We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location , Location , Location .”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mahabalipuram
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sri Harul Guesthouse
Ranked #4 of 30 Mahabalipuram B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
West Lothian
Level Contributor
145 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Location , Location , Location .”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Linges , the owner had no record of our booking on arrival , we showed him copies of our email communications with him but he said room was not available . He tried to punt us to his brothers hotel but we stuck to our guns , said no , and alas our room that we booked suddenly became available . Thereafter no problems , Linges and staff were extremely nice . room basic , but we knew that . All about the balcony and sea view , wow . just loved Mahab , won't forget our night here .
Thanks to all .

Ps ticked swimming pool and fitness boxes by mistake and can't get rid now on my iPad .

Room Tip: Front facing , sea view with balcony , an absolute must , nowhere else . 900 rupees when we visited...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Collor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    36
    17
    4
    0
See reviews for
11
43
25
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santu Lussurgiu, Italia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

was wonderful go to sleep and waking up with the sound of the sea in the background. The rooms are big enough ande clean, also the bathroom, and the balcony looking on the sea is perfect to relax watching the fishermen preparing their boats, leaving or coming back... also if it means waking up very early in the morning. The owner is also very helpful and kind, as the people in the rooftop restaurant. we had a great staying, thank you, Mr Langliesh!

Room Tip: ask for the second floor rooms, with the sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taariel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sw dc
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

On my recent visit, I was pleased to discover that several guests from europe had read my review and were impressed with the place. It is very busy as a result of this and other sites reporting well on this place. It is thriving and so the level of service HAS GONE DOWN! The cleanliness leaves some gaps. Th owner now does all the work himself - three days and the room has not been sept, nor the bathroom washed. I am about to get my own broom "thodapam" to sweep the dust and sand off.

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank rennaissance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 11, 2013

After months of travelling overland it was great to finally see the ocean and the fact there was a cow or ten on the beach made it even more interesting.
The owner here was lovely and upgraded us to the beachside room on the 2nd night.
The view was perfect and the price was so cheap that we stayed over a week, incl. xmas, just relaxing and watching fishermen bring in their catch each day. Not to mention the friendly local kids who visited us every day.
It took us a while to find this place but it was worth searching for; Mamallapuram is memorable because of this place.

Room Tip: Ask for the beachside rooms, the view is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boobaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

It is difficult to write a review of this place and is therefore more of a suggestion to management on how to improve.

The main reason why we are writing this is because the boy who seemingly runs this place was constantly drunk and/or stoned and very often not around. He was pleasant enough, but on the last night he was very intoxicated and tried to demand more money for the room, as well as a spurious charge for cleaning. He was not intimidating to us, but I can imagine some people would have been very upset with his behavior, given that he was in our room and over staying his welcome.

Also, the people in the restaurant were lovely, but they are the most expensive place in town for beer and seemingly make prices up on the spot. They claim it is because they are not licensed, but who is in town?

On the plus side the room was clean and comfortable, but I think that this place rests on it laurels as it has rooms overlooking the beach.This place could be better if it maintained fair/consistent prices, the option for hot water, a back up generator for a least the fan in the room and more reliable and less intoxicated management.

Room Tip: The ones at the front were nicer but more expensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmosBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mahabs
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

This place deserves the #1 ranking. Stayed for 2 nights in July while looking for a place to rent. It was my first time in Mahabs and moving into the lovely ground floor room with waves lapping up under the balcony was a great way to start. The second night was the full moon and I have no words to describe the late night spent on the balcony with the shimmering waves and moonlight. The morning sunrise over the ocean is a must see, I was on the balcony from 5 at the start of the greenish glow.
You'll spend most of the time on the balcony. But about the room and bathroom, they are very clean and tidy. It is basic but comfortable as described in other posts.
It is located in the fisherman colony and according to me, its the best place to stay and get to know the real Mahabs.
Lingesh, the owner was a friend for the rest of my 5 month stay in Mahabs. He will help you with anything you need such as surfboards, boatrides and travel.

Room Tip: Ask for sea facing- they all have balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rrda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

My husband and I spent two nights at this GH in August 2012. We had chosen this place based on reviews in Trip Advisor. The highlight of this GH is its location, right on the beach. Infact the tide was high during our stay and the waves were literally crashing on the doorstep of the property. Most visitors would use the side entrance. It was enchanting to sit on the balcony of our room (ground floor) and watch the waves and fishermen and wake up listening to the sounds of the sea. About the room: do not go to Sri Harul GH expecting luxuries & 5 star accomodation. Its a basic place, neat and comfy. A nice double bed, table and cupboard, clean western style bathroom. If you need anything d not hesistate to ask Lingesh or his helper, they are very accomodating. The really nice part is the privacy you are afforded. No interference from anyone... but if you need any directions to get around Mahabs, they will help you wihtout being pushy. And the Good Luck Cafe upstairs is the best in our opinion in all of Mahabs. All in all great stay, relaxed, total Value for money. Will go there the next time we plan a trip to Mamallapuram.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SunnyLal2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mahabalipuram hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mamalla Heritage
Hotel Mamalla Heritage
#7 of 27 in Mahabalipuram
3.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram
0.5 mi away
Grande Bay Resort and Spa
Grande Bay Resort and Spa
#2 of 27 in Mahabalipuram
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
INDeco Mahabalipuram
INDeco Mahabalipuram
#13 of 27 in Mahabalipuram
3.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ramakrishna
Hotel Ramakrishna
#16 of 27 in Mahabalipuram
3.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rajalakshmi Guesthouse
Rajalakshmi Guesthouse
#2 of 30 in Mahabalipuram
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sri Harul Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sri Harul Guesthouse

Property: Sri Harul Guesthouse
Address: No:181 Bajanai Koil Street | Fisherman's Colony, Mahabalipuram 603104, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Kanchipuram District > Mahabalipuram
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Mahabalipuram
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing