We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sprawling resort with amazing suites”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram
Ranked #3 of 27 Hotels in Mahabalipuram
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Sprawling resort with amazing suites”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2012

A huge resort flanked by the Bay of Bengal and the East Coast Road, this place is a treat to the senses. We occupied two studio suites ,each with a different design. One had a balcony but the other had a spacious dining room. Both had jacuzzis however the jacuzzi in one room did not work. Buffet spread was good with a mix of South Indian and western cuisine . The resort provides scope for activities such as air gun shooting, dart boards etc. and various indoor activities. A special children's play room with video games , art and craft materials , keep the kids busy. I'd rate it as a good hotel which needs to be more organized .

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruuli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elangor, Director Operations at Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram, responded to this review, May 10, 2012
Dear guest

Thank you for the positive feedback on the Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations every time you stay with us.

We did address the issue of non working of Jacuzzi in the suite room.

We hope to see you soon when your travels bring you to our area.

Best Regards

Elango Rajendran
Director Operations
+919940422999
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,009 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    990
    662
    211
    85
    61
See reviews for
831
486
55
234
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (517)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Level Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012

We've stayed here twice - once during the monsoons and once in summer. Our stay during the monsoons was better than the summer stay. Food at The Wharf is average for five star prices and overall customer as well as check-out service is quite slow and inconvenient. The real star of this resort is the pool and the pool staff are very helpful. The property itself is gorgeous and quite well maintained.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view room and on the first floor, its beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Preeti S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elangor, Director Operations at Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram, responded to this review, May 10, 2012
Dear guest

Thank you for the positive feedback on the Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations every time you stay with us.

Our chef had completly reworked on the wharf menu. Next time when you are with us, please do try the new menu and give us your feed back.


We hope to see you soon when your travels bring you to our area.

Best Regards

Elango Rajendran
Director Operations
+919940422999
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2012

The rooms were great and my kids really enjoyed splashing away in the luxurious pool. Also, the catamaran ride to the ocean was awesome. The food quality could improve a bit and the room service during evenings. Otherwise all of us had a wonderful time there and hope to re-visit some time soon.

Room Tip: If u'r sendisitive to sea smell. Choose rooms with a pool or garden view !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Avanti N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elangor, Director Operations at Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram, responded to this review, May 10, 2012
Dear guest

Thank you for the positive feedback on the Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations every time you stay with us.

Our Chef is working on the new menu for the In room dining. I am sure on your next week you will be able to sample the new menu.

We hope to see you soon when your travels bring you to our area.

Best Regards

Elango Rajendran
Director Operations
+919940422999
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2012

Was here during the end of February. First impression it was a huge property and well maintained..The reception lobby was small. The person who registered a room for my online booking specified pool side gave me a room which was right in the front.
Only view you get is the road on one side and a narrow pathway in front.
Refrain from staying in the front rooms.

Note: When you book pool side - Ask for rooms far inside. Better to stay on first floor as the view is better and good privacy.

Amazingly huge pool. So much of clean blue water, puts your mind to calmness.
The dip in the pool and having a drink inside the pool, best thing which can happen to one.
The room was big enough. The bath room could be bigger and sorely missed a dressing area.
Bed was comfortable and gave me a good sleep.
Things are really calm, relaxed and slow inside making you want to stay away from the daily commotion forever
The room service was quick and internet was complimentary.

Buffet breakfast was tasty and fulfilling.
The sports club had nothing interesting to do, to my knowledge.
There was another pool next to the sea and great view.


The walk down into the beach and an early morning dip makes life so meaningful.

Overall a great place to be.

Room Tip: Pool side- Ask for rooms far inside and on first floor. don't settle for rooms in the front - n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Visakan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elangor, Director Operations at Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram, responded to this review, May 10, 2012
Dear guest

Thank you for the positive feedback on the Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations every time you stay with us.

Our Activity centre has plenty of activities like ATV bikes, Boat ride into the sea, Zorbing, Air Hockey, TT, Pool tables to name a few. We do have a dedicated team to take care of the various activities. While you are with us please do contact us and we will be very happy to assist you.

We hope to see you soon when your travels bring you to our area.

Best Regards

Elango Rajendran
Director Operations
+919940422999
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2012

Excellent rooms and place, cleaniness is a superb and makes you feel at home. But staff are tad lazy and unresponsive, especially in the restruant and front office. We asked for a special favour for baby sitting and no one got back to us.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sudhir G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elangor, Director Operations at Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram, responded to this review, May 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

On behalf of our entire team here at the Radisson Blu Resort Templebay, we apologize for the concerns you have about your experience at this hotel. I have also noted the issues you have highlighted with concern and will ensure that corrective action is taken as soon as possible.

We appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations in the hope that upon your next visit, we can meet or exceed your expectations.

We look forward to welcome you back and assure you our best services at all times.


Best regards,

Elango Rajendran
Director Operations
+919940422999
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
122 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

We've recently stayed in this hotel that has excellent food and very helpful staff.
Our stayed was just at the same time as a Tsunami slert in the region, however the staff managed very well our panic and the entire situation. They were very responsible and provided us solution to the situation and we barely felt any threat as they kept us updated.
The food was great and the value for money very good.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZeinaA_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elangor, Director Operations at Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram, responded to this review, April 22, 2012
Dear guest

Thank you for the positive feedback on the Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations every time you stay with us.

The entire resort has been trained to handle emergency situations. That was the reason that we were able to handle the Tsunami alert situation.

We hope to see you soon when your travels bring you to our area.

Best Regards

Elango Rajendran
Director Operations
+919940422999
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2012

A great Resort, true to its name, real charming and attractive. Starting from iced tea at the reception to the polo carts to carry you to your villa. Very good landscaping, long walkways, Clean beach to spend time. Nice view from the rooms of the beach. Food was reasonable good and very few activities to enjoy. the activities need to be updated, especially the pool table, TT table etc.,

Swimming pool was great and so the pool side party. Overall a great place to spend with your family, business or friends.

Room Tip: Modern Suite / Admiral Suite. which I have seen and enjoyed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RajashekharR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elangor, Director Operations at Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram, responded to this review, April 22, 2012
Dear guest

Thank you for the positive feedback on the Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations every time you stay with us.

We are constantly upgrading our activities to give our guests better experience. We shall surely take up your suggestion to improve further.

We hope to see you soon when your travels bring you to our area.

Best Regards

Elango Rajendran
Director Operations
+919940422999
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mahabalipuram
0.2 mi away
Grande Bay Resort and Spa
Grande Bay Resort and Spa
#2 of 27 in Mahabalipuram
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
8.3 mi away
InterContinental Chennai Mahabalipuram Resort
12.6 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Fisherman's Cove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Chariot Beach Resort
Chariot Beach Resort
#9 of 27 in Mahabalipuram
3.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
8.1 mi away
Esthell Village Resort
Esthell Village Resort
#11 of 27 in Mahabalipuram
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mamalla Heritage
Hotel Mamalla Heritage
#6 of 27 in Mahabalipuram
3.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram

Property: Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram
Address: 57 Covelong Road, Mahabalipuram 603104, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Mahabalipuram
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Mahabalipuram
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Mahabalipuram
#3 Luxury Hotel in Mahabalipuram
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram 4.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay located along the shores of Bay or Bengal at Mamallapuram is 65 km drive from Chennai. This seaside town is an acclaimed World Heritage Center with centuries old historic monuments and temples. Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay, easily the most visited luxury resort, provides accommodations on beach front. The resort spans across 44 acres with various options for leisure and entertainment. It's comprised of 144 rooms including suites, pool villas, chalets, Bay villa and Bay Bungalow. It has one of the longest meandering swimming pool in Asia which is 24000 Sq. Ft. and an infinity pool of 3500 sq ft that gives you a great feel of reaching out into the horizon. Modern and Ayurvedic Spa for ultimate relaxation and rejuvenation. Versatile Banqueting Zone with state of the art pillar less 10000 sq ft. with best acoustics for both conferences and celebrations. Huge open space that lets you celebrate events in the arm of nature, the lawns by the sea is great destinations for dream weddings and parties. various Food and Beverage outlets gives you a choice of cuisine along with finest beverages. The Wharf - sea side specialty restaurant, Waters Edge Cafe - Round clock diner, Sindbad - adventure spirited bar, Maritime tales - relaxing lounge bar, round the clock in-room dining facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram Hotel Mamallapuram
Grt Temple Bay Hotel
Grt Temple Bay Mamallapuram

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing