We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram
Ranked #4 of 27 Hotels in Mahabalipuram
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland UK
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Beach Paradise”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We loved the Temple Bay Resort at Mamallapuram. I had been to the area twice before but this hotel is beautiful; clean, in stunningly maintained grounds with two beautiful pools..one the largest meandering pool in Asia and the other an infinity that looks onto the ocean. Sunrise is glorious. The World Heritage Site can be seen from the hotel grounds and the suites are comfortable with good service, warm welcome and excellent food. The a la carte restaurant is right by the beach and a delight. If flying into Chennai this is the place to stay 50 minutes down the south coast road in sheer exotic comfort and delight. The hotel will effect an airport transfer.

Room Tip: All the rooms are very good but perhaps a suite by the meandering pool would be lovely, azure water...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoseofScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elangor, Director Operations at Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the positive feedback on the Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations every time you stay with us.

We hope to see you soon when your travels bring you to our area.

Best Regards

Elango Rajendran
Director Operations
+919940422999
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,084 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,034
    687
    215
    86
    62
See reviews for
869
506
57
240
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (531)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

An excellent place for a relaxing break on the South East Coast of India - family of 4 stayed in 1st week of August.

The staff are highly rated very courteous & helpful - the location is stunning with easy access to Mahabs and watching the sun rise was very pleasant. The Wharf restaurant with its fresh sea food was mouth watering, the chef paid particular attention to our daughters fish/nut allergy - much appreciated.

Only downside was our room which was a sea view facing chalet - it was one of chalets that had not been renovated thus seemed a bit dated but overall a great experience, the kids just loved the amazing swimming pool - will definitely be coming back again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Deep1002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elangor, Director Operations at Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are thrilled to see your positive feedback on the Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations every time you stay with us and truly demonstrate our service philosophy “Yes I Can !” .

We have scheduled to renovate the chalets where you have stayed in the coming months.

We hope to see you soon when your travels bring you to Chennai.

Best Regards

Elango Rajendran
Director Operations
+919940422999
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We had a great overnight stay at Temple Bay during a weekend break from Chennai. The pool view chalet was large and wonderfully furnished with thoughtful and smart guest amenities. The meandering swimming pool was superbly maintained and swimming here (with our kids) was by far the best part about our stay! The room service is quick and excellent....the food is superb with a good variety spread for vegetarians as well!

The only negatives were the DVD's we ordered for our children for in-room viewing (that never came!) and the buggy driver who refused to drop my parents and my octogenarian grandmother near our chalet on their way back from the beachfront area....though he did yield after a proper 'talking to'.

These aside, we still had a memorable stay here and would love to go back for a longer stay!

Room Tip: The pool view chalets are large and overlook the long, meandering, clean swimming pool - one of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KLNATARAJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elangor, Director operations at Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are thrilled to see your positive feedback on the Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations every time you stay with us and truly demonstrate our service philosophy “Yes I Can !” .

We will sensitize the buggy drivers on the need to take care of the guests properly.

We hope to see you soon when your travels bring you to Chennai.

Best Regards

Elango Rajendran
Director Operations
+919940422999
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Had a fantastic overnight stay at Temple Bay during a weekend escape from Chennai. The location right next to the beach is perfect, and both the beachside infinity pool and the main pool complex are simply stunning.
The decor in our beach view chalet was a little dated, but we were not here to spend much time in the room so this did not detract from the overall stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scottravel32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elangor, Director Operations at Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are thrilled to see your positive feedback on the Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations every time you stay with us and truly demonstrate our service philosophy “Yes I Can !” .

We have scheduled to renovate the chalets where you have stayed in the coming months.

We hope to see you soon when your travels bring you to Chennai.

Best Regards

Elango Rajendran
Director Operations
+919940422999
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We spent three nights here as a 'break' during our trip around India. Even though it was quite expensive by Indian standards, it was well worth it! The grounds were kept well, the pools wonderfull and staff very helpful.

We ate both at The Warf down by the water as well as in the main restaurant. Both had very good food and staff that went above and beyond.

You can walk to the city and the major sites with no problem and we also rented bikes one day just to get around the city. Overall we were very happy with our stay here.

Room Tip: We had a great room along the major pool on the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scando_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elangor, Director Operations at Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are thrilled to see your positive feedback on the Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations every time you stay with us and truly demonstrate our service philosophy “Yes I Can !” .

We hope to see you soon when your travels bring you to Chennai.

Best Regards

Elango Rajendran
Director Operations
+919940422999
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Stayed for two days in a pool view chalet as part of batch meeting. Room was of adequate size and well decorated. There were twin beds with a pull out sofa bed. Banquet hall was impressive with great service. Resort was very clean and well maintained. Swimming pool was huge and clean. Kids had great fun in the pool. We took the boat ride to deep seas which was very good. Bikes are available for rent. Buffet breakfast was very good and had a mixture of indian and continental dishes. Staff were polite and were happy to help. Free wifi is available in the rooms. Would happily stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thiru S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elangor, Director operations at Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are thrilled to see your positive feedback on the Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations every time you stay with us and truly demonstrate our service philosophy “Yes I Can !” .

We hope to see you soon when your travels bring you to Chennai.

Best Regards

Elango Rajendran
Director Operations
+919940422999
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, UK
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Really enjoyed our 3-night stay at this resort. The seaview first-floor chalet accommodation was perfect for our needs, with a huge amount of space, new fittings and an amazing balcony with two rocking chairs overlooking the palms, the hammocks and the ocean. Early mornings and late nights were spent sitting on the balcony and taking in the views and the sounds of the ocean. The food at the Wharf was very good, and it was a great experience. We also greatly enjoyed the evening buffets at the Water's Edge - they cook excellent tali dishes.

My daughter and I enjoyed the pools immensely - the best pools we've seen. Everything was very clean and well maintained, the greenery made the whole place look like a Disney experience, the staff were friendly and helpful - could not fault this place. There were a couple of minor glitches, but I believe in the generosity of spirit, not just with the money.

True that you will not have a beach to speak of although you can stand on the platform overlooking the ocean and drink in the views of the temple in the distance. Also you need to bear in mind that this is a place of very high humidity so do not switch off the air con, otherwise you will end up with masses of water on the floor of the room resulting from condensation.

For us, these aspects were minor. All in all, we highly recommend this place. We are definitely coming back next year!

Room Tip: Seaview chalets are definitely worth the extra money. Our chalet (No 17) was a first-floor accommod...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mamaligablues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elangor, Director Operations at Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are thrilled to see your positive feedback on the Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations every time you stay with us and truly demonstrate our service philosophy “Yes I Can !” .

We hope to see you soon when your travels bring you to Chennai.

Best Regards

Elango Rajendran
Director Operations
+919940422999
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mahabalipuram
8.3 mi away
InterContinental Chennai Mahabalipuram Resort
0.2 mi away
Grande Bay Resort and Spa
Grande Bay Resort and Spa
#2 of 27 in Mahabalipuram
380 reviews
12.6 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Fisherman's Cove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Welcomhotel Kences Palm Beach
Welcomhotel Kences Palm Beach
#3 of 27 in Mahabalipuram
115 reviews
1.2 mi away
Chariot Beach Resort
Chariot Beach Resort
#8 of 27 in Mahabalipuram
426 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mamalla Heritage
Hotel Mamalla Heritage
#7 of 27 in Mahabalipuram
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram

Property: Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram
Address: 57 Covelong Road, Mahabalipuram 603104, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Kanchipuram District > Mahabalipuram
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Mahabalipuram
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Mahabalipuram
#4 Luxury Hotel in Mahabalipuram
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram 4.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay located along the shores of Bay or Bengal at Mamallapuram is 65 km drive from Chennai. This seaside town is an acclaimed World Heritage Center with centuries old historic monuments and temples. Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay, easily the most visited luxury resort, provides accommodations on beach front. The resort spans across 44 acres with various options for leisure and entertainment. It's comprised of 144 rooms including suites, pool villas, chalets, Bay villa and Bay Bungalow. It has one of the longest meandering swimming pool in Asia which is 24000 Sq. Ft. and an infinity pool of 3500 sq ft that gives you a great feel of reaching out into the horizon. Modern and Ayurvedic Spa for ultimate relaxation and rejuvenation. Versatile Banqueting Zone with state of the art pillar less 10000 sq ft. with best acoustics for both conferences and celebrations. Huge open space that lets you celebrate events in the arm of nature, the lawns by the sea is great destinations for dream weddings and parties. various Food and Beverage outlets gives you a choice of cuisine along with finest beverages. The Wharf - sea side specialty restaurant, Waters Edge Cafe - Round clock diner, Sindbad - adventure spirited bar, Maritime tales - relaxing lounge bar, round the clock in-room dining facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram Hotel Mamallapuram
Grt Temple Bay Hotel
Grt Temple Bay Mamallapuram

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing