We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Travellers, get to the Ramakrishna!”
Review of Hotel Ramakrishna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Ramakrishna
Ranked #16 of 27 Hotels in Mahabalipuram
Southend
1 review
“Travellers, get to the Ramakrishna!”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Everything you want in a hotel and more... It was such an enjoyable stay that when we left for Chennai we decided to come back the next day for an extra 5 nights. The room's were very clean and comfortable, the staff were extremely friendly and the rooftop restaurant was delicious!! What an excellent place and I plan on returning. Best hotel in India! Big up to Mamallapuram!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sweet_lizard14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
balajisma, Owner at Hotel Ramakrishna, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Dear guest

Thank you for sharing your experience with positive and detailed feedback on the Trip Advisor.We will Continue to serve our guest with quality of service to make them feel home.

We hope to see you soon when your travels bring you to Mamallapuram.

Best Regards
Balaji.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    49
    29
    15
    13
See reviews for
27
47
24
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Balaji the manager is excellent! Very helpful and kind
Great food
Renovated rooms are soooo gorgeous!
Location is perfect as it is walking distance to all shopping areas, sites to visit and the beach
We rented scooters to discover the surroundings and Balaji helped us organize everything during our stay in this hotel
Thank you so much for everything!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nat29550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
balajisma, Owner at Hotel Ramakrishna, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Dear guest

Thank you for sharing your experience with positive and detailed feedback on the Trip Advisor.We will Continue to serve our guest with quality of service to make them feel home.

We hope to see you soon when your travels bring you to Mamallapuram.

Best Regards
Balaji.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
Reviewed June 19, 2012

"A Good Budget Hotel to Hang Out.It was a pleasure to stay here. This location was excellent - beautiful surroundings.
There was a awesome support from staff(Specially Owner- Balaji(a great photographer)).
Overall food quality is Delicious.Rooms are well designed."
--Sandeep (Mumbai)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandyCool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Hotel Ramakrishna, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
Dear guest

Thank you for sharing your experience with positive and detailed feedback on the Trip Advisor.We will Continue to serve our guest with quality of service to make them feel home.

We hope to see you soon when your travels bring you to Mamallapuram.

Best Regards
Balaji.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

We booked this based on the info and pics,,,it was abosulately horrid, and the manager couldn't care less..amazing

Room Tip: all were pretty much of the same, dirty and badly maintained, some have mossie net some have air con...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacqui f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
balajisma, Owner at Hotel Ramakrishna, responded to this review, May 2, 2012
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Hotel Ramakrishna Mamallapuram. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At our Hotel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

Our New Standard rooms are getting Ready and we are renovating all 40 Rooms in our Property.,However Deluxe Rooms are ready and we have got good reviews about the room. Please give us sometime to rectify all the Problems,I personally Take your feedback and you will be definitely amazed with the change when you visit Mamallapuram Next Time.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Balaji,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mahabalipuram hotels

Estados Unidos
Level Contributor
101 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2012

Based, partly, on the fact that it okay reviews on TripAdvisor (and was recommended in Rough Guide India) I spent one night at the "Hotel Ramakriskna" in Mamallapuram, in northern Tamil Nadu, three weeks ago.

Based upon my experience during my stay there, say that there are MUCH better places to stay in Mamallapuram. I had had worse stays in other guesthouse during my recent nine-week South India trip*, but Ramakriskna -- I need to say -- ranks among the bottom 10%. And for 1,000 rupees a night, I had come to expect much better places.

I'll list my complaints is as follows. Ramakrishna did not supply a "top sheet" to my bed (just a bottom sheet, covering up the mattress). Also, in my bathroom (with a European-style toilet), there was no European-style toilet seat (requiring that one's bare butt rested on the cold porcelain while doing what-you-do on toilets). I paid for AC, but the power went off so frequently (with, seemingly, no back-up generator at Ramakrishna) that it seemed hardly worth the extra price. [I'll note that even when the air conditioner was working, it seemed to not work well at all (indeed, it seemed to increase the humidity level in the room, and only do very marginal cooling).] And, finally, the "complementary breakfast" was pretty bad.

After one night at the Ramakrishna, I moved one-half block down the street to the "Sri Murugan Guest House" where, for the same 1,000 rupees, I found a much nicer room (with top-sheet and toilet seat), air conditioning that worked very well, and a back-up electricity generator that kicked-in immediately when the Tamil Nadu electric grid failed (which it does, frequently, and for long periods of time). Sri Murugan did not give me a free breakfast for my 1,000 rupees, but no-breakfast was almost better than the one supplied by Ramakrishna.

To summarize: in Mallapuram, I give a big "thumbs down" to Ramakrishna Lodge, whereas I was reasonably pleased with the Sri Murugan 25 meters away.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ArgentineTraveller6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
balajisma, Owner at Hotel Ramakrishna, responded to this review, April 29, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Hotel Ramakrishna Mamallapuram. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At our Hotel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Balaji,
Manager Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 4, 2012

We moved hotels to stay here after repeated visits to the roof top restaurant for lovely breakfast (and only wifi we found in town!). All the staff are incredible, very friendly and willing to go above and beyond to help. There was a great atmosphere with live music from two local bands on the roof with fresh fish being BBQ'd and yummy dosa's being made before our eyes.

We had a basic room which was clean, had massive double bed and mosquito net. Great value for money. Would definitely recommend to friends and if I'm back in the area will stay again.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolynDai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
balajisma, Owner at Hotel Ramakrishna, responded to this review, March 9, 2012
Dear guest

Thank you for sharing your experience with positive and detailed feedback on the Trip Advisor.

We hope to see you soon when your travels bring you to Mamallapuram.

Best Regards
Balaji.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2012

Hotel ramakrishna is the place where I definitely want to go back next time I visit mamallapuram-

when I just got off the bus at hectic bus station I wasn't sure if I could find a nice place to stay. My bag was heavy and the sun was burning.
Simply I followed lonely planet's recommendation and checked out some other candidates, but out of them hotel ramakrishna was superb no doubt. I felt like a home with my fresh-clean room, always-helpful staff and warm-greeting by the owner, balaji and his father. :-) loved the time I spent on the roof top restaurant- food was excellent too.

Omg I just miss this place a lot- I'm coming hopefully next year! Thx ramakrishna family for great service.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yuno_park
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
balajisma, Owner at Hotel Ramakrishna, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
Dear guest

Thank you for sharing your experience with positive and detailed feedback on the Trip Advisor.We will Continue to serve our guest with quality of service to make them feel home.

We hope to see you soon when your travels bring you to Mamallapuram.

Best Regards
Balaji.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mahabalipuram hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mamalla Heritage
Hotel Mamalla Heritage
#7 of 27 in Mahabalipuram
433 reviews
0.8 mi away
Nirvana Boutique Hotel
Nirvana Boutique Hotel
#24 of 27 in Mahabalipuram
10 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vinodhara Guest House
Vinodhara Guest House
#11 of 27 in Mahabalipuram
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mahabs
Hotel Mahabs
#9 of 27 in Mahabalipuram
253 reviews
0.2 mi away
INDeco Mahabalipuram
INDeco Mahabalipuram
#13 of 27 in Mahabalipuram
266 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sea Breeze Hotel
Sea Breeze Hotel
#23 of 27 in Mahabalipuram
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ramakrishna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ramakrishna

Property: Hotel Ramakrishna
Address: 8 Othavadai Street, Mahabalipuram 603104, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Kanchipuram District > Mahabalipuram
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 27 Hotels in Mahabalipuram
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ramakrishna 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HostelWorld and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Ramakrishna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing