We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Memories”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Moonrakers

Moonrakers
Ranked #33 of 76 Restaurants in Mahabalipuram
Price range: $0 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Memories”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

Moonrakers was the place were in whole of mahabalipuram i call a perfect hang out.
Topped a beer with lovely Beef & Squid is just an amazing experience . Its not that often that you find a good beach side shack / resto pub in Tamil nadu.
Cheers !

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MukhilMarx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    201
    132
    75
    98
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Moon Rakers - I think NOT!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

Myself and Friend were seduced into entering Moonrakers! as we walked down the street! As soon as it became apparent that we weren't interested in the seafood (Having strolled the beach that morning) we became Persona Non Grata!! There was a table of at least 15 obnoxious Americans next to us and the very reason why one avoids these revolting people when travelling - they DO SO spoil everything for the rest of us! Loud, aggressive , clicking fingers etc etc etc! We had an forgettable meal other than the £18 for my bottle of wine which the waiter tried to grab back off me! NO NO NO NO NO NO - can I say it more loudly _ DO NOT GO to this awful restaurant!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank kathyaggy2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level Contributor
106 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fish is the Dish!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

Just as my friends suggested Moonrakers for fish lovers...the place is good for great tasting fish and is pocket friendly too!
Please don't give this place a miss if you you love your fish & sea food.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NITASH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good Sea Food - Anand Moonrakers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

Went to Anand Moonrakers, thinking it is the only moonrakers. got a seat on first floor overlooking to original hotel.
Was i dissapointed. Not at all. The food here is awesome.
Even before placing an order the waiter asked us to come and see the catch of the day. we didnt like the crab, so ordered tawa fish fry and chicken pepper fry.
The fish was cooked to perfection and the masala was very tasty. The chicken tasted good but had too much oil for my liking.
Over all a good place to have sea food, a cold beer and just chill out when in Mahabs.

Tip : bargain for discount on the price quoted for sea food.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SachinUchil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Overpriced and not good”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

We were looking for Indian food and we asked someone from the village where he goes to eat, and he told us this address.
The place is loud, my bread order was forgotten, my dish was really too salty and my family said that the sauce completely hid the taste of the prawns. I regret going there.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Soizic85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moonrakers also viewed

Mahabalipuram, Tamil Nadu
Mahabalipuram, Tamil Nadu
 
Mahabalipuram, Tamil Nadu
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
 

Been to Moonrakers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing