We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location & clean rooms”
Review of Hotel Ramakrishna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Ramakrishna
Ranked #16 of 27 Hotels in Mahabalipuram
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good location & clean rooms”
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Good hotel in one of the main streets with loads of shops, restaurants & cafés. The beach is right at the end & everything to see is in walking distance. The 5 Rathas are about a 20 min walk though so don't go in the heat of the day. The hotel itself is well maintained, clean with nice rooms. The TV didn't work but we were only there for a couple of days so didn't mind. AC worked very well; we were too cold & couldn't work out how to turn it down haha! We didn't try the restaurant as we ate at other places. Wifi connection in reception area was good, but wear DEET as there are lots of mozzies!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balajisma, Owner at Hotel Ramakrishna, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you for sharing your experience with detailed feedback on Trip Advisor. we always request our guest to inform us the problem about the room during their stay so that we can rectify and make your stay comfortable.we are sorry about our TV, which was not working during your stay. And we have installed Mosquito nets in all the Rooms, so next time when you stay with us, we are sure that you will have more comfortable stay.we have also made our hotel into complete WIFI Zone. Thank you for staying with us and We will Continue to serve our guest with quality of service to make them feel home.

We hope to see you soon when your travels bring you to Mamallapuram.

Best Regards
Balaji.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    49
    29
    15
    13
See reviews for
27
47
24
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ramat Hasharon, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Me and my mother booked this "hotel" on booking.com after seeing the pictures and deciding that for the price (1500 ropi) a night it was good. We arrived late at night, the location is good and this is the last thing that is good.
They promis wifi in the room, it was only working in the lobby, and not so well... The "resturant" was not good and they did not have most of the things that Says on the menu. The staff did not speak English well and was unkind.
The room was not like in the pictures, there are no nets against musqitos on the windows, the fan is small and not really help full. The sheets where stained also the towels, there was no hot water although it was promised.
Outside they had a picture that said rooms for 500 ropi, for the same room we had. so why did we have to pay more then Double!? When asking the owner and telling him that we will fill a complain with booking.com- he said "I don't give a f*$€k about what you gonna say or report...

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank GigiEven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balajisma, Owner at Hotel Ramakrishna, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for writing in Trip Advisor, It is really shocking for me to read your review about us in a public portal in a bad way where we have lot of guest appreciating for our service and our rooms. Let me explain our readers about the situation happened between us. To start up with, we have the whole conversation recorded in our Front office Security camera, our guest record states that you have stayed with us for three Nights, the problem starts when we asked for the payment upon your check out, to sweep out your payment you start complaining everything which was completely baseless to argue, if you were not comfortable with us and our room you would have cancelled the booking on the day one or you would have not checked IN, But you didn’t do that, you have checked In our room after you are okay with our room , and you didn’t complain anything when you were staying , whenever we ask you in our reception you said you were comfortable and everything is fine, but u wrote bad about us here which is really unfair, As you have mentioned we have rooms starting from Rs.500/- for budget room without any facility with shared bathroom, This rate cannot be applicable on your standard Room. And all rooms displayed in the website are real and if not you can ask us directly to show the room which was in the website. We have different design wallpaper in different rooms that’s it and We never use bad language to our guest, please do not write anything which has not happened, we have all recorded footage in our security system for the proof, About Our Restaurant we will improve our staff service and our menu range. Thank you.
We will not worry about bad reviews, we will Continue to serve our guest with quality of service to make them feel home.

We hope to see you soon when your travels bring you to Mamallapuram.

Best Regards
Balaji.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mahabalipuram hotels

Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Very nice experience in this hotel. Jumping to the Pros and Cons

Pros
- Although rooms are very small they have used some smart interior help and hence the rooms look very nice although being small
- Excellent staff. The best I have seen till date. Very courteous, always smiling and always ready to help. From the manager to the room boys a 5 star behavior
- Food is good in quality. But if you are in mood of eating local food tryout somewhere else
- Equipment and ACs in good condition
- Located very nicely in the middle of all places. All viewpoints are walkable. Fisherman's Beach about 1 min walk
- Nice open terrace where you can sit and enjoy the scenes around with a peek of light coming in from the nearby lighthouse after every 1-2 second

Cons
- Room small for third bed. Do not go for extra bed
- Linens provided are not changed the next day. Do not throw your towels around after use
- ** Smoker alert - Smoking not allowed in the room. You have to step out of the room to smoke
- Short in parking

Dos
- Remember to carry a mosquito repellent since there are small mosquito which fly in the room as soon as they get a chance

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arindam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balajisma, Owner at Hotel Ramakrishna, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you for sharing your experience with positive feedback on Trip Advisor.To save water,we usually change linens and towels on guest request only. Sorry about non availability of smoking rooms.we have installed mosquito nets now.Thank you and We will Continue to serve our guest with quality of service to make them feel home.

We hope to see you soon when your travels bring you to Mamallapuram.

Best Regards
Balaji.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Gr8 Location. Nice restaurants. Warm service. Clean rooms.
What can be improved upon? Small basic rooms. Couldn't control swing in the AC. Some thought less acts: the bearer from Northern India do not understand English or Tamil. When we receive room service, the bearer brings the bill without a pen to sign on. Most importantly, when u order curd rice or chinese food, they are served without pickles or sauces. The Parking Place could be improved upon. But still, the best budget hotel at Mahab.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shrinagesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balajisma, Owner at Hotel Ramakrishna, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor.we are extremely sorry for the inconvenience caused to you, we will take your feedback seriously and we will improve our service in restaurant and train our staff in a efficient way. Thank you and We will Continue to serve our guest with quality of service to make them feel home.

We hope to see you soon when your travels bring you to Mamallapuram.

Best Regards
Balaji.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

This hotel is situated perfectly on one of the main streets and close to the sea. Staff are friendly and the room was spotless and modern. The rooms are a little on the small side though and wifi works only from the lobby. Not really a problem as there are sofa's to sit on there. Overall a pleasant stay!

Room Tip: It's a small town and all the accommodations near each other so worth having a look around to se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NinaNJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balajisma, Owner at Hotel Ramakrishna, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you for sharing your experience with positive feedback on Trip Advisor. We are installing new wifi system for our guest,very soon our guest can go online from their room, sorry for the inconvenience caused.Thank you and We will Continue to serve our guest with quality of service to make them feel home.

We hope to see you soon when your travels bring you to Mamallapuram.

Best Regards
Balaji.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich, Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Ramakrishna is a top hotel with a very friendly staff. As a single traveller I felt always safe and secure. The hotel is new and the rooms are clean. The Manager settled any resquests fast and I appreciated the entire service in Ramkrishna.
You can have a great time in hotel Ramakrishna.
Highly recommended from a Swiss Lady!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elisabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balajisma, Owner at Hotel Ramakrishna, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you for sharing your experience with positive and detailed feedback on the Trip Advisor.We will Continue to serve our guest with quality of service to make them feel home.

We hope to see you soon when your travels bring you to Mamallapuram.

Best Regards
Balaji.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

The room was new, modern, and very clean. The staff are delightful. Lovely stay!! I wish I could have stayed longer. The hotel is a few minutes walk to the beach and the area boasts many little restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balajisma, Owner at Hotel Ramakrishna, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you for sharing your experience with positive feedback on the Trip Advisor.We will Continue to serve our guest with quality of service to make them feel home.

We hope to see you soon when your travels bring you to Mamallapuram.

Best Regards
Balaji.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mahabalipuram hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mamalla Heritage
Hotel Mamalla Heritage
#7 of 27 in Mahabalipuram
439 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mahabs
Hotel Mahabs
#9 of 27 in Mahabalipuram
255 reviews
0.2 mi away
INDeco Mahabalipuram
INDeco Mahabalipuram
#14 of 27 in Mahabalipuram
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram
0.1 mi away
Sea Breeze Hotel
Sea Breeze Hotel
#22 of 27 in Mahabalipuram
326 reviews
8.5 mi away
InterContinental Chennai Mahabalipuram Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ramakrishna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ramakrishna

Property: Hotel Ramakrishna
Address: 8 Othavadai Street, Mahabalipuram 603104, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Kanchipuram District > Mahabalipuram
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 27 Hotels in Mahabalipuram
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ramakrishna 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Ramakrishna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing