We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good noise less pace-full staying resort / hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Esthell Village Resort
Ranked #12 of 28 Hotels in Mahabalipuram
Reviewed February 19, 2014

having very good room, summing pool, basketball court, cricket ground, volleyball court, very nice mango,coconut,Lemon trees surrounded, good for cycling and long walk. good maintained lawns good south Indian restaurant marriage hall.

Room Tip: good to stay with small/big group. very ideal place for performing marriage stay with group of peopl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PSSANKARANARAYAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (80)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 80 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2014

Some of the amenities and facilities at the resort are very good, but there are management issues that if resolved would make it an excellent place to stay.
Pros: The pool, spa and such are very good as is the maintenance of the grounds, lobby and conference rooms. The staff is earnest, pleasant and tries hard to satisfy.
Cons:
RoomVenetian blinds in room could not be controlled: slats would not open/close and blind could not be raised. Water spilled out of the bath spigot causing very low pressure for the shower. Exterior wall by front door to unit was dirty.
Restaurant: Their ad says there are three restaurants, but there is only one (false advertising). The staff is very pleasant and very willing to help but needs to be trained better. For example, scrambled eggs are brought out quickly, but we had to wait for the coffee, toast, butter, jam and the omelette ordered at the same time. The same thing happened at lunch with one of the main dishes.
Concierge: We asked them to book a small car (Indica) to bring us to bring us from the Chennai airport. We were told that as a 3 star resort, they could only book a larger sedan (Koalis) and rely on their experienced driver. We consented, but were then picked up by a visibly older small car, which should cost less. That was OK with us, but while checking in, they made no mention of the substitution. I had to raise the issue and the fact that it should cost less. We were told that the regular driver was not available, and no mention was made about the fare. I had to ask twice for them to reduce the fare.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Viajero-de-mundo999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We were pleasantly surprised by our stay at the Esthell resort. If driving down from Chennai, take the ECR, turn right after Great Lakes institute, pass through the atomic energy quarters, turn right again and drive 3 km to reach the resort.

We had two rooms for one night. The rooms are spaced out four to a building set amid lawns and lush greenery. The pathways around the resort are ideal for walking or cycling. There is a large pool with a kids' pool alongside. The kids' play area is clean and well maintained. So is the gym equipment, both indoors and the ones placed outdoors where you can exercise on a cool winter morning.

The rooms and bathrooms are spacious. There is a fridge but not stocked as a mini bar. Coffee and tea bags and two 1-litre bottles of mineral water are provided. The television has a Tata Sky connection and a DVD player. We did not try the wifi as it would have been charged.

When we walked down for dinner, we were told that the only restaurant in the resort was closed that day! We checked with a senior member of the staff and discovered it was very much open. Rotis were served cold. The coffee on offer was Nescafe, not filter coffee. All starters and main courses were unbearably spicy.

Breakfast in the restaurant the next morning was scheduled for 7:00 am, but was not ready until 8:30. We could sympathize with the staff though - we learnt they were waiting on a party in the hotel until 3:00 am that morning, following which they to scramble a couple of hours' sleep before reporting for work again.

The staff are polite and helpful. The resort tends to get noisy on weekends with corporate groups visiting. I suggest visiting on weekdays for a quiet, relaxed getaway. Consider bringing your own food or driving out into town for dinner.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tenvsrini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Heard about this property from some friends. So tried it for just 1 night, as a precursor for a longer stay and bigger group at a later date.
Spread over 35 acres, the resort has well developed farm with lots of mango, lemon, coconut trees. Well laid out lawns with Tar-topped roads, ideal for long walks and cycle rides.
Kids enjoyed the bicycle rides and water park. Bicycles were strewn around for lack of maintenance, request resort people to look into this.
The rooms were spacious and neat. The suites with a living room and two bathrooms were ideally suited for family with kids like ours.
Enjoyed an early breakfast on the lawns of the restaurant. Ilaya Raja took good care of us, though the choices were limited due to lack of raw materials. The menu could use some more creativity.
This place has a lot of potentiality. Would surely come back soon.
Mr.Devedas, GM and Bhasker made sure our stay was memorable though a short one.
Thanks.

Room Tip: If you are a family or 3 or more, go for the suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank najmudin s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The least that is expected from a hotel is running water, electricity & good food. Esthell beats all of that.

1. They serve non-veg food for free! Corn flakes we had ordered had a small cockroach in it.
2. It is a blessing if you get water in your attached bathroom. Even if you get water, you are lucky if it is hot.
3. AC rarely works!

Given that we paid a hefty amount to avail all the services, the service they provide is very poor. We do not recommend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank sushma_rkg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Pros: We (a group of Americans) joined up with a group of Indians and a group of 40 school-age Indian children for a Divali Holiday. The kids had a great time swimming, playing cricket, football, and cycling. The food they served our group was TOP QUALITY. They were so accommodating! The management and staff were super friendly and helpful. The dorms were great too. Clean and well appointed (although the dorm beds were MUSTY AND SMELLY) The staff were great--They served us well. The children had a great time and are already planning their next trip!

Cons: Swimming Pools were dirty, slimy fungus on floating on the pools. The third pool was closed. The children's play pool was a HUGE DRAW for us in coming, however....it was broken down and rusty, and roped off the entire time. When we asked them to turn on the sprinklers, they replied that the motor was broken. The water was pretty dirty.

The private AC rooms were nice in the photos, (where the expats stayed) but in reality.....we had four rooms, and we all found the floors to be squeaky, some rooms had menus, some had phones that worked, others didn't, every room was missing something. The cleaning staff would sometimes just fold our dirty wet towels and put them back on the shelf for us to re-use. The key cards/elec would go off in the middle of the night, and throughout the day for no reason. In one room the TV worked, but the DVD player didn't, in another, the DVD did, but the TV didn't. All of our beds were ROCK HARD, we were all sore after vacation, felt like we had been sleeping on the floor for five days..

The grounds were dirty, boxes and boxes, and mounds of debris. The cycles were rusty, the tires were flat, the ones that had training wheels didn't work. We saw 40 cycles....but only 15 were workable...... Never saw the foosball, ping pong tables advertised online.... they were locked up. Free breakfast was SLOW and not great.

Overall consensus is that this place was great for a large group. They need some improvement for sure, and need to improve the quality of this place. It's great and has potential, but they need some real work done to make it better. Even so, We had a wonderful vacation! The workers were helpful and kind and we appreciated the management and staff. For our needs, it was fine. For ex-pat families and families that travel often, you might need to keep looking for a better getaway. It's a bit over-priced for the quality.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Indiatam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Rooms are good and new. Though no beach is available nearby, a small pond is there near by. The swimming pool is extremely beautiful which have nt seen anywhere else.. Kids will definitely enjoy a lot.. Food was cheap and good. Buffet Lunch is just 500rs only.. rooms are surrounded by mango trees which was full of mangoes... It was nice to see...

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Salaikmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mahabalipuram hotels
8.6 mi away
Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram
9.3 mi away
Grande Bay Resort and Spa
Grande Bay Resort and Spa
#3 of 28 in Mahabalipuram
425 reviews
10.2 mi away
Village Retreat
Village Retreat
#26 of 28 in Mahabalipuram
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
WelcomHotel Kences Palm Beach
WelcomHotel Kences Palm Beach
#1 of 28 in Mahabalipuram
200 reviews
8.7 mi away
Chariot Beach Resort
Chariot Beach Resort
#6 of 28 in Mahabalipuram
486 reviews
9 mi away
INDeco Mahabalipuram
INDeco Mahabalipuram
#14 of 28 in Mahabalipuram
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esthell Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esthell Village Resort

Address: No. 93/8 Sadras Road, Egai Ratnapuram Village | Thirukazhukundram, Mahabalipuram 603109, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Kanchipuram District > Mahabalipuram
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 28 Hotels in Mahabalipuram
Price Range: $74 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Esthell Village Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Esthell Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing