We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, value for money and relaxed pool area - though rooms could use a refurbishment”
Review of Hotel Mahabs

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Mahabs
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Mahabalipuram
Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

Simple rooms (each with relaxed balcony area), close to the centre of town and beach, walkable to the main sights, local restaurants and shopping. Restaurant and breakfast is quite good. However the rooms are tired-looking and hot water was erratic. A decent option if you are on a budget and location is the main priority.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank intrepidtraveller288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (279)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 279 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

I've been to this place about a few times when I take off a break to go to Mahabalipuram for the weekend. This is by far been really good an experience. Comfortable rooms which are well illuminated and air conditioned. I've stayed in the standard and the deluxe rooms here and I personally enjoyed the deluxe room for the setup and the lighting and space inside. The deluxe room in addition has a refrigerator which proves useful during summers. The restaurant serves nice lunch and dinner and are affordably priced. The complimentary breakfast is really good and served hot.

Stayed: March 2014
Thank Atlanticconvoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

We were a little hesitant when our manager at Chettinad Court suggested we stay at Hotel Mahab.....because of all the poor reviews written here. But we were in for a very pleasant surprise. Had a great stay at Hotel Mahab....our room on the 2nd floor was huge, perfect working A/C, bright sunlight streaking thru the curtains ...trees outside the windows...bathroom big and sunny, and no need to pull the curtains here as it overlooked an open unused court. Our room overlooked the swimming pool and the open air restaurant and felt like we were in a tree house. Everything within walking distance ....even the shops.The breakfast was sumptious and good. Our lunch at the restaurant, which we ordered in advance, was delicious, cooked to perfection. Though it was a weekend, we had no trouble with the hordes of tourists outside the gates. A perfect ending to our tour of South India.

Room Tip: Room 306, though up 2 storeys, is perfect....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

We paid extra for a superior room, which was pleasant enough, but unbelievably noisy for most of the night, as there was a coach stopping place just outside the hotel, and groups of local tourists/pilgrims in huge numbers were cooking and socializing under our window. I realize the hotel can do nothing about this, and they did change us to a quieter room further away from the bus park, but it was not nearly such a good room, with a fan too noisy to use.
The pool was very pleasant, and well staffed, with towels offered as soon as you sat down. The restaurant served good snacks and food, with outside tables by the pool. Breakfast, included in the rate offered a good selection of Indian/Western food, and omelettes made to order.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank readsandtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

Where do I start? We didn't want or need AC, so we took a non AC room, but these people have no concern for the two non AC rooms they have. It rained during the night and we had water literally pouring down the walls. The following day we complained and they moved us to the room next door, then it rained again and water was coming through the ceiling this time. When we complained again we were told they don't care about the non AC rooms, so they are not looked after or repaired, they also didn't have any other non AC rooms, so if we wanted to stay in a room fit for habitation we would have to move to an AC room - at an extra cost to ourselves. No! We didn't want or need AC, we just wanted a dry, comfortable room. They eventually, after a whole day of complaining, moved us to a dark, dingy, dirty hovel of a room, which resembled a tomb - and they still wanted to charge us extra. No way! That room turned out to be infested with flying ants, so we were moved again, to an equally disgusting room. We had the worst nights sleep and the following morning left to find a beautiful room just up the road - for less money. Oh, they also tried to rip us off with the wifi, which you have to pay for (but you never seem to get the full amount of time) and the bar manager gave me the creeps. The pool is nice, yes, but the business attitude of these foolish people and their customer care is non existent. Terrible, terrible place.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Suzxq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Mahabs for 2 nights in January 2013. I had booked a DeLuxe air conditioned room including breakfast.We were allocated Room 205 which was on the first floor.
The room was large and spacious but quite dark as you could not pull the curtains back as people walked over your balcony to their rooms.

The room was comfortable and clean. Large reasonably comfortable double bed. Air conditioning very efficient, although one window in the room would not shut. We were not bothered with mosquitos only the odd one. We had a fridge (empty) but no kettle or hairdryer. A Table and two comfortable chairs in the room and also on the balcony. No safe. We did experienc a number of short power cuts so take a torch.

The bathroom was quite large and a wet room. The towels provided were quite thin but clean. There was always hot water when we wanted it and the shower was very efficient.. The tap in the sink could not be turned off properly so was dripping all the time.

There is a very nice pool with a few chairs and sunbeds around it set in a nice garden.

A daily English Language Nespaper was delivered to the room each day.

Breakfst was quite good with a choice of Indian dishes, fresh eggs/omelettes, cereal and toast.

The hotel is located in the centre of town and very close to the shore temple, and many restaurants and shops.

I had booked this hotel direct with the hotel and also arranged with them for a pick up from Chennai and an onward transfer. The pickup was fine and they charged me the price that they had quyoted me. For the onward transfer they increased the price by INR300 and when I queried this the manager was not very pleasant. There is a taxi rank very close to the hotel so I would suggest using this rather than booking transport through the hotel.

Overall value for money and we would stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 205 large spacious room with hot water and air conditioning
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skier54_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Had been to this hotel in Dec 2014 and had a very worst experience.
Traveled with wife and two kids. Since kids were not ok with AC had to take a non ac room.

By evening the room was filled with mosquitoes. I tried calling reception starting from night 11 and non one attended the call. Thought of walking to reception but it was totalld dark out and was scared to leave family alone. These ppl switch off even corridore lights at night.

Killed nearly some 30 mosquitoes but still dont know from where they were coming from...it never reduced. Finally got frustrated and got the hotel owners number from the resturant bill and blasted him by 2:30AM in night.

He told right now there is no other non ac room you have to shift to other room and have to pay extra money and he is convincing me that in non AC rooms there will always be mosquitoes.

He just for few more scondings from me and finally agreed to give a different room at 3:00AM with no extra charges.

Morning breakfast was more pathetic...pongal and chutney server dint have even a pinch of salt...

Took some food from other resturant ..

Swimming pool was pretty ok so had some gud time in pool.

Went back to room by 11:00AM. Realized that there is no hot water.
Called up reception and they told to leave tap open for 10 mins and hot water will come.

Left tap open for 30 mins and there was no hot water....called up reception and he sent one person to chk....
he once again told leave tap open for 5 more mins and u will get hot water.....i waited for another 1 hr finally had bath in cold water and checked out of room..

While checking out i complained once again that i never got hot water....Idiots once again told you should have left tap open for 10 more mins...

Realized ...Its difficult to convince these headless idiots and checked out.

Room Tip: Would never suggest this place to any one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank drcsrinivas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mahabalipuram hotels
0.2 mi away
INDeco Mahabalipuram
INDeco Mahabalipuram
#13 of 29 in Mahabalipuram
292 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sea Breeze Hotel
Sea Breeze Hotel
#20 of 29 in Mahabalipuram
341 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mamalla Heritage
Hotel Mamalla Heritage
#8 of 29 in Mahabalipuram
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Joe Beach
Joe Beach
#26 of 29 in Mahabalipuram
22 reviews
1.8 mi away
WelcomHotel Kences Palm Beach
WelcomHotel Kences Palm Beach
#1 of 29 in Mahabalipuram
244 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ramakrishna
Hotel Ramakrishna
#22 of 29 in Mahabalipuram
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mahabs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mahabs

Address: No.68 East Raja Street | Behind SBI-ATM, Mahabalipuram 603 104, India (Formerly Mahabs Inn)
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Kanchipuram District > Mahabalipuram
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Mahabalipuram
Price Range: $34 - $58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Mahabs 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Mahabs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing