We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Misleading map - 15 km out of Mahalibalipuram - taxi-dependent no evening activities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Blue Bay Beach Resort
Reviewed April 23, 2011

On-line map is TOTALLY misleading. Blue Bay Beach resort hotel is 15 km out of Mahalibalipuram. It is the Chennai-side of the Crocodile Park. You feel trapped in the evening with nothing to do. Air conditioning is nice and cool. We changed hotels to be in Mahalibalipuram. If we had booked through the website I would be suing them.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ScarlettMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (117)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 117 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2011

there is is a lot i can write for this one
1. they were most helpful in helping me put together the proposal as it was for a school reunion and i had strict budgets and logistics issues and they were so patient and accommodating when i needed it. and even did part of my administrative work of sending me the quotes in a format i could just forward- its a great help, trust me. not just UMA the person who was co-ordinating but everybody else too, whenever she was not there.
2. They have this 'jeevs' like manager JOHN, who is always there when you need him and not otherwise; makes everyone feel attended too, demanding friends and stressed out mothers, all included, and never heard him say NO.
3. Then there was the signing and signing out of people and closing all individual bills, all done to the "T' with just one instruction-wonderful to have things done the way they are told to be done. at least in INDIA, a nasty surprise in never unexpected
4. FINALLY, the best part -there were a few request for a reversal of charge due to my error of information, but after the stay when the request was made, the refund was given in half a day! now thats a place you love, dont you.
5. just so that you dont think that i am a fake review for the praises i am showering on them, i will also share what we thought maybe was not a great idea- the resort had huge no of multiple day trip guys who just stormed the place so it kind of took away from the texture of the place and the experience. would ask them to avoid if possible, however understand the needs of a business.
But the last word be said- for the price they charge they really delivered a much superior experience.
Hats of the JOHN (you were great, and everywhere and every time) & Uma (you were most helpful but its sad that i didnt get meet you in person)

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BimalNair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2011

It was a good experience in BlueBay Beach Resort. My team and myself welcomed with juice. Staff has fullfilled all our requirements and took special care. Food and accomodation was worth the money and Food also taste. My team and myself has enjoyed very well in the swimming pool and as well as valleyball.
Foreigners are also well treated in this place. It was very Good experience on the whole.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jilani_p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2010

Please do not go by the website. The web page contains nothing which is actually present there. The ambience and cleanliness is pathetic. Even the food was not that great.
On top of this the pools were dirty and the cottages were too close to each other and no privacy.
Food was also not that great.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SHANKY87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2010

The resort is a must avoid especially for families. I had travelled with my family on 13th Nov a weekend.. The photos shown in the website were taken when the hotel was constructed, The current condition is pathetic and lacks cleanliness in all ways.. They allow students to come in for daily picnics.. They roam around the place and make hell lot of noise, play in the pool, drink alcohol in the open so that its very difficult even to walk with family, The private beach is just 3 to 4 mtrs wide and it is ill kept with all sort of litter. I had booked a cottage and its just a single room.. They just call it cottage thats all.. I lost my money and the trip just because I chose this hotel.. Should avoid this hotel at all occasions..

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank varghesezac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2010

Blue Bay, absolutely the last resort to touch or stay while in Mahabalipuram. Photos of the place are deceptive to say the least.

The Manager lies through his hat and keeps changing what he has said. We were also over charged, breakfast was to be complimentary but they tried to slip it in.

I have a sneeky feeling that the staff use the empty rooms to sleep in.

Rooms are pokey....!

Charged us Rs. 4000/- for 5 small pieces of Seer Fish, on probing and arguing it came down to Rs. 500...?

Dont make the same mistake, you sure will feel the blues at Blue Bay.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Prithviurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2010

I read very good reviews about this resort but reality was little different. We reached the resort around 4:30 PM on a Friday evening. Met the reception who were extreemly slow in giving me a room. There was no helper to carry my luggauges and guide me to the room. The room rates were around 2500rs but for the money that we give the room is extremely small. The resort is very small when compared to the other resort and they allow team outing as well to be carried out in the resort. The privacy for family people is extremely less and the food is of very standard quality. Our overall experience was not good,

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank santa1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mahabalipuram
0.3 mi away
Grande Bay Resort and Spa
Grande Bay Resort and Spa
#3 of 28 in Mahabalipuram
410 reviews
1.7 mi away
Chariot Beach Resort
Chariot Beach Resort
#6 of 28 in Mahabalipuram
474 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Mamalla Heritage
Hotel Mamalla Heritage
#8 of 28 in Mahabalipuram
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Village Retreat
Village Retreat
#26 of 28 in Mahabalipuram
38 reviews
2.1 mi away
Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram
13.9 mi away
MGM Beach Resorts
MGM Beach Resorts
#1 of 1 in Muttukadu
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Bay Beach Resort

Address: ECR Road, Vadanemilli | Thiruporur, Mahabalipuram 600008, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Kanchipuram District > Mahabalipuram
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Mahabalipuram
Price Range: $60 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Blue Bay Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Blue Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Bay Beach Hotel Mahabalipuram

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing