We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a bad place to hang your hat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Mamalla Heritage
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels in Mahabalipuram
Reviewed November 20, 2013

I stayed here in October for one night and then when I passed through Mahabalipuram the following week. The staff were quite helpful and the place is a cut above a lot of the other options. The town attracts a lot of low budget travelers, so many of the hotels are quite a bit more basic. The rooms are okay. Not the cleanest I've seen, but comfortable enough and felt safe (since I was traveling as a solo female this is important). The breakfast is nice and the restaurant staff are very professional and friendly. There's also a restaurant on the roof which is a nicer option in the evening. There is almost NO vegetarian food here, so I had to eat dinner elsewhere. It's well-located, about a 5 minute walk to the beach. There is a small pool which is a very nice option since it's very hot here and the beach isn't really for swimming. One thing I didn't like is that the internet was not working and they took my payment in advance and didn't offer a refund. Other than that it's a fine option.

Room Tip: None of the room look onto the street, so they're all fairly quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RebNov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (451)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

200 - 206 of 451 reviews

Reviewed November 19, 2013

The best thing about this place is the personnel! They ALL at ANY level are efficient, charming and very customer oriented. The situation of the place makes it an ideal spot to visit this very ancient village,
The hotel itself has not much charme and needs a serious lifting. There are better rooms available, so ask for Deluxe rooms away from the street. The overall service is great and so is the food (unfortunately no wine available, just beer in the rooms).
I will go there again when next in the are but will follow above guidelines.

Room Tip: chose imperatively a deluxe room away from the street or ask for a renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonPedroGeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

The Mamalla Heritage is a quite nice place to stay. My room was simple but very clean. The staff is very friendly and helpfully. The breakfast was varied and very good, the vegetarian restaurant excellent.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Degelong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

hotel is worth for its location. its not a beach resort, neither sea can be seen from its room, but all the main points of mamallapuram are at walkable distances, be it shore temple, arjuna's penance, pancha rathas and the mahismardini guha. the food is also nice

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShrayanSen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We have stayed in many hotels in India and this must be one of the worst. Dirty rooms, dirty sheets, dirty bathroom. OK breakfast but good staff only a pity the hotel is in a poor state. Close the the centre of the town which is its one good feature.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms at the front as there is traffic noise all night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wilmslow_People
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

I had a very nice 2 night stay at this hotel in a deluxe room. For me, the winner was the swimming pool which is a decent size and was perfect to cool off in after a day walking around the monuments. In addition, all the staff (receptionists, waiters and bell boys) were very friendly. As for the room, it was big and comfortably furnished. A cheap but good laundry service is also available – nothing was lost, which was definitely a bonus!

Unlike many hotels, the complimentary breakfast offered is actually decent – plenty of fresh fruit, toast, juice, cereal as well as south Indian dishes. I ate in the seafood speciality restaurant one night as well and was impressed with the food on offer.

Negative points
(1) The bathroom is quite small compared to the large room, so it feels a little cramped - that's the main reason why this hotel only gets 4/5.
(2) The fridge and TV are both very dated and could do with replacing.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank Tom A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

The pictures looked great, but after reaching there did we realize, things are different. We went there, a big group of 34 people, I don't think any of us were happy.

The pool was the only good thing. The rooms were average. The AC didnt function, nor did the hot water thingy.

Since our stay was a very short one, we didn't bother much.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vividity2608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mahabalipuram hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mahabs
Hotel Mahabs
#9 of 28 in Mahabalipuram
269 reviews
0.2 mi away
INDeco Mahabalipuram
INDeco Mahabalipuram
#14 of 28 in Mahabalipuram
280 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grande Bay Resort and Spa
Grande Bay Resort and Spa
#3 of 28 in Mahabalipuram
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram
0.8 mi away
Chariot Beach Resort
Chariot Beach Resort
#6 of 28 in Mahabalipuram
486 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ramakrishna
Hotel Ramakrishna
#18 of 28 in Mahabalipuram
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mamalla Heritage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mamalla Heritage

Address: No 104, East Raja Street, Mahabalipuram 603104, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Kanchipuram District > Mahabalipuram
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Mahabalipuram
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Mahabalipuram
Price Range: $38 - $55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Mamalla Heritage 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mamallapuram a place to reckon with great sculptures and heralding dynastics. A place shrouded in an area of history and splendour. Mamallapuram is a place of great significance and is one of the main heritage cenres in the Indian tourism industry. The drive from chennai to Mamallapuram is by itself a pleasure cruise. The East Coast Road winds through a stretch of calm, swaying, casuarina groves, With the golden beaches sliding all along the way and the salty breeze breaking upon face, blowing all your worries away. This stretch is becoming a vast recreation centre for Chennai residents. With all the existing entertainment centre's, resorts and artists villages and a lot more proposed on this stretch, this road will soon be the entertainment hub of Chennai.This exotic town has the rare combination of freedom and restriction, grandeur and grace, entertainment and education. You can feel the richness and the artistic inclination of the Pallavas in the air. Living legends and mammoth monoliths form a part of Mamallapuram's splendour. The salty air, timeless roar of the sea, the endless stretch of sand and sky will enrich your soul and enliven your spirits.Commanding a vital position in this bygone town of the pallavas is a hotel which embodies the Pallavan era of hospitality, beauty and enchantment, in its simple and screne environment- Hotel Mamallaa Heritage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Mamalla Heritage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mamalla Heritage Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing