We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good, but not the best in town”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Good Luck Cafe - CLOSED

Good Luck Cafe
Cuisines: Indian, Seafood, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
169 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Good, but not the best in town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

I eat breakfast here twice and both times enjoyed. I order the masala omelet which was very good and my girlfriend ordered the muesli which was a bit average and a pancake which was good. The lassi's here a great, in my top five lassi list in Asia. The service is a bit slow, but the owner and the two ladies who work here are so lovely that you forgive and forget and remember your on beach time.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Orwellwasright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    21
    7
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Simply the best in Mamallapuram”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

An awesome place!!! Located on the beach front atop the Sri Harul guest house (where we stayed), this cafe is simply the best of its kind in Mamallapuram. It serves mostly seafood, do try the pirate's choices with the different sauces... My personal favs: snapper with garlic butter sauce, prawns in coconut mint sauce, just yummy!!! And the breakfast is just as good. Soft fluffy pancakes, fresh juices, toast, eggs and so on... very good indeed. It is a tad more expensive than other restaurants in the area, but once you sample their fare and compare it with the rest, you will know why. Great service, friendly staff... Diva is very friendly and helpful & Santanam is a shy & friendly chap. Great place...recommend it highly!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank SunnyLal2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

this is best place for breakfast and best place for midday snacks, just relaxing. Diva owner is a man of the world and so helpful and does good fish BBQ sometimes at night.

if anyone goes to this town do contact me as I need help with a bad businessman there-ta x

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank armchairtraveller09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nagykovácsi Hungary
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Heart of Mamallapuram :-)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2012

Amazing place with very good foods, and with very big HEART !!
Prices cheap , you always heard the ocean's sound and feel the breeze . It's better like a heartattack :-)
I will going back soon .

Thank you India, thank you Mamallapuram , thanks Deeva .

Good Luck now from Budapest Hungary Europe Márton István :-) Steve

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank chickenskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huesca, Spain
1 review
“Quiet place beside the sea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2012

Good Luck Cafe is a nice quiet place to enjoy a delicious meal served in a very funny dishes and very attentive and loving workers.
I spent a few days, working on the terrace of the restaurant under the watchful eye of Praveen, a child who combines school with work at the restaurant.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ewafananas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Good Luck Cafe also viewed

Mahabalipuram, Tamil Nadu
Mahabalipuram, Tamil Nadu
 
Mahabalipuram, Tamil Nadu
Mahabalipuram, Tamil Nadu
 
Mahabalipuram, Tamil Nadu
Mahabalipuram, Tamil Nadu
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing