We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
INDeco Mahabalipuram
Ranked #13 of 27 Hotels in Mahabalipuram
rajahmundry
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
Reviewed June 30, 2010

We stayed here for 2 days. It was good hotel with amities like swimming pool, massages, e.t.c. The rooms are not so luxurious . But restaurant is good with delicious food.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trips0_lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    88
    76
    27
    19
See reviews for
93
76
18
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 6 Contributor
379 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2010

IndEco Hotel in Mahabalipuram was a wonderful surprise ! Located on sprawling grounds near the beach and adjacent to the Shore Temple, its a nice place to stay. Its not a posh luxury hotel so that kind of comfort and service is not on the cards, but its well worth the money you pay.

The owner, whose commitment to preserving the environment and our cultural heritage is so obvious, has created a museum on the premises, not ancient antiques but stuff from a much later time, mostly colonial. As a senior citizen, i could remember a few of the stuff from my childhood. Of more recent vintage is the gate of the old central jail in Chennai which the owners bought when the jail shifted to Puzhal. The lobby houses a lot of the exhibits and is a nice place to spend a morning reading a book.

Everything you want to see in Mahabalipuram is within walking distance as is the beach.

The food was good - we remember enjoying the fish curry mahabs, and the breakfasts puris et al . The coffee , unfortunately, was not up to speed. The bar doesn't have a great selection and it is a pity that one cannot sit in the airy lobby or at the poolside with a drink ...
The service is friendly but not terrible efficient and the rooms could do with better maintenance. The prices are wallet friendly.

For a quiet, peaceful and relaxed holiday in a nice setting, I would heartily reccomend this hotel.

PS For some strange reason, Trip Advisor list this hotel under Kancheepuram and not Mahabalipuram !!

JP 100028482

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yesuthasen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2010

We stayed here on a weekend break. The kids simply loved the antique museum and the swimming pool. There is also a heritage ride on a bullock cart which is arranged in the evenings. The food is good, however the service needs to be spruced up. The rooms were okay, but could be maintained better. Also, the shore temple is very closeby and a short walk from your room leads you to the beach. They have lovely grounds with lush trees which keeps the place cool even when it is hot. They also have indoor games like pool and table tennis which was an attraction for the men.
Also, it would be a great place for any kind of banquets as they have big one almost on the beach!
The outdoor restaurant especially is quite cozy and this is a great place to just chill, relax, and watch the world go by!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelcrazychica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chennai
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 18, 2010

- very nice place
- surrounded with sight seeing places
- natural air flow
- excellent room service
- total worthy one

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yesnathan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
france
1 review
Reviewed March 3, 2010

Your hotel was a wonderful experience, the staff was so polite and very helpful, always with a smile, the rooms very comfortable, your staff makes this hotel a comfort to stay .Thank you.

  • Stayed January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gargia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koh Tao, Thailand
1 review
Reviewed February 19, 2010

This is the first visit to south India. We had experienced a historical life and we enjoyed our stay at Indeco Mahabalipuram. Really I felt living in my home. Good food, excellent service we all enjoyed. Thank you.

  • Stayed January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claudiya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 21, 2010

Stayed here just one night so the review is limited.
The location is very convenient. Close to the temples, close to the beach, close to the centre of town yet very private and secluded.
The property is filled with lovely old trees and though just steps from the beach has an ambiance of a lush garden rather than a beach. I found the decor somewhat kitschy but each to our own as far as taste is concerned.
The room was clean but was both musty and smelled strongly of disinfectant.
Housekeeping had forgotten to provide a towel which I discovered midway through my shower. However, the limited staff on duty during my late night check-in were most courteous, helpful and eager to please.
Overall I'd say it was a modest property that offers good value.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raintreefarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mahabalipuram hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mamalla Heritage
Hotel Mamalla Heritage
#7 of 27 in Mahabalipuram
435 reviews
8.7 mi away
InterContinental Chennai Mahabalipuram Resort
0.5 mi away
Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Chariot Beach Resort
Chariot Beach Resort
#8 of 27 in Mahabalipuram
427 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grande Bay Resort and Spa
Grande Bay Resort and Spa
#2 of 27 in Mahabalipuram
383 reviews
1.9 mi away
Welcomhotel Kences Palm Beach
Welcomhotel Kences Palm Beach
#3 of 27 in Mahabalipuram
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to INDeco Mahabalipuram? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about INDeco Mahabalipuram

Property: INDeco Mahabalipuram
Address: Shore Temple Road | Mahabalipuram, Mahabalipuram 603104, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Kanchipuram District > Mahabalipuram
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Mahabalipuram
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — INDeco Mahabalipuram 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled close to the legendary Shore Temple and the popular 7th century monoliths, is INDECO Mahabalipuram, the town's only luxury boutique hotel. This hotel is situated right in the heart of the town and spreads over a tranquil beach, offering contemporary luxuries in a historical back drop.INDECO Mahabalipuram, is an Indeco boutique hotel on the shores of Mahabalipuram and is set amidst the tourist attractions of the town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your INDeco Mahabalipuram reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Indeco Mahabalipuram Hotel Mahabalipuram
Indeco Mahabalipuram Kanchipuram

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing