We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh fish in ok surroundings”
Review of Moonrakers

Moonrakers
Ranked #25 of 78 Restaurants in Mahabalipuram
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: Indian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Fresh fish in ok surroundings”
Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

We had a large fish nicely cooked with freshly cooked rice and vegetables.The ambience is non existent and it is very basic.We disliked the plastic plates and asked for proper ones!The owner was amazed that we didn't like the plastic plates!It was very cheap and ok.Not the best meal we have had in this part of the world.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank b80bb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    206
    133
    78
    98
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Pathetic service and food”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

After a fabulous 3 day trip, on our last night in Mahabalipuram we decided to have dinner here. It was a bad experience. The food tasted nothing like they should have (Calamari curry had no taste and Mushroom fried rice was way too spicy). The service was also questionable with the waiter giving us the check right at the beginning of serving our food, and that too it was miscalculated, and we were charged incorrectly (which they corrected later but it spoiled the mood). There are much better restaurants in that same street.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel21Century
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best masala king crab and the warmest hospitality”
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Sat on the patio here for a quick bite and ended up having a massive king crab masala and the best vegetable coconut curry. The restaurant owner and staff, especially Shiva, were attentive to every need and very pleasant to converse with. We highly recommend it!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kathieGstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous Fod”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Fresh Sea Food --Very Tasty and beer on top of it---All for a reasonable Price---Excellent service--Quick Delivery--Lots of foreigners eat here

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank pns77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Do Dinner Here”
Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

Absolutely amazing good. Ordered three curries thinkin that they'd be small, but they came out in big bowls and full of flavour. The service was awesome with three or four well mannered and happy to serve waiters, all well spoken and gentle. Have been in town for three nights and eaten and numerous restaurants, but I'm delighted to say that none compare. Do yourself a favour, visit here or brother restaurant over the street "Blue Elephant" both amazing!

Helpful?
Thank MattieBarker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moonrakers also viewed

Mahabalipuram, Kanchipuram District
Mahabalipuram, Kanchipuram District
 
Mahabalipuram, Kanchipuram District
Mahabalipuram, Kanchipuram District
 
Mahabalipuram, Kanchipuram District
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
 

Been to Moonrakers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing