We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A fantastic place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mamalla Beach Resort
Ranked #14 of 27 Hotels in Mahabalipuram
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
1 review
“A fantastic place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

Excellent value for money . Been a regular visitor with my family as well as with my friends for the past few yrs. The service and the food has improved consistently. Safe place to stay. very friendly staff. Mamalla resort is a place you come back and recommend to your friends and relatives.

Preetha Girish

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mamallapuram23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    71
    50
    12
    33
See reviews for
86
39
3
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

Excellent location. Value for money. One should go fo you are looking for r it. Food quality is also good. The restaurant is located on the sea beach. If you are looking forward to have south indian cuisines, then you will definitely enjoy it along with the sea breeze. One of the very few good places to enjoy in Mahabalipuram.

Room Tip: Select a deluxe room, its spacious and good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rinkmam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

I have been there for my brother's wedding for few days with my European relatives, they as well as we were really satisfied & impressed with theor service at the mamalla beach resort.
The wedding was held on 12/12/12 in this Resort and that is the beautiful moment that we will never forget in our life.
It was around 300 people who attended the wedding ceremony & most of them were excited with the location & other services.

I really thank MD & Manager for bringing the marriage to great success.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amzadkhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tirupathi, Andhra Pradesh, India
Level Contributor
89 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

this resort is old , not so well maintained . but the quality of room and food is good. The gardens are not well maintained. no green lawns ,

The rooms are good but not having good view of the beach.

Restaurant is good and the food served is excellent, the arrangements are good and as per their promise.

Pool is well clean and well maintained .

Except for the garden and lawn maintanance everything is good , the service is good but none of them knows even english and its a problem to communicate with them.

Room Tip: As the rooms are not having beach view better to pick pool view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hemanth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
84 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

You hitch up here to be away from the world and spend a quality time with your loved one and yourself. We have been coming here for some years.
There is no assumed artificial airs in this place. They know when to leave you alone and when to pamper you. And that's what my lady says 'You feel as if you own this place and not that you are a guest here'.
The food is great. If you are here they cook up some magic food to your taste.
I travel a lot and its the same elsewhere. But here the place grows on you. From the service to sleep you feel at peace with yourself. Even though there is so much sand to go around the rooms are spotless.
Good place to for group get together for any purpose official or personal.
Just laze out in the pool for a chill time. Its clean and the kids are safe. And you get your private space in the water. Or you get yourself an ayurvedic massage.
You own the beach here. It has a virgin feel to it. You can just stand there looking at the waves sans the crowd. And our special time is just to stand there late in the evening at the beach and drink in nature.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MSAhmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

Once I got off ECR to enter the resort, I wasn't getting a very good feeling - but as the day progressed, I started having a better impression of this place.

My verdict: The place can be good for only two types of experiences - 1) team/family outing (15-20+ people) 2) romantic getaway. As I was here for 1), my good experience here has a lot to do with what I did while I was there. But, coming down to evaluating the resort itself, there is absolutely nothing I can complain about.

1) Open ground with shed and music/PA system with operator - was good - helpful as some team members performed dances and songs
2) Open-air buffet - was good - fortunately the weather was good that day. I was having doubts about the mis-spelt 'pasantha paneer', but the taste was good. Most items in the buffet were good, and some were ok (both North and South Indian). Practically nothing that day was hate-worthy. The story might be different for the ones who had non-veg food.
3) Beach: Absolutely clean and crowd free. Plenty of facilities were provided if people wanted to play games on the beach. Also, the sea facing restaurant alone can be a very good reason to visit this place over and over again.
4) Swimming pool: Clean and nice for a relaxed dip. Not deep enough or large enough for any serious swimming - just good for lying about or splashing around water.

Honestly, I haven't been to any exclusive 'beach resorts' in Chennai, so I don't have a reason to complain about Mamalla - but I guess there could be better ones out there...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ChintanLakhani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

We went for the lunch buffet - it turned out to be one of the most disgusting experinces ever!
The food was horrible to say the least, pathetic customer service & really tacky decor.
The so called 'Seagulls restaurant' is just an open place under a cement shed! They put up plastic chairs, plasticky sheets & plastic cutlery on the tables & a couple of canvas tents around the place to serve food/snacks. The service staff doesn't understand English/hindi, looked and don't give a damn to whatever you may request them for.
The much touted 15 dish buffet was rasam, sambhar and some 6 varieties of tasteless peas + the staple veg/nv biryanis
Needless to say - we felt cheated. Vow never to visit again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anand1213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mahabalipuram hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mahabalipuram hotels
1.0 mi away
Grande Bay Resort and Spa
Grande Bay Resort and Spa
#2 of 27 in Mahabalipuram
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Mamalla Heritage
Hotel Mamalla Heritage
#6 of 27 in Mahabalipuram
3.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sea Breeze Hotel
Sea Breeze Hotel
#22 of 27 in Mahabalipuram
3.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram
1.7 mi away
INDeco Mahabalipuram
INDeco Mahabalipuram
#12 of 27 in Mahabalipuram
3.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
2.4 mi away
Chariot Beach Resort
Chariot Beach Resort
#9 of 27 in Mahabalipuram
3.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mamalla Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mamalla Beach Resort

Property: Mamalla Beach Resort
Address: 108, Kovalam Road, Mahabalipuram 603 104, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Mahabalipuram
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Mahabalipuram
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mamalla Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mamalla Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mamalla Beach Hotel Mamallapuram

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing