We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unloved Tired Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
INDeco Mahabalipuram
Ranked #13 of 27 Hotels in Mahabalipuram
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Unloved Tired Hotel”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We found this to be a rather tired and unloved hotel. Its only redeaming feature was the friendly and helpful reception staff, and the cheerful cleaning girls who seemed to try their best in a difficult environment. The whole set up reminded us of a rather run-down holiday camp in the UK.
The swimming pool, though cleaned regularly by a man who climbed right into the pool, was refreshing but had cracked and broken paving and trashed, tatty looking plastic statues beside it.
Separate neglected looking room pods are dotted around under the trees, in quite a pleasant garden setting. The AC worked well but there were bad smells in the bathroom, and the very dated 50's style furnishings were decidedly grubby.
The restaurant was awful. Service was painfully slow, and the food un exciting. At breakfast there were bugs swimming in and crawling around the hot milk jug. Needless to say we couldn't face eating there after experiencing this.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N0mads2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    86
    76
    27
    18
See reviews for
91
76
18
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Delhi
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Initially i was very tensed and did a lot of research to zero down on a resort which would serve our GROUP of 25 People.
I must say it was not an easy task of finalising Indeco, i initially was looking forward to Blue Bay Beach Resort but then i read some really bad reviews about it. So i was looking for a resort which was:
a, Right on the Beach
b. Neat Rooms
c. Handle a Group
d. Within our budget

I can Happily say Indeco fulfilled all of this, but since it had mixed reviews on Tripadvisor i was sceptic abt it, still i took a chance and Gambled.

Now when we reached the resort, it was quite late 22:30, but the Manager Mr Mugesh held a very very Tasty Dinner (North Indian) for us, I must say the food was very very Good in Taste and in Variety.
The rooms were very neatly done and the Property is very good i must say.The activity area, the sit out swimming pool, the sit outs and ESPECIALLY THE RESORTS PRIVATE ENTRY INTO THE BEACH.
When u stay as a Family Group you have all types of Needs for children and for females, the Staff and especially Mr Mugesh FULFILLED EACH AND EVERY ONE WITH A SMILE.
The kind of North Indian Food served is Surely ABOVE AVERAGE, its very very good

Conclusion:Loved the experience, will visit again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MitulExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

the rooms were smelly and were forced to move to a different room. was not given the promised room although i had made a reservation and confirmed it well in advance. the morning breakfast was bad, everything served was cold and upon complaining, didnt get any response and no one was bothered either... i wouldnt recommend this place....

Room Tip: do not go in for the suite rooms, they are bad and not worth the money they charge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ronak_r_m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mahabalipuram hotels

Bangalore, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

The ambiance & the food was good...liked the fish curry the most. The decoration is mind blowing. I liked the behavior and service. Would like to stay their some time in future if I visit this place again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ArabindaSen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pondicherry, India
Level Contributor
155 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We spent 1 night with our friends from france. The hotel is in walking distance from the shore temple and the beach is a few minutes walk. The rooms were nice and comfortable & clean. Special thanks to the team to organise last minute birthday cake which was very good. Will recommend friends this place.

Room Tip: Do request for cottage rooms as they are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Devdutt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silver spring
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

There are some nice rooms, and some incredibly run-down rooms -- we spent one bad night in a mosquito-infested, dirty room with mould in the shower and paint coming off the walls...and then we asked to be moved...and got a much nicer room, same price. I thought that the staff were quite friendly and helpful...and the location was good.

Room Tip: I would ask to see the room first...perhaps ask for recently remodeled rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silverspringlaurie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We recently visited Mahabalipuram and stayed in this hotel for 2 nights. We had booked 2 rooms over the phone a couple of weeks in advance and transferred some advance amount online. That process was quite smooth and we found the checking in process when we arrived pretty smooth as well.
The most impressive thing about the hotel is the property it is located on and its location.In a way its a small resort with plenty of artifacts strewn about the place. The beach as well as the famous Shore Temple is walking distance from it (the beach in fact has a private path to it). There is a fine view of the sea from the entrance of the hotel but not from any of the rooms (they had already informed us about that at the time of booking). They have a decent sized swimming pool and some games facilities (and a trampoline which the kids loved).
The a/c rooms we got and the furnishing within them were a bit old and low on natural light but quite cozy and clean otherwise. But I have a feeling these rooms will be damp during the monsoons.
The breakfast was complementary and had a lot of options. First day we had lunch and dinner at the hotel restaurant and were not really happy with either of them. On a couple of occassions the service was exceedingly slow. The recption people however were quite friendly and helpful.
Overall considering the price and location I think this is a very good option in Mahabalipuram for a short family trip. If you want to spend a lot of time on the beach choose one of the resorts before Mahabalipuram - within the town the beach is extremely dirty.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KothaiGhuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mahabalipuram hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mamalla Heritage
Hotel Mamalla Heritage
#7 of 27 in Mahabalipuram
433 reviews
8.7 mi away
InterContinental Chennai Mahabalipuram Resort
0.7 mi away
Grande Bay Resort and Spa
Grande Bay Resort and Spa
#2 of 27 in Mahabalipuram
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram
0.8 mi away
Chariot Beach Resort
Chariot Beach Resort
#8 of 27 in Mahabalipuram
420 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sea Breeze Hotel
Sea Breeze Hotel
#23 of 27 in Mahabalipuram
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to INDeco Mahabalipuram? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about INDeco Mahabalipuram

Property: INDeco Mahabalipuram
Address: Shore Temple Road | Mahabalipuram, Mahabalipuram 603104, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Kanchipuram District > Mahabalipuram
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Mahabalipuram
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — INDeco Mahabalipuram 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled close to the legendary Shore Temple and the popular 7th century monoliths, is INDECO Mahabalipuram, the town's only luxury boutique hotel. This hotel is situated right in the heart of the town and spreads over a tranquil beach, offering contemporary luxuries in a historical back drop.INDECO Mahabalipuram, is an Indeco boutique hotel on the shores of Mahabalipuram and is set amidst the tourist attractions of the town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your INDeco Mahabalipuram reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Indeco Mahabalipuram Hotel Mahabalipuram
Indeco Mahabalipuram Kanchipuram

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing