We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some faults showing but still a fine property”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram
Ranked #4 of 28 Hotels in Mahabalipuram
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We were at the Radisson Temple Bay for a weekend break this June. A promotional rate combined with a 10,000 Club Carlson points bonus made for an irresistable offer.

One of our two rooms was not ready when we arrived at 2 PM, the standard check-in. The previous guest had not checked out on time. The key was handed over after an hour's wait. Even when it was, the room had not been cleaned properly - there were sand, dead insects and used matches left behind. We had to call for a re-cleaning.

The room service order taker was not familiar with the menu. We asked for the soup one afternoon from the all day dining menu. The operator said it was not served before 7 pm. We had to remind him that it was indeed offered, following which we got our order fulfilled. Again, the next morning, not all of the items listed on the menu were delivered with our breakfast order. The in-room food was not of very high quality either.

There was massive noise from a generator right next to our rooms that was left running late into the evening. We had to call and ask for it to be turned off. We raised our concerns in the feedback survey emailed after our stay. The general manager replied regretting the slip-ups and assured us he will be addressing them immediately.

On the plus side, the property is huge and does not feel crowded even at full occupancy. we enjoyed the large lawns, sandy stretches and the many pools the property is dotted with. As much as we were disappointed with the food from room service, the lunch buffet at the Water's Edge Cafe blew us away. It was an eclectic, welll thought out spread that was as delicious as it looked.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tenvsrini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elangor, Director Operations at Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear Guest,

One behalf of the entire team here at Radisson Blu resort Temple Bay, Mamallapuram, we apologize for the concerns you have about your experience at this hotel. I have also noted the issues you have highlighted with concern and will ensure that corrective action is taken as soon as possible.

The In Room dining staff are undergoing constant training to understand the needs of the guest. We have taken up your feed back to train our staff to avoid the slip ups.

We appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations in the hope that upon your next visit, we can meet or exceed your expectations.

We look forward to welcome you back and assure you our best services at all times.

Elango Rajendran
Director Operations
+919940422999

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,239)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,477 - 1,483 of 2,239 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2013

Hospitality was excellent...food was very good and the property was fantastic. But the experience was spoilt bcos of the room which was given to us. It was sea facing but the room had a very old look to it...which was very disappointing. And this factor spoiled the five star experience. Pls avoid room 26. Expect for this the resort is excellent.

Room Tip: Take the new ones. Pls avoid the old rooms unless they are renovated
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kavivk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elangor, Director Operations at Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are happy to see your positive feedback on the Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations every time you stay with us and truly demonstrate our service philosophy “Yes I Can !” .

The rooms where you had stayed are scheduled to undergo renovation and we are taking up these rooms in a phased manner.

We hope to see you soon when your travels bring you to Chennai and assure you of our best services.

Best Regards

Elango Rajendran
Director Operations
+919940422999

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

The property is conveniently located and is very beautiful. It is also well maintained with a nice infinity pool (i didn't get a chance to sample the meandering pool - but it looked very clean and well maintained). The service was good and the staff courteous and helpful though i think there could be more buggys to take you to and from your room - it can be very hot and humid to walk up and down all the time. The most disappointing thing was the food. We went in a fairly large group (40 people) so there was a buffet organised. The food was strictly average all 3 days.The fish preparation was decent though most people ended up eating only rasam and rice. There was also a cocktail evening where the starters were absolutely terrible!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnupamaHebbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elangor, Director Operations at Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear Guest,

One behalf of the entire team here at Radisson Blu resort Temple Bay, Mamallapuram, we apologize for the concerns you have about your experience at this hotel. I have also noted the issues you have highlighted with concern and will ensure that corrective action is taken as soon as possible.

You had stayed with us as part of the corporate team and the menu we had served was selected by your corporate team. We have taken your feed back seriously and our Executive chef will be reviewing all the menus even if its selected by the guest / corporate for balancing the menu

We appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations in the hope that upon your next visit, we can meet or exceed your expectations.

We look forward to welcome you back and assure you our best services at all times.

Elango Rajendran
Director Operations
+919940422999

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

A beautiful resort with a well maintained beach and property.
The hotel is very neat and clean and has good spread of breakfast. The rooms are very spacious and offers a good view of the swimming pool. The 'asia's largest swimming pool' is a very neat and clean pool with less chlorine. The resort offers some activities to keep you busy, like cycling, games, deep sea fishing (couldnt try), etc.
The unfortunate part was the room service or housekeeping staff, They were too slow with everything. Would take ages to keep up the order, but on the whole, its a MUST visit property.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ManviSachdeva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elangor, Director Operations at Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are thrilled to see your positive feedback on the Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations every time you stay with us and truly demonstrate our service philosophy “Yes I Can !” .

I have taken up the issue of slow services of rooms service and housekeeping with the respective HOD's and will study the issues and come up with corrective actions.

We hope to see you soon when your travels bring you to Mamallapuram.

Best Regards

Elango Rajendran
Director Operations
+919940422999

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Two days at this resort was fully restorative after weeks of being drowned in Chennai's noise and litter--we were continually delighted by the property, the upkeep, and the service. The pools are excellent, well-maintained, and staffed with people who will bring you drinks and fresh beach towels. The rooms (we had a standard chalet and a sea view chalet) were comfortable, attractive, and clean. The breakfast buffet was delicious, as were the choices for the lunch buffet, and dinner at the Wharf was wonderful and fresh. The spa services looked wonderful (and also were reasonably priced), and had we more time, we would have taken advantage of those.

We wanted to visit the submerged temples out in the Bay of Bengal, and the hotel set us up with a boat and a crew of fishermen who took us to the underwater temples, let us swim in the ocean, and hauled us out again. That was an affordable and wonderful experience, and I would love to do it again. They also provided us, at an extremely reasonable rate, with a hotel car and a local guide to take us around Mahabalipuram's notable temples and open bas reliefs. Our guide (Lo Go) was fantastic--knowledgable, a good storyteller, and cheerfully patient with us as we tried following along and learning about the sites.

We are in Chennai for a while yet, and plan to make this a monthly trip.

Room Tip: The standard chalets face the longest pool, and are nearest to the lobby and breakfast. The Sea View...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaureL_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elangor, Director Operations at Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are thrilled to see your positive feedback on the Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations every time you stay with us and truly demonstrate our service philosophy “Yes I Can !” .


We hope to see you soon when your travels bring you to Chennai.

Best Regards

Elango Rajendran
Director Operations
+919940422999

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We had a great stay at the Radisson Resort Mamallapuram. The food was good in fact better than expected. The pool because of its length never felt crowded. The staff was very courteous and friendly. Will definitely recommend for a short weekend get away.

Room Tip: Choose the pool View rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ank_son
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elangor, Director Operations at Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are thrilled to see your positive feedback on the Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations every time you stay with us and truly demonstrate our service philosophy “Yes I Can !” .

We hope to see you soon when your travels bring you to Chennai and assure you of our best services.

Best Regards

Elango Rajendran
Director Operations
+919940422999

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

The only things which are really stopping me giving this a 5 star rating are:

The biscuits in the mini-bar were 4 months out of date and when I asked for them to be replaced I was asked if I was sure I didn't want them....

I had ordered room service and then decided I'd have a little snooze a couple of hours later I was phoned to see if they could collect my tray I apologised and told them I was sleeping and no they couldn't , to which the answer was, but we need to collect to which I answered and I need to sleep and then I hung up.

I left my room at 8am to go on a tour and left the sign on my door saying please clean room, I came back after 12 midday and it still wasn't done .

On the positive reception and check-in extremely friendly. Food is good. Pool is beautiful and wonderful to walk out of your door and straight into the pool. The pool attendants are really helpful. This is an ideal family resort and would recommend if you are travelling with children.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elangor, Director Operations at Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

One behalf of the entire team here at Radisson Blu resort Temple Bay, Mamallapuram, we apologize for the concerns you have about your experience at this hotel. I have also noted the issues you have highlighted with concern and will ensure that corrective action is taken as soon as possible.

We appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations in the hope that upon your next visit, we can meet or exceed your expectations.

We look forward to welcome you back and assure you our best services at all times.

Elango Rajendran
Director Operations
+919940422999

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mahabalipuram
2.4 mi away
Grande Bay Resort and Spa
Grande Bay Resort and Spa
#3 of 28 in Mahabalipuram
425 reviews
1.8 mi away
WelcomHotel Kences Palm Beach
WelcomHotel Kences Palm Beach
#1 of 28 in Mahabalipuram
200 reviews
11 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Fisherman's Cove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
InterContinental Chennai Mahabalipuram Resort
3.5 mi away
Chariot Beach Resort
Chariot Beach Resort
#6 of 28 in Mahabalipuram
486 reviews
1.9 mi away
Village Retreat
Village Retreat
#26 of 28 in Mahabalipuram
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram

Address: 57 Covelong Road, Mahabalipuram 603104, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Kanchipuram District > Mahabalipuram
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Mahabalipuram
#4 Luxury Hotel in Mahabalipuram
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Mahabalipuram
Price Range: $135 - $559 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram 4.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay located along the shores of Bay or Bengal at Mamallapuram is 65 km drive from Chennai. This seaside town is an acclaimed World Heritage Center with centuries old historic monuments and temples. Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay, easily the most visited luxury resort, provides accommodations on beach front. The resort spans across 44 acres with various options for leisure and entertainment. It's comprised of 144 rooms including suites, pool villas, chalets, Bay villa and Bay Bungalow. It has one of the longest meandering swimming pool in Asia which is 24000 Sq. Ft. and an infinity pool of 3500 sq ft that gives you a great feel of reaching out into the horizon. Modern and Ayurvedic Spa for ultimate relaxation and rejuvenation. Versatile Banqueting Zone with state of the art pillar less 10000 sq ft. with best acoustics for both conferences and celebrations. Huge open space that lets you celebrate events in the arm of nature, the lawns by the sea is great destinations for dream weddings and parties. various Food and Beverage outlets gives you a choice of cuisine along with finest beverages. The Wharf - sea side specialty restaurant, Waters Edge Cafe - Round clock diner, Sindbad - adventure spirited bar, Maritime tales - relaxing lounge bar, round the clock in-room dining facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram Hotel Mamallapuram
Grt Temple Bay Hotel
Grt Temple Bay Mamallapuram

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing