We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is totally worth it. The hype, the seafood, and everything about it is TRUE!!!!!”
Review of Moonrakers

Moonrakers
Ranked #26 of 78 Restaurants in Mahabalipuram
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: Indian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“This place is totally worth it. The hype, the seafood, and everything about it is TRUE!!!!!”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

This place was phenomenal, I mean, really. When I went there, I ordered the crab masala, jumbo prawns, and pomfret fish with fried rice. Let me start with the fried rice. The fried rice was just like anything you'd get in India, like other regular Indian-Chinese restaurants. But I'm not saying it was bad, it was just standard issue Indian food. Then came the jumbo prawns. My god, they were so good. I have never tasted such succinctly sweet tiger prawns. 6 stars out of 5. Not only that, they were huge. After that, came the fish. The pomfret. The lemon butter sauce on it, I guess, was supposed to cater to non-local tourists who looked for a rather bland taste. 4 stars out of 5. The fish was OK, but I gave it that because pomfret happened to be one of my favorite fish. The highlight of the meal at Moonrakers was the crab masala. The masala was lovely crab, fresh from the Bay of Bengal, slathered in spicy red hot masala. It was so spicy that being an Indian used to spicy Indian food, this was so spicy that I could not eat it. Literally, I had to drink so much water to compensate for the spices. 10 out of 5 stars.

The restaurant, if you convert to dollars, is like a regular American restaurant, with each dish being about 500-600 rupees, or 9 - 11 dollars. But if you earn in rupees, the restaurant can get a bit pricey. The restaurant is good for kids, and isn't too busy. The restaurant is small with a few tables. The ambience of the place wasn't too loud or bustling, nor too quiet. It was just nice. I liked the food best, the service was great, but I didn't like the ambience as the restaurant is open right onto the street.

Overall, totally you should visit.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Seafood L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    206
    134
    78
    98
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“What a scam...”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

They are mentioned in every site and am convinced it is all forged. The food was awful, the decor rundown, service non-existent. I also thought that the fish was grossly under-cooked though my wife disagrees there :-). Completely undeniably avoidable.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank PRJha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“SeaFoodies.. This one's for You!”
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Trust me.. the place is worth the Hype! If you're visiting Chennai/ Pondicherry and are not planning to go to Mahabs.. this review will change ur mind :P .. it is a MUST GO! From fresh Catch Fish.. to Tiger Prawns to Squid to Beef Masala.. you name it and its as delicious as it could get.. The produce is so fresh that you would barely get the 'sea food smell' from it.. the marinations and recipes are one of a kind and would surely make your mouth water! For a personal and local touch of the hospitality, ask for Gautam.. He's an amazing host.. enjoyed every bit if the dining experience because of him.. He made an excetion of getting nutella pancakes made for us when they were almost closing. If you still havent put it on your LIST.. you MUST!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HappyGoLucky1137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moonrakers_12, Manager at Moonrakers, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear sir ,

Thank You So much For your Review it gives us lots of positive Energy to Serve you even much More better .

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenoble, France
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice but could be better”
Reviewed December 22, 2012

A very touristic restaurant which doesnt not have much charm. The food is not fantastic either (barely no taste). The positive aspect is the (or one of the) owner who is nice and helpful.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Aline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very average”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

The restaurant has a good location and an excellent roof terrace however the food is distinctly average however I would recommend the egg paratha.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bhavik d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moonrakers also viewed

Mahabalipuram, Kanchipuram District
Mahabalipuram, Kanchipuram District
 
Mahabalipuram, Kanchipuram District
Mahabalipuram, Kanchipuram District
 

Been to Moonrakers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing