We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for Entertaining/But not for staying”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mahabalipuram
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Golden Sun Hotel & Beach Resort
Ranked #15 of 27 Hotels in Mahabalipuram
Chennai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good for Entertaining/But not for staying”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

I stayed there last weekends(10/12/12). Food was good and hygienic. Swimming pool also good but the locality of pool is poor. Service was good. Room only average and TV remote and fridge were not working. The rate is very high for this.I paid 4500 only for a day. It is not worthy.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AnsalMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    27
    25
    20
    20
See reviews for
75
16
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
112 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

I previously stayed at this hotel a couple of times some years ago. At that time, although a very basic sort of hotel, it was not bad for the money.

Now fast forward to 2012. I had booked an Executive Double for 8 days for a stay in November.

On arrival the hotel looked more or less the same although it looked on the neglected side.

The room had seen better days. Now shabby I can deal with but filth is no way acceptable anywhere. The floor was at best disgusting, the pedal bin must have been allergic to water and the fridge was in the same sorry state.

The balcony to the room was dirty with broken wooden surrounds.

The bathroom whilst basic was, in contrast, reasonably clean. The water heater did not work.

The restaurant was basic but the food not too bad. The staff at least tried.

There is also a problem in the general area with the power, or lack of it. On the day of arrival we had a total of 7 hours on and off with the cuts. There is a generator on site that powers only the lights, tv and the like but does not support the working of the AC. The room therefore remained stuffy and very warm and the fan only helped to circulate the already warm air.


I stayed that night and checked out the following morning. The Manager was informed of the reason why.

The room rate was Rps 4700 that included taxes and breakfast. It is not worth the rate and I would not return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Igirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mahabalipuram hotels

Coimbatore, India
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

It is located about 3 km before Mahabalipuram town bang on the ECR. The swimming pool facing suites are an ideal choice if you are looking to relax. Otherwise, they have these smaller rooms but located a bit away from the sea.I have stayed at both these rooms and found the prices reasonable.The beach is accessible from the hotel and offers a lot of privacy as it is located away from all the hustle and bustle of Mahabalipuram. It is safer to stick to Indian dishes when ordering food. The place is huge, calm and offers a lot of relaxation. I would definitely recommend this place any time.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aswin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
132 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We have visited this place with a gang of friends few times earlier to spend one full day at the premises, but this time, we decided to stay overnight. In a way we were familiar with the place.

Agenda for this trip: Catch up with a couple of college friends and spend time chatting and drinking.

Checked in around 18:45, no prior reservation, just walked in. It was ok. Paid around 3400 INR for a AC double room with an extra bed.

Room was just reasonably ok, definitely not comfy, but clean though. Low ceiling, make sure not to lift up your hands when the fan is on, it is really that low. AC and TV worked fine, the lighting in the room is dim, not enough if you plan to read. Bed mattress is not soft, but adjustable. Carry your towels, the one you get are very very old, but still clean and washed.

We decided to have a few drinks, asked them to set up a table in the lawn, just opposite to the bar, that was very good. The interiors of the Bar is not very inviting, so definitely better on the lawn. Watch out for mosquitoes, have a mosquito repellant cream handy. After a few drinks, either they go away or you dont feel them anymore ;)
When people complain about the food, it is most likely about the buffet that you get when you pay INR 400-something. Almost all that we ordered was hot and very tasty. Service was pretty quick and they didnt disappoint. The Bar/Restaurant Manager was present to check what we wanted now and then. Had a break, had a stroll and resumed our session again, ended with dinner. No complaints here at all, prices moderate.

Simultaneously, there was another gang of about 10-15 men, obviously having fun among themselves, lot of drinks, dance, loud music, using the swimming pool, etc. It definitely was not an issue for the three of us. In fact we were enjoying the fast, peppy numbers that they played, but with family, it probably wouldnt be too comfortable in those circumstances.

Room service was ok. We asked for two bottles of water, and was delivered to the room within 10 minutes. Since the property is spread out, expect a slight delay in room service.

Swimming pool was clean and well-maintained. We didnt use it this time, but have used it on previous trips. Get your swimming costume, or you can buy it from the store there, not very cheap though.

Woke up early around 05:45 AM and took a leisure walk to the beach. It was pleasant, got a nice view of the sunrise, and by 07:30, we decided to check out.

Overall, for us, it was absolutely wonderful. What we came for, we got. No complaints whatsoever.

Verdict: Yes for trip with friends, Think twice or Probably not with family.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mshreedhaaran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

The reception is not very friendly. Although the executives sitting at the corporate office helped us.

The food quality was not great. Once ordered, we waited almost an hour for the lunch in the room, and when I called back I was surprised that they have no lunch order from our room. The person who takes order on phone, writes the order on scraps of paper and no idea how it is maintained. I was very disappointed and went personally to the kitchen and ordered the food. There was no apologies from the management as well.

We asked for bicycles to roam around the town, the bicycles came for us were vintage and very bad in shape, no air in the tyre and they asked twice the amount they promised while booking.

Simply put the staff doesn't understand, how to behave and care the customers.

I'll defintely recommend not to visit this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VipulNikki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2012

We had gone to this resort for a team outing. Frankly, as a team we directly hit the beach and played games all day. We had organized a treasure hunt in the resort premises, and it worked out to be interesting.

But apart from this, the resort as such didn't provide any service. The lesser said about the food, the better. Each plate costs 450 bucks, but it is worthless!! The restrooms are worse than public toilets. The so-called health sauna club is nothing but a dungeon (we had one of our clues here!!). You have to pay additional charges for hitting the pool. Do carry your swimwear, or you'll be fleeced for hiring them!

Overall, a very forgetful experience, but since we had our agenda chalked out, it didn't matter much. But it was heavy on the budget. Not recommended for families at all.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GlobalTravellerInd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2012

I stayed at this place in January end at around 3300/- per night. This is a nice property with a good location, but the level of cleanliness and maintenance is not very good. Also, I would suggest not to eat at the restaurant here, there are better options outside at less cost.

Pros: Sea view rooms (on first floor), private beach, decently maintained lawns, hammocks etc, close enough to mahabalipuram attractions.
Cons: The rooms and bathrooms are old, showers do not work properly, live crabs in swimming pool, shabby massage parlor, too many corporate/group event with loud music which can go until late in the night -- for two out of our three days there we were uncomfortable sitting on the beach in late evenings due to this.

Room Tip: Rooms on first floor are better lit and have good view (especially rooms 1-5)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shipra_ag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mahabalipuram hotels
1.9 mi away
Hotel Mamalla Heritage
Hotel Mamalla Heritage
#7 of 27 in Mahabalipuram
433 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sea Breeze Hotel
Sea Breeze Hotel
#23 of 27 in Mahabalipuram
322 reviews
2.0 mi away
INDeco Mahabalipuram
INDeco Mahabalipuram
#13 of 27 in Mahabalipuram
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Grande Bay Resort and Spa
Grande Bay Resort and Spa
#2 of 27 in Mahabalipuram
374 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mamalla Beach Resort
Mamalla Beach Resort
#14 of 27 in Mahabalipuram
208 reviews
3.9 mi away
Landmark Pallavaa Beach Resorts
Landmark Pallavaa Beach Resorts
#10 of 27 in Mahabalipuram
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Sun Hotel & Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Sun Hotel & Beach Resort

Property: Golden Sun Hotel & Beach Resort
Address: 59 Kovelong Road, Mahabalipuram 603103, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Kanchipuram District > Mahabalipuram
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Mahabalipuram
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Sun Hotel & Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Sun Hotel & Beach Resort is a resort where you feel one with nature. From the moment you step in a feeling of The beautifully decorated surroundings of the Golden Sun Beach Resort gives immense feeling of satisfaction. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Golden Sun Hotel & Beach Mamallapuram
Golden Sun Hotel And Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing