We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Decent Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chariot Beach Resort
Ranked #6 of 27 Hotels in Mahabalipuram
Reviewed October 18, 2009

We went to this Hotel during Aug 09 jus for a weekend relaxation. The Hotel room was very good and comfortable..The pool was magnificient and the beach was also decent. The only issue I would say is there are not much of recreational facilities. The Games room was almost empty and seemed more like a dump yard. We were promised by the Manager that the they would improving the recreational facilities soon. The Location of the hotel is slightly away from the town, so if ur on ur own without ur own conveyance, it wud be difficult for u to move around.

The Breakfast at the hotel was complimentary and the food was good. It had goo varieties of both South Indian traditional Breakfast as well as Continental food.

Overall the stay was good, but as far as the cost is concerned it was on the higher side. I guess the hotel as well hotels in India in general have to reduce the rates to have more foot prints. Or else it would be cheaper for people to go to Colombo / Malaysia for a vacation rather going within India.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
2  Thank Kiran Kumar W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (469)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

377 - 383 of 469 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2009

I stayed with my wife at chariot towards end of july..it was wonderful exploring the resort and we had a pleasant stay...their private beach is well maintained and worth a visit in the morning..The restaurant is good too with courteous staff who take care of u pretty well..Worth a visit for a weekend getaway.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shravanraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2009

Seriously poor value. The breakfast is very bad. One morning I got there at 8am and there was nothing on the buffet but some stale bread and cereal. Internet access is overpriced and the hotel pool is very warm. Garden are poorly kept. Staff are nice but under trained and lack competency. No Air-con in the foyer and the one's in your bedroom are noisy. My white laundry came back brown. Fitness gym room was really bad with everything out of order bar the table tennis table!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scottimac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2009

My husband and I stayed in this over priced hotel - they really milk the fact that there are a few decent hotels around. The room was around $100 per night, this was off-season.
The servers were so dumb and the restaurant speaks for itself -- there was a huge cockroach enjoying a piece of cake in the buffet. When I called the restaurant manager, they tried to tell me that 'at least' their kitchen was clean. LOL. Yeah. Stay away.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nyctravelers2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2009

The hotel is situated very near the beach-5 mins walking distance..the view from the room is excellent..the service and food is also beyond comparison

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank subhanatarajan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2009

It is a definately a good beach resort with nice cottages but summers are wrong time to be there, it would be wonderful if one goes there during Oct -Jan as temprature will be low & humidity will not impact as much as it does in April or in any summar month.
nice landscapes, with good greenary. direct approach to beach makes it even good. only drawback can be quality of service, though everyone is very courtious but not fast as you want to? food is another limitation, their buffet serving is good but limited. other than that every thing about the resort is excellent. cottages are large, specious but yes again in summer airconditioning is inadequate; it takes time for room to be comfortable if temp is even slightly on higher side.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Rohit G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2009

we booked a deluxe cottage - it was bright, modern and spacious. Flat screenTV, tea and coffee making facilities and an outdoor sitting area. The swimming pool was outstaning. Food was very average for the price - which was about the highest we encountered in india. The hotel is just a short walk from the Five Rathas historic sitte , but was less convenient for restaurants in town, etc - which were a couple of miles away. Pretty cheap by tricylcle taxi though. It was a peaceful spot to while away a couple of days.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Hopeful-Guest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mahabalipuram hotels
3.5 mi away
Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram
1.4 mi away
Grande Bay Resort and Spa
Grande Bay Resort and Spa
#3 of 27 in Mahabalipuram
408 reviews
2.6 mi away
WelcomHotel Kences Palm Beach
WelcomHotel Kences Palm Beach
#1 of 27 in Mahabalipuram
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
InterContinental Chennai Mahabalipuram Resort
0.6 mi away
INDeco Mahabalipuram
INDeco Mahabalipuram
#10 of 27 in Mahabalipuram
278 reviews
1.7 mi away
Village Retreat
Village Retreat
#25 of 27 in Mahabalipuram
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chariot Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chariot Beach Resort

Address: Five Rathas Road | Behind Five Rathas Monument, Mahabalipuram 603104, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Kanchipuram District > Mahabalipuram
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Mahabalipuram
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Mahabalipuram
Price Range: $83 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chariot Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chariot Beach Resort is like a world of its own. Some might even say a perfect world. Located at an elevation, that offers an unmatched panoramic view of the spectacular beach and bay front, the elegantly landscaped resort features sea facing spacious rooms, cottages a few with open to sky showers! and a proudly presenting the bigger swimming pool on the breadth and width of east coast road. No detail has been overlooked and more importantly, is just the way you want. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Chariot Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chariot Beach Hotel Mahabalipuram
Fortune Chariot Beach Hotel
Fortune Chariot Beach Mahabalipuram

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing