We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for Money... Good Hospitality and Service...”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mahabalipuram
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Greenwoods Beach Resort
Ranked #12 of 29 Mahabalipuram B&B and Inns
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Value for Money... Good Hospitality and Service...”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

I stayed in the Greenwoods quite few times in the last five years. Every year atleast once i visited the mahabalipuram all the time i stayed in the same hotel. Hotel is very calm surrounded by big trees and plants. You feel like staying in home. Its unlike in other hotels. Very Private. Breakfast you will get with the tariff paid for room. If you looking for the place where you want to spend your time very calm and relaxed then this is the it to be. Cost not high comparing with the other hotels around. Value for money. Rooms gives bit old look but clean.

Ram is another main reason i stayed in the same hotel all the time. He is the staff attending guests in the hotel. Very good. He is very handy whenever you need anything.

Cheers,
Shiva

Room Tip: Prefer the Rooms on the top floor. Its separate from all other rooms and quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trip_to_Mahabalipura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreenwoodMamallapura, Owner at Greenwoods Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
We were extremely delighted to have you as our guest and was happy to note that your enjoyed your overall experience with us. We are delighted to learn that you liked the services of Ram , Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    33
    12
    12
    7
See reviews for
12
28
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

I stayed here with a couple of friends while doing a medical placement in India. We had a large room at a very reasonable price despite not having booked. The resort is in a good location and the staff were very friendly and helpful. It doesn't look like the most secure place but we didn't have anything stolen or go missing and really enjoyed staying there. The facilities are basic but functional and clean so if you are on a budget this is a good choice.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jazzeejessie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Greenwoods Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Dear Guest

I am delighted to know of your memorable experience at the hotel and thank you for the appreciation towards the hospitality of our associates.

Be Well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembrokeshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2012

My daughter and I had a pleasant stay at this friendly and accommodating guest house. The room was basic but with a nice table overlooking the garden plants and coconut trees in the garden it was fine.The staff were very helpful friendly and nothing was to much trouble. There is a restaurant that serves a varied menu . Would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kansasrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Greenwoods Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

Firstly I would like to thank you for the generous review of the hotel as well as the time taken to write a detailed experience of the services .We have always been persistent in offering personalization in our services to or guests ensuring a memorable experience. Looking forward to your next visit to the hotel.

Be Well
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2012

I stayed in the Greenwoods with my sister in law, who is a regular visitor. The accomadation is basic but very clean and homely. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff. All the staff are polite and interested in getting to know you. Ram is an excellent member of the staff team and is always around when you need anything. The breakfasts are lovely and its wonderful to sit in the restaurant drinking coffee and watch the world go by. I would like to take this opportunity to say a BIG thank you to madam and all her staff at Greenwoods Beach Resort for a wonderful stay.
Hope to see you again soon
Angie Higgins

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank aaronpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Greenwoods Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

Firstly I would like to thank you for the generous review of the hotel as well as the time taken to write a detailed experience of the services and eye for detail towards the associates' hospitality. We have always been persistent in offering personalization in our services to or guests ensuring a memorable experience. Looking forward to your next visit to the hotel.

Ramya Rekha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yokohama
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2012

The staff was friendly. The rooms are a pretty good deal with breakfast included. But I can't recommend this guesthouse to anyone because of the overwhelming dampness. The property is not located on the beach. It's a few blocks from the seashore. The way in which the buildings were constructed just seems to permanently keep moisture trapped. After only 2 days of sitting in the same spot on the floor my backpack had some kind of mold or string-like fungus growing on it. There are some nice, breezy guesthouses right on the beach that don't have any such problem.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RfromYoko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mahabalipuram hotels

Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2011

First we wanted to stay for 5 nights but we liked the hotel and Mammalapuram itself so much that we extended it to 9 nights in total. Our room was nicely separated from other rooms and had its own terrace overlooking green courtyard full of palms. Staff was nice and there was a good choice of breakfast (included in pretty reasonable room price for budget travellers). Just about 100 metres from the beach.

Room Tip: Rooms on the side closer to the beach have more privacy, like our room number 7.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Hana274707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Greenwoods Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

I appreciate your generous comments and am delighted to know you had a memorable experience during your stay.

Be Well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2011

Great garden, nice restaurant, but rooms a bit tired. Suffers a bit from the beaten trail effect one senses.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MrPigeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mahabalipuram hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ramakrishna
Hotel Ramakrishna
#16 of 27 in Mahabalipuram
3.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sea Breeze Hotel
Sea Breeze Hotel
#22 of 27 in Mahabalipuram
3.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vinodhara Guest House
Vinodhara Guest House
#11 of 27 in Mahabalipuram
3.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
INDeco Mahabalipuram
INDeco Mahabalipuram
#13 of 27 in Mahabalipuram
3.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
7.9 mi away
Esthell Village Resort
Esthell Village Resort
#12 of 27 in Mahabalipuram
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenwoods Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenwoods Beach Resort

Property: Greenwoods Beach Resort
Address: No.7, Othavadai Cross Street,, Mahabalipuram 603104, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Kanchipuram District > Mahabalipuram
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Mahabalipuram
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a Mini Beach Resort located near the beach and mainly for middle range and budget tourists. There are 14 rooms, 4 A/C and 10 Non A/c rooms, 6 of them having straight sea view spacious balcony. The beach is within stone throw distance. We have a homely atmosphere and beautiful green garden, which makes you feel at home. That why its Greenwoods Beach Resort. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Greenwoods Beach Hotel Mamallapuram

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing