We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Village Retreat(Mahabalipuram)
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ideal Beach Resort(Mahabalipuram)
$80
$73
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Mamalla Heritage(Mahabalipuram)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Mahabs(Mahabalipuram)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Esthell Village Resort(Mahabalipuram)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vinodhara Guest House(Mahabalipuram)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Hotel Ramakrishna(Mahabalipuram)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Joe Beach(Mahabalipuram)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (2,345)
Filter reviews
2,345 results
Traveler rating
1,186
759
238
91
71
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,186
759
238
91
71
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsinfinity poolwharf restaurantsea view chaletwaters edgehigh teabeautiful propertymain restaurantpool sidehuge poolbeach frontbreakfast spreadlunch and dinnerroom service isfront officecourteous staffsea foodmemorable stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,545 - 1,550 of 2,345 reviews
Reviewed October 31, 2013

The hotel has an adjoining Spa-area. To relax, massage and just feel comfortable. The service is incredibly accommodating. Unfortunately, they spoke in the front desk didn't speak German, but also with a small school English vocabulary is all rules. The food is typical Indian, but also international. A rich breakfast buffet and dinner buffet left a selection difficult, because all of the food, particularly Indian vegetarian dishes, for even more. The attached restaurant 'the wharf', right on the beach, then finally to be desired and offers pure luxury in lobster, spicy but also lamb kebab king prawns the glittering sea.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arpit_Jaipur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elangor, Director Operations at Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are thrilled to see your positive feedback on the Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations every time you stay with us and truly demonstrate our service philosophy “Yes I Can !” .


We hope to see you soon when your travels bring you to Chennai and assure you of our best services.

Best Regards

Elango Rajendran
Director Operations
+919940422999

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

One of my favourite weekend getaways, the Radisson Blu Mahabalipuram, never fails to delight. A sprawling property where one can actually get lost if one isn’t careful. The Radisson is one of the best resorts in the south, right on the beach and an ideal base from which to take in the historic town of Mahabalipuram.
One can choose from either the ground or the first floor of the two storied 4 set independent villas that dot the resort or opt for the more expensive independent villas . You can also select the pool facing rooms. My personal choice is the sea facing room.
The rooms themselves are comfortably large, modern and well appointed. What one would expect of a Radisson.
The rooms are some way away from the reception and dining area, so for elderly people, they have electric cars to ferry them from the rooms.
The Radisson has very nice dining arrangements – the primary restaurant serves up an excellent breakfast which spoils you for choice. The rest of the meals are also well put together. The resort also boasts a fine dining restaurant –“the wharf”, which offers an excellent selection of sea food options. This restaurant is right on the beach, so on can also dine alfresco and it’s an amazing experience to raise a toast against the backdrop of the sound of the sea.
The service is exemplary – the staff are outstanding, housekeeping, front desk and at the restaurant.
For those who like live entertainment, one has Ryan and his partner to provide music for the soul.
There’s enough to do for the resident, swing in an hammock, chill in the pool, walk, run and ride.
The Radisson is also a great conference venue.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KSBan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elangor, Director Operations at Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are thrilled to see your positive feedback on the Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations every time you stay with us and truly demonstrate our service philosophy “Yes I Can !” .


We hope to see you soon when your travels bring you to Chennai and assure you of our best services.

Best Regards

Elango Rajendran
Director Operations
+919940422999

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

great hotel to stay and relax. superb swimming pool ..fun with kids in the pool. what a spread in buffet lunch and dinner .. seems a 7 course meal on platter. the choice is really great. overall the place is worth staying in mahabalipuram, probably the best.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rajivtKolkata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elangor, Director Operations at Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are thrilled to see your positive feedback on the Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations every time you stay with us and truly demonstrate our service philosophy “Yes I Can !” .


We hope to see you soon when your travels bring you to Chennai and assure you of our best services.

Best Regards

Elango Rajendran
Director Operations
+919940422999

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We booked 2 sea view rooms this time. My very old parents stayed in one room and we stayed in the adjacent room. The view was splendid. But once we got to the room, we were disappointed to see the same room allotted to us again.. (we went there last year too. we just let it slide since it was a hassle to move around luggages) Not sure if they give away the worst ones first.we still thought it was ok and occupied the rooms. These rooms are slightly old and smells musty! Some lights werent working in the room. Since we stayed in this room the last year, we were even contemplating on exchanging rooms with my parents - just for a change, but then decided against it.. the stay went ok that day since we never really stayed in the room for long. We returned to our rooms after dinner and went to bed.. I woke up by about 4 am in the morning to use the toilet. As i headed to the toilet(i usually walk quite fast even at 4 am :)), i found myself stepping on a large pool of water in the room and the next minute, i was slipping and had a bad fall.i least expected that one in a resort like Radisson Blu. i couldnt tell where the water came from at first. I immediately took some towels and wiped the floor dry since i had my little son in the room. By about 7 am, i woke up and found the floor wet all over again... and then on further investigation found that their AC vents were leaking!! It really shows that no inspection nor maintenance was done on these rooms for a while now...they looked ignored..it was very frustrating to deal with this when we had plans for the morning. Housekeeping came in and were fixing and hammering for quite some time.. All this took about 45 mins.. the room was a mess. we had to cancel out on our outing plans. I felt that these rooms totally lacked quality and there was no value for money. All that i got it was a rude shock from a very bad fall early in the morning.Thankfully, i recovered. But I was so thankful to God that i didnt switch rooms with my old parents.. one of them would have broken their bones for sure. On top of this, the resort actually charged us the whole amount for the room. i was sure that i didnt want to pay a single penny for this room. They then gave us about 5k back.I still think that the room stay was not worth a penny. However, I still love the resort though. Is simply an amazing place to relax and the service is quite good. I was ok to pay up just for that part and nothing else. The room with the sea-view was a huge disaster... i have rated this 'poor' only for the room. Else, its all good out here.

Room Tip: The Sea-View rooms must be inspected before you occupy. Watch out for that musty smell and 'not-so-well-maintained' furniture and room.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elangor, Director Operations at Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2013

Dear Guest,

On behalf of our entire team here at the Radisson BLU temple bay, we apologize for the concerns you have about your experience at this hotel. I have also noted the issues you have highlighted with concern and will ensure that corrective action is taken as soon as possible.

We have taken up the issue with the maintenance team and they have taken the room for shutdown to prevent such leakages.

We appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations in the hope that upon your next visit, we can meet or exceed your expectations.

We look forward to welcome you back and assure you our best services at all times.


Best regards,

Elango Rajendran
Director Operations
+919940422999

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

The Radisson Temple bay has one great thing going for it - its location. Located right on the Bay of Bengal, this 46 acre property is wonderfully built and planned. And yet, it was a mixed experience at best.
Check in - relatively painless, the staff were prompt, efficient and courteous.

The room -
1. The room had, amazingly, only just been cleaned. In fact, one of the house keeping staff was still in the room when we entered and the bathroom floor was damp. The beds had been made, the AC turned on and everything else was ship shape, but it was a little disconcerting to walk into a room that had, literally, just that second, been cleaned and (hopefully) sanitized.

2. The room was adequately sized and furnished. Just ok-not spectacular. The patio really added to the attraction of the room. The bathroom was clean but a little basic. The air conditioning was good, although, it did go off for a while both nights that we stayed there. While this was tolerable in October, it would be a disaster in summer.

3. The bathroom - The flush was not optimally functioning. The basin would (most alarmingly) fill up with water upon flushing. This water would then slowly drain out. This was unacceptable and disgusting.

4. The bathroom - there is no piped hot water. One needs to turn on a switch and wait for 10 minutes for the water to get heated. This, for some strange reason, didn't happen on the second day, and we were left bathing with tepid water. The water pressure was unacceptable and at times, the pressure of water in the shower was worse than what I am used to at home.

5. The housekeeping - this is were the most lacunae were evident. The bed was neatly made and the room cleaned. However, on the second day of our stay there, an empty bottle of beer (emptied by us!) was left lying on the counter top, nor was its cap discarded. We had eaten 2 packs of snacks from the snack bar. These were not replenished the next day by the house keeping staff. The bottle of beer was not replaced either.
More unacceptable was the fact that the trash bin in the bathroom was not emptied! Nor was a fresh sanitary disposal bag provided although the previous one had been used.
Only one bath robe had been placed in the room, and we requested for another. This was promptly brought to our room, but the next morning, was equally promptly taken away by housekeeping staff...

6. Room service - Room service was prompt and the staff were polite, delivering things even while it was raining. However, after hours, the menu gets severely limited. We wanted to order a dessert around midnight, and we were told that none of the items on the menu were available except for ice creams. We ended up ordering a plain vanilla ice cream - and got just that - a couple of scoops of very remarkable vanilla ice cream. No accompanying nuts/sauce/anything. I have eaten better at roadside ice cream parlors! We could also not order any alcoholic beverage, since we were told that only about 10 bottles of beer were kept aside for room service after 11:00 pm and no other liquor would be available....

7. The TV - the room had a large lovely flat screen TV. But, there was no signal half the time. After many attempts to figure out if we were doing anything wrong, we called reception and were told by the staff that the hotel has a local cable connection. And therefore, whenever there was a power cut in the town (which is very often), the TV would be useless. Really? No satellite connection??? The DVD library is also not accessible after 9 pm, so you had better be prepared to enjoy the sand and the sea (or if it rains, like it did while we stayed there, you are left to your own devices)....

8. The spas -we sampled both spas - Serena and Ayush. Although the spas themselves are beautiful, the services provided (massages) are mediocre at best. The staff in Serena can not understand English, and don't try to do so anyway...so what service you get, is pot luck. Although the staff at Ayush were much better and more friendly and communicative, sadly the massage was not much better

9. The wharf - dining at a sea side table at the Wharf was indubitably the highlight of the trip. The location was amazing, the staff courteous and friendly, the food very good....it started drizzling while we were having dinner and the staff considerately moved us to an inside table. The entire experience was amazing...

So, a mixed bag. Definitely not up to the standard of an impeccable 5 star resort. Its a great place for family getaways and business groups. But for couples, its not a perfect experience, especially for seasoned travellers.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheInfinite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elangor, Director Operations at Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2013

Dear Guest,

On behalf of our entire team here at the Radisson BLU resort Temple bay, we apologize for the concerns you have about your experience at this hotel. I have also noted the issues you have highlighted with concern and will ensure that corrective action is taken as soon as possible.

The areas where there was lacuna has been addressed to the House keeping, Spas, Activities and maintenance team and they are working on corrective action.

We appreciate your detailed feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations in the hope that upon your next visit, we can meet or exceed your expectations.

We look forward to welcome you back and assure you our best services at all times.


Best regards,

Elango Rajendran
Director Operations
+919940422999

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews