stayed at the clinton park inn this time. Room was spacious and nice, however cleanliness is not up to the mark. Especially for the tariff that you pay, you expect more. House keeping needs to be improved or else standard will definitely go down. Floor was not cleaned. The kettle, when opened to make coffee was stinking like it hadnt been washed for years. Really turned us off. Biscuit packet kept in the room was opened prior to us checking in, in spite of bringing it to the notice of the receptionist, it was still added to our bill. Very inefficient. Restaurant is very very expensive. Overall stay was good. But like i said earlier, house keeping needs to pull up their socks or else this hotel will go down the ladder for its upkeep.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank christinaraberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clintonparkinn, Guest Relations Manager at Clinton Park Inn, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Sir,

Our hearty thanks on your feedback and comments about your stay at our hotel.

Based on your feedback on the QUALITY SERVICE, we shall take it to our management and take necessary action.

We look forward to welcome you to visit our Clinton Park Inn whenever you come to the Shrine to receive the blessings of Our Lady of Health.

Thanking you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

Very neat rooms and bathrooms. Very well maintained. Located near to chennai.
A little over priced.
Complimentary breakfast is also good.

And make sure to book AC rooms during summer else it's gonna be very difficult.

Overall very nice experience.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BRSF12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clintonparkinn, Guest Relations Manager at Clinton Park Inn, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Sir,

Our hearty thanks on your feedback and comments about your stay at our hotel.

Based on your feedback on the PRICE OF FOOD, we shall take it to our management and take necessary action.

We look forward to welcome you to visit our Clinton Park Inn whenever you come to the Shrine to receive the blessings of Our Lady of Health.

Thanking you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Velankanni
1.4 mi away
GS Resorts
GS Resorts
#1 of 3 in Nagapattinam
25 reviews
23.7 mi away
Neemrana's Bungalow on the Beach
88.7 mi away
The Tea Road
The Tea Road
#2 of 3 in Auroville
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
MGM Vailankanni Residency
MGM Vailankanni Residency
#3 of 8 in Velankanni
214 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel VPN Residency
Hotel VPN Residency
#2 of 13 in Velankanni
78 reviews
2.7 mi away
Velankanni Lake Resort
Velankanni Lake Resort
#1 of 16 in Velankanni
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clinton Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clinton Park Inn

Property: Clinton Park Inn
Address: Church Main Road, Velankanni 611111, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Nagapattinam District > Velankanni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Velankanni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Clinton Park Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 58

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing