We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ALL FORM NO CONTENT”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of L'attitude 49

L'attitude 49
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $14
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Buffet, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
chennai
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“ALL FORM NO CONTENT”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

Travelling 60 kms from a city through the jungles of mankind for food sounds zany in these food-off-the-shelf days.but when the hype is created about the place and the food, one thirsts for the experience.
So with that thirst we trudged thru a motley crowd of people on a festival day in chennai.
The impression of place is that its lovely serene and well kept.
The menu boasted about global cuisine and probably identified the reason for calculating prices in dollars in rupee equivalent.
For such a place to have 3 out of four orders of guests present negated, as not being available ,robbed the restaurant of any rating.
So from then on wards it became a compromise of eating what the chef could cook and what we did not want.
The special sea food menu was a holy mass of masala very different from what was the explanation on the menu.
The nasi goring was undercooked and cold.
The rogan gosh was blackened beyond shape.
So it was a question of gulp don't yelp.and when patrons leave food in the dish it can mean only two things-the portioning was oversized or the food was bad.and if the portioning is oversized then barf bagging becomes mandatory when the food is good-otherwise its left to die a cold death-and that's what happened.
But the service needs to be commended for their attention.
The bill appeared as an apparition with a mind of its own...felt cheated downright.absolutely no value for money....
End of the story-needed to stop on the way home to grab a quick bite as we remained hungry on the drive back......btw does the l’attitude cover the bermuda triangle-then please avoid this place!!!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sfahmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver_chindi, Owner at L'attitude 49, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Guest.
We are very sorry that you had a bad experience at L'attitude 49. Our Chef and his team have been informed about this and they have taken measures to make sure this does not happen again. We strive to provide the best for our esteemed guests like yourselves. We really appreciate that you came from such a distance and patiently waited to get to the restaurant , fighting traffic and the crowds of people. I totally empathize with you. I hope you will give us another chance to correct your bad experience. Please do come back as our guest and allow us to make it right.
As well thank you for writing this review. It is with reviews like this that we can check ourselves correct our oversight.
Really hoping to serving you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    71
    17
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant with International cuisine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

If you are looking for some world-class international cuisine with an ambience that is comparable please try out this place. It might be a tad expensive compared to some of the other places in town but it definitely is miles ahead of the rest if you are looking for some good international fare.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank ssumakant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lunch overlooking the sea”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

After our hotel check-in at Mahabalipuram, we went to L'Attitude 49 for lunch. We were a group of 14 and they took 10-15 minutes to find a table for us.

The restaurant has a beautiful view of the Sea. they had a buffet but we went for Ala-carte. Their menu has good choice of North Indian, Chinese and Continental.

I recommend the Panner Tikka, Walnut Brownie with ice-cream and Tender Coconut pudding.

Service was top notch.

The only downside was there was a stick in the Pasta that was server for the kids.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rameshc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver_chindi, Owner at L'attitude 49, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Mr Ramesh.
So sorry about the Pasta. We did look into it right away and the kitchen is taking extra care.
Thank you for being patient and waiting for your table, during our rather busy lunch. You and your party were a delight to have with us and we sure hope you come back again soon.
But mostly, thank you for writing this review and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a place like no other in mamallapuram!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Lovely interiors, very tastefully done. The food is lovely, would recommend trying the Malay cuisine.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rocketraja23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver_chindi, Owner at L'attitude 49, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Guest.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your meal at Lattitude 49. We are happy to inform you that we are adding more Malay food in our menu. Do ask the team the next time you are in and they will be happy to help you choose your meal. We would like to thank you for taking the time to write this review. Looking forward to seving you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collingwood, Canada
Level Contributor
99 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Authentic and Divine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

Imagine getting REAL Char Kwey Teow in India!! The taste brought me back to my days in Malyasia and it was marvellous. The restaurant is new and all white and chrome. Very serene and relaxing. The staff is not only friendly but see to your every need. Excellent French service and delicious, lip-smacking good cuisine. Granny would be jealous. Very upscale and excellent for business or a quiet rendezvous.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wally Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver_chindi, Owner at L'attitude 49, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Pella,
It was lovely having you dine with us. Thank you very much for taking the time to write out this review. Hope you had a good stay in Mamallapuram and enjoyed the rest of your trip in India!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'attitude 49 also viewed

Mahabalipuram, Tamil Nadu
Mahabalipuram, Tamil Nadu
 
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
Mahabalipuram, Tamil Nadu
 
Mahabalipuram, Tamil Nadu
Mahabalipuram, Tamil Nadu
 

Been to L'attitude 49? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing