We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice budget option.”
Review of Sea Breeze Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sea Breeze Hotel
Ranked #23 of 27 Hotels in Mahabalipuram
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice budget option.”
Reviewed January 1, 2012

We were at Sea breeze for Christmas weekend. Location is good with the beach next to it. Service was not very good, maybe because the staff were on holiday. They had set a table for a few guests on the lawn but when we asked the manager said that those guests were related to the owner and so the special treatment. Nepotism at its worst. Overall it was fairly clean but we did have trouble getting hot water to work. It's solar heated and didn't work well. On the whole a clean place with good proximity to the beach

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shortsightedsid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    125
    88
    46
    38
See reviews for
105
113
26
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2011

Having read the rave reviews on Trip Advisor, we decided to give this place a try. Reception looked very classy but when we got to our rooms they were worse than the cheapest budget places I have stayed in while back-packing on other trips. Very shabby bedrooms full of mosquitoes and nothing more than hovels. The pool, however, was wonderful - except for the day that a pack of young Indian louts arrived - not staying at the hotel but paying to use the pool. There must have been at least a dozen of them who got drunker and drunker, spit in the pool, vomited around it, intimidated anyone else who wanted to use it and one even exposed himself. The pool staff couldn't get them out and management seemed to be more concerned about the great money they were making on alcohol sales to these louts. Therefore, the only thing worthwhile in this place (the food was lousy and expensive) became a nightmare to anyone who wanted to use the pool or sit around it that day. It was an example of the lack of respect management had towards those who had paid to stay. Also, reception was very unfriendly and was only interested in counting the money.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vacancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mahabalipuram hotels

Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2011

Excellent Location with Sea view cottages Over looking Bay of Bengal & well maintained Swimming pool with huge Landscaped gardens, Very spacious rooms & good to relax & enjoy once in a while. We stayed there with family for 2 night, kids enjoyed the most in water.

proximity to shore temple, Arjuna's Penance & chariot of pallavas. Outside eateries plenty available mostly sea foods, but must bargain before ordering as these are cooked against the order which will take 20-25 minutes approx.

Sea Breeze in Mamallapuram is Exotic & Great location & lose to Chennai by 56km, pondicherry by 90km( French settlement, famous for Auroville & Mother's Ashram) & kancheepuram by 65km.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view & super deluxe only for neat rooms, Else if you want privacy ask for private lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mhuraly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2011

Great location with its own beach and not far from all the temples. We had a De Luxe Room for RS2900 per night incl taxes. It was large, airy, good bathroom and with an enormous bed and satellite TV with choice of English-speaking channels. Good buffet breakfast but don't eat in the outside section as huge crows fly down and pinch your food! Some of the staff are fine, others a bit surly and do not speak much English, but we managed OK. Their laundry service is fantastic - only Rs10 per item including shirts and trousers, good finish and back same day. For dinner, can recommend the Nautilus just a few yards down the road - French-run with excellent food and good prices. Staff here very friendly and you don't have to wait too long. In this resort be prepared for quite frequent power cuts, we had one during a meal in another restaurant one evening where they didn't have a generator and finished eating it by very dim candlelight!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank silversurfer6550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new delhi
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2011

This is a gem of a property we found on the net..right in the heart of the city..great location..have a pvt beach..nice and huge garden..very well maintained swimming pool..good food..ultra clean rooms and bathrooms with all the amenities..market very close..all the sight seeing very close to the resort..and on top of it highly cooperative staff..though we had some communication problem for the pick up..they never asked for an extra penny even..that was the level of commitment of the resort..highly professional people..in the market they had dolphin tours which arranged a very economical taxi to pondi with an excellent hindi speaking driver badshah..who made our journey to pondi very comfortable..the on rent scooter shop is near who charges 300 rs for a day..and there is a footwear maker ganesh in the market who makes very nice chappals on demand..colour,fit and design..all these at a walking distance from the resort..all in all an excellent stay..would recommend this resort to any body who comes this way..thanks to the staff.. and would love to come here again myself to your hotel.....

Room Tip: try n choose a pool facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deepak879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2011

We selected the Sea Breeze hotel based on the reviews here and were not disappointed. We just spent 2 nights of a weekend to relax after a pretty tiring week. The first thing that strikes about this hotel is the proximity to the beach and the uninhibited view of the Shore Temple.

We took up a sea facing Deluxe Room and had a good view of the ocean from our balcony. The room was big enough and had clean interiors. The dinner was decent and had nothing to rave about.(you could anyway head out to Moonrakers nearby anytime..) The Room Service was prompt and up to the mark. The Breakfast Buffet was OK and could have been better. The Swimming pool was an absolute treat and was pretty clean. We also had a great time at the Massage Center at the hotel. The Ayurvedic Body Massage was very much refreshing.Overall, The stay was very good and we would definitely want to recommend this hotel for anyone wishing to have a decent stay in Mahabalipuram...

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashok666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
136 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2011

Considering that Mamallapuram (Mahabalipuram or 'Mahab') appearingly offers little in terms of high-end accommodation, Sea Breeze Hotel is a decent choice. Its most attractive features include a front porch for the bottom level rooms, a clean, decent-sized swimming pool, and direct access to the beach. Rooms and the general grounds are clean enough. It is located in the quiet, tourist-oriented part of Mahab that you want to be where seafood options are endless and where you will have no trouble picking up a souvenir for those keen to do so. Generally speaking, it is a decent stay for what Mahab has to offer.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Daz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mahabalipuram hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mamalla Heritage
Hotel Mamalla Heritage
#7 of 27 in Mahabalipuram
433 reviews
0.1 mi away
INDeco Mahabalipuram
INDeco Mahabalipuram
#13 of 27 in Mahabalipuram
265 reviews
5.8 mi away
Landmark Pallavaa Beach Resorts
Landmark Pallavaa Beach Resorts
#10 of 27 in Mahabalipuram
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Mamalla Beach Resort
Mamalla Beach Resort
#14 of 27 in Mahabalipuram
208 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ramakrishna
Hotel Ramakrishna
#16 of 27 in Mahabalipuram
135 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mahabs
Hotel Mahabs
#9 of 27 in Mahabalipuram
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Breeze Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Breeze Hotel

Property: Sea Breeze Hotel
Address: Ottawadai Street, Mahabalipuram 603104, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Kanchipuram District > Mahabalipuram
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Mahabalipuram
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Mahabalipuram
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Sea Breeze Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sea Breeze

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing