We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent resort with fantastic rooms.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram
Ranked #4 of 27 Hotels in Mahabalipuram
Certificate of Excellence
Milano
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 811 helpful votes
“Excellent resort with fantastic rooms.”
Reviewed February 4, 2011

A stunning resort with clean spacious and modern rooms. The beach restaurant is really nice, albeit vith very slow service. There is a huge pool, and a really nice spa.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,089 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,035
    691
    215
    86
    62
See reviews for
871
507
57
241
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (531)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
u.s.
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2011

I wouldn't consider this a luxury hotel although the atmosphere is very relaxing; it is spread out and tranquil. The food at the Wharf was quite good with good service but the buffets in the main dining restaurant disappointing; there is a lot of food but the quality is not good. The breakfasts I found especially disappointing, the breads were pasty sweet like they had just come out of packages rather than being freshly baked; the oatmeal was like water, there was a lot of 'canned' fruit which is surprising because one would think they would have plenty of resources to fresh fruits. The service in the hotel is not good at all; the sheets were not changed, they didn't even pick up the banana peels nor empty the waste baskets at turndown time; the service in general is very poor. The rooms are rundown, there is no light in the rooms even though we had an ocean view and supposedly a good room; I don't think I will ever return to Mahabalipuram but if I did i would try to find a better serviced hotel if possible here.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nimo5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2011

this was the highlight of our trip. the resort was huge and amazing and extremely well kept. the staff were friendly and welcoming. the rooms were beautifully designed and decorated and the bathrooms were clean and very well planned. the buffet was amazing - the choice was extensive. the entertainment during dinner was fantastic. loved it !!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adhir25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland, ohio
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2011

What a beautiful property in the middle of Southern India. Everything about this beautiful resort was top notch with one exception - my massage at the spa. The grounds are beautiful as are the rooms. The main resturant is lovely and breakfast and dinner buffets are fabulous. Don't miss the bar and BBQ resturant by the sea. they have a full bar, which the main resturant doesn't have and the seaside BBQ is wonderful. My only regret is we only got to stay two nights.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank funrazher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2010

We stayed here for a night, on our way to Pondicherry. The resort is right on the beach within walking distance of the main attraction, the shore temple, and that alone is reason enough to like this hotel. We were given a beach facing room, which made it pretty interesting for my 2 year old who couldn't get grip over the waves!
The rooms were excellent, service levels were very good and the overall amenity levels of the property is good. Would highly recommend it, you will not regret your stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theleftside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 2, 2010

I had gone to Mahabalipuram along with my wife, totally unplanned looking for a better hotel overlooking the sea for a period of 2 nights. While checking out resorts by the bay, we got into this GRT's heavenly abode.

The mere entrance gave us a shock, the palacial entrance and then the super traditional reception block. The waiting lounge with reception block not only provided an open arena of well ventilated sitting area but also housed the reading area, antique shops and internet parlor.

Initially hesitant about the price, we decided to check it out. We were received by the friendly staff of the resort who gave a exceptionally unbelievable packages. For 2 night stay for a couple in Super Delux AC room overlooking a swimming pool and the gigantic ocean came with a small cost of 16k INR.

Also, not to mention the cost also covered our 2 days lunch and free fish massuse in the Kerla ayurvedic center. The resort also housed free dance classes and leisure rooms, Meditation classes and many more activites.

The room actually stood to the beauty of the place. It shoused wall paintings, kingsize bed and refrigerator and cooled optimally. The room cleaning staff never forgot to leave those tasty chocolates. The sitting area outside opens to the lovely ocean.

Later the day we went swimming. The swimming pool onlooks the Sea and we sat for hours staring the sun set in the Sea. The lifeguards are present all day and promises a secure dip in the ocean. The resort has 3 eating joints depending on the food you enjoy.

The resort also houses asia's longest pool right at its center. The served food was heavenly too. Two nights was too short a time to be in such a place. Hence I have decided another visit later next year and this time its definitely for over a week.

As my wife quotes "Its actually heavens on Earth". Trust my words and see it for yourself.

-Ravi

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rpkash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangalore
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2010

The property is amazing, with chalets that are extremely close to the sea. The newer parts of the hotel have gone further away from the sea and the sea sounds are no longer audible. If the sounds of the sea are attractive to you ensure that rooms booked and allotted are close enough to the beach

After a hard days work, it is brilliant to relax at the restaurant on the beach with drinks and good food. The sea food is great, very fresh and with lots of choice. The fresh ocean breeze and the whoosh whoosh of the sea is incredibly relaxing

The hotel has a huge swimming pool, so if this is another attraction

Wifi is free on the property, though all rooms do not receive a very strong signal

This is one of my very favorite hotels, I love the sea and this is a true beach resort.....

Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank specmco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mahabalipuram
8.3 mi away
InterContinental Chennai Mahabalipuram Resort
0.2 mi away
Grande Bay Resort and Spa
Grande Bay Resort and Spa
#2 of 27 in Mahabalipuram
383 reviews
12.6 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Fisherman's Cove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Welcomhotel Kences Palm Beach
Welcomhotel Kences Palm Beach
#3 of 27 in Mahabalipuram
118 reviews
1.2 mi away
Chariot Beach Resort
Chariot Beach Resort
#8 of 27 in Mahabalipuram
427 reviews
14.4 mi away
MGM Beach Resorts
MGM Beach Resorts
#1 of 1 in Muttukadu
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram

Property: Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram
Address: 57 Covelong Road, Mahabalipuram 603104, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Kanchipuram District > Mahabalipuram
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Mahabalipuram
#4 Luxury Hotel in Mahabalipuram
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Mahabalipuram
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram 4.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay located along the shores of Bay or Bengal at Mamallapuram is 65 km drive from Chennai. This seaside town is an acclaimed World Heritage Center with centuries old historic monuments and temples. Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay, easily the most visited luxury resort, provides accommodations on beach front. The resort spans across 44 acres with various options for leisure and entertainment. It's comprised of 144 rooms including suites, pool villas, chalets, Bay villa and Bay Bungalow. It has one of the longest meandering swimming pool in Asia which is 24000 Sq. Ft. and an infinity pool of 3500 sq ft that gives you a great feel of reaching out into the horizon. Modern and Ayurvedic Spa for ultimate relaxation and rejuvenation. Versatile Banqueting Zone with state of the art pillar less 10000 sq ft. with best acoustics for both conferences and celebrations. Huge open space that lets you celebrate events in the arm of nature, the lawns by the sea is great destinations for dream weddings and parties. various Food and Beverage outlets gives you a choice of cuisine along with finest beverages. The Wharf - sea side specialty restaurant, Waters Edge Cafe - Round clock diner, Sindbad - adventure spirited bar, Maritime tales - relaxing lounge bar, round the clock in-room dining facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram Hotel Mamallapuram
Grt Temple Bay Hotel
Grt Temple Bay Mamallapuram

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing