We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“kadri”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Gecko Cafe

Gecko Cafe
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Indian, Seafood, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Tallinn, Estonia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“kadri”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

The best restaurant in town! The food is delicious and service is very-very nice. The place itself has a nice and cozy atmosphere. The best part of the restaurnt is its owner who could share with you some insights about India while serving you excellent food. Their grilled fish was the best one I got in India and overall value for money is much better than main street restaurants.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kadri l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    65
    29
    8
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent off track place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

On a family trip to Mahabalipuram we ended eating one meal in this place every single day. Became rather friendly with the owner who is a really nice guy, and told us about his fascinating life/entrepreneurship story. The food was the best we had in Mahabalipuram and it's always good to be in a place where they don't want to rip you off as the first opportunity arises. Also, great soundtrack.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Art L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Rooftop bar/restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

Nice rooftop joint, simple, has wifi and fans, tho we were told that we had to order food in order to use the wifi and if we just ordered a few beers we had to pay 200 rupees to use it, come on....

So we ordered food, it was grand but we just kept it simple.

We were destroyed by mosquitos up there tho and the coil didnt do much nor did the spray so we had to flee! Owner is a nice guy and was very friendly!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sharmanat0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Still a great hang”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

Around the corner from the main drag, the Gecko may be a minor problem to find - but its worth it. I ate here a few times and the food was consistently very good. The service was great and it's an enjoyable place to chill out. The two brothers who run the restaurant are great guys, informative and went out of their way to make my visit to Mam pleasurable. When they found out I wasn't happy with my room they found me a better one!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank blueflame5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
507 reviews
244 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 330 helpful votes
“the price of fame”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

As this place is mentioned in a popular guide book & a few people have given it a good review on here previously
So the prices have shot up & the quality has gone down.
They might have been good once but that time has past.
There is more than one of these restaurants all in the same earea that all belong to the same person.
They all look gruby, small & naff but dont let that put you of.
There are far better places than this one trick pony.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank simon m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gecko Cafe also viewed

Mahabalipuram, Tamil Nadu
Mahabalipuram, Tamil Nadu
 
Mahabalipuram, Tamil Nadu
Mahabalipuram, Tamil Nadu
 

Been to Gecko Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing