We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Velankkani Trip”
Review of Seagate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Seagate Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Velankanni
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, Delhi, India
1 review
“Velankkani Trip”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

It was a very good stay.Very courteous staff and made my stay very pleasant.The property through Country Vacation was good and made me happy.I will recommend. Also thanks to the Hotel Seagate staff and country vacation for making my trip memorable..Special thanks to Mr Rajan for guiding & advicing.

Thanks again!!!!.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bennami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSeagate, Director of Sales at Seagate Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Mr. Bennami,

Greetings from HOTEL SEAGATE Velankanni !!!

We thank you very much for your review which is really very encouraging and helpful.
We are happy that you consider your trip as 'memorable' and that you would recommend to your friends too and it is very good of you.

We look forward to welcome you back at HOTEL SEAGATE in near future and we assure you of our best services at all times.

May Mother Mary bless you all, always.

Thank you.
F.Vitus
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    84
    49
    13
    12
See reviews for
190
17
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

The room had a smell and did not have basic ammenities.
Staff are poorly trained, they are rude and wants to argue their point and make snide remarks ( bellman, front desk and ladies clearing the breakfast table).
A very crowded venue for breakfast. Staff do not wipe table after patrons leave. Customers are limited to one coffee at breakfast - so much for a buffet.
You can hear mass from the room- that was amazing to us. And its walking distance to church.
They do not accept credits cards so all payment must be done in ruppes.
Clinton Inn Opposite looked like a better bet to me.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josephine7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSeagate, Director of Sales at Seagate Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Ms. Josephine,

Greetings from HOTEL SEAGATE Velankanni !!!

We thank you very much for your review which is really very encouraging and helpful. Your suggestions will be taken into account that the maintenance and service of this hotel will certainly be updated that foreigners too may feel their stay here quite homely.

We look forward to welcome you back at HOTEL SEAGATE in near future and we assure you of our best services at all times.

May Mother Mary bless you all, always.

Thank you.
F.Vitus
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipoh, Perak, Malaysia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

When we reached at night we were attended by staffs who were not helpful at all.. We ask certain question and we got a rude response.. We went out to the basilica and came about 1030pm.. It was stated that the kitchen closes at 11pm so we ask for something to eat as we didn't have our dinner yet.. We got a rude response for it too.. The room s in the main block were poor maintained.. The buffet breakfast was so so and was plain.. We had our worst stay in this hotel.. Probably for our next visit I would never visit this hotel..

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Alfred J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSeagate, Director of Sales at Seagate Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Mr. Alfred,

Greetings from HOTEL SEAGATE Velankanni !!!

We thank you very much for your review which is really very encouraging and helpful.

All the remarks mentioned in your writing, will be rectified and we will see to it that your next stay is made pleasant and memorable.

We look forward to welcome you back at HOTEL SEAGATE in near future and we assure you of our best services at all times.

May Mother Mary bless you all, always.

Thank you.
F.Vitus
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

I had a night stay ere with my family.. V had a 8 day visit ti india.. But this hotel seemed to be the worst ever.. When v arrived the person at d front desk was so rude... Did not even answer to our questions properly.. Then d boys who took our luggage followed us to the room.. Thy kept al in n then just stood there in the room.. Thy were like so desperately waiting to be tipped.. Yeah i surely would tip them but i feel its so not professional to just stand thr waiting.. The rooms were ok ok but had some strange smell... The rooms were dusty as well.. Breakfast was complimentary buffet nut per guest is limited to only 1 coffee.. Then y call it buffet..? The only good thing about this place is its very near and only walking distance to the shrine.. Hope the management could improve on this..

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerald86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSeagate, Director of Sales at Seagate Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Mr. Gerald,


Greetings from HOTEL SEAGATE Velankanni !!!

We thank you very much for your review which is really very encouraging and helpful.

Kindly bear with us for the inconvenience. All the remarks mentioned in your letter, will be duly rectified.

We look forward to welcome you back at HOTEL SEAGATE in near future and we assure you of our best services at all times.

May Mother Mary bless you all, always.

Thank you.
F.Vitus
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
1 review
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Hi

I been to Velanakani it was a very nice experience, we stayed at the Hotel Seagate velanakani,we stayed at cottage for 4days, Mr.Rajan whho welcomed us, to care of nicely,accross the velankani we found seagate team is good enough to take care of the family with security,

nice place,worth money.....

hats off to Mr.Rajan....

Room Tip: Hi guys next time when u wanted to go to Velanakani Ring mr.Rajan he will make comfortable your jou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank devhoney1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSeagate, Director of Sales at Seagate Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Mr. Devhoney,

Greetings from HOTEL SEAGATE Velankanni !!!

We thank you very much for your review which is really very encouraging and helpful.
We are happy about the satisfaction of your stay here.

We look forward to welcome you back at HOTEL SEAGATE in near future and we assure you of our best services at all times.

May Mother Mary bless you all, always.

Thank you.
F.Vitus
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

This is definitely a budget hotel, and worth the price that you pay. Its got rooms and cottages. My review is on the rooms portion. The hotel is slightly old, some portions of the room do look spoiled. But like I mentioned, for the price that you pay - one really cant complain. Being very close to the Velankanni Church is one of its biggest plus points, also very close to the Velankanni Train Station and Bus station. Surprisingly it has a swimming pool - pretty decent again. Within the hotel on the backside, they have a few cottages as well which look very well maintained. Parking facilities available. No Wifi. They have a south Indian buffet breakfast, which was pretty tasty. Lunch and dinner were about ok. Would suggest to walk on the main road and soak in the taste of the local food.

Room Tip: Book in advance, especially around the season. Hotel does seem to get a little full.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajitjt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSeagate, Director of Sales at Seagate Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Mr. Ajitit,

Greetings from HOTEL SEAGATE Velankanni !!!

We thank you very much for your review which is really very encouraging and helpful. We have noted your satisfactory and suggestive remarks and it is very good of you.

We look forward to welcome you back at HOTEL SEAGATE in near future and we assure you of our best services at all times.

May Mother Mary bless you all, always.

Thank you.
F.Vitus
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

What hits you when you enter the premises is the vast space available when compared to other hotels in this pilgrimage center ... Excellent parking facilities ...very neatly kept place close the the church ...I had taken a cottage for five of us i the family.... spacious bedrooms, a large hall with dining area a fridge,a balcony with a view of the Church ....The room service is very prompt, very tasty food,which comes in sealed cardboard containers .... Very breezy throughout he day .
Of course compared to other Hotels the price is high but you get small not so clean rooms in the other medium sized Hotels.
There is sumptuous complimentary breakfast in the morning strictly from 7.30 am to 9.30 am only
If you have an extra person in your room then you have to pay for breakfast for that person ..

I have stayed in many hotels in Velankanni during my several trips with my family but I found this hotel extremely comfortable...Of course there are rooms also available here if you think a cottage is too expensive ....You can enjoy all the other faculties including a small swimming pool even if you stay in one of their rooms.

Room Tip: If you are taking a cottage then ask for one in the new block .... The old block cottages have a kit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joeswamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSeagate, Director of Sales at Seagate Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Mr. Joe Swamy,

Greetings from HOTEL SEAGATE Velankanni !!!

We thank you very much for your review which is really very encouraging and helpful.
We are happy to learn that your first stay in our hotel was 'extremely comfortable'.

We look forward to welcome you back at HOTEL SEAGATE in near future and we assure you of our best services at all times.

May Mother Mary bless you all, always.

Thank you.
F.Vitus
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Velankanni
1.5 mi away
GS Resorts
GS Resorts
#1 of 3 in Nagapattinam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
23.8 mi away
Neemrana's Bungalow on the Beach
0.0 mi away
Poppys SET Residency
Poppys SET Residency
#13 of 25 in Kumbakonam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel VPN Residency
Hotel VPN Residency
#2 of 13 in Velankanni
3.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.8 mi away
MGM Vailankanni Residency
MGM Vailankanni Residency
#3 of 8 in Velankanni
4.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
0.4 mi away
Annai in Saravana Bhavan
Annai in Saravana Bhavan
#3 of 13 in Velankanni
3.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seagate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seagate Hotel

Property: Seagate Hotel
Address: Main Road,Nagapatinam District, Velankanni 611111, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Nagapattinam District > Velankanni
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Velankanni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Seagate Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Seagate is located on the main road of Velankanni very close to Velankanni Church, railway station, beach and bus stand. This hotel has the direct view of main shrine and morning star church. Hotel Seagate is known for its swimming pool, restaurant, juice shop, garden, child play park and ample car and bus parking space. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing