We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Real estate is good.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chariot Beach Resort
Ranked #9 of 27 Hotels in Mahabalipuram
Bangalore, India
Level Contributor
118 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Real estate is good.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

Management needs to learn few basic lessons. We were told on arrival that the advanced booking through cleartrip never reached them. On double check they found our reservation but it was too late. The prices are over given that its not a peak season.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Prashant K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    140
    85
    49
    39
See reviews for
127
104
17
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Noida, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

In actual I booked Room with Chariot ( others were not available) for a business visit, the booking was for 10 days, I have selected this hotel as it was near to our water plant. on arrival they asked me to pay for entire stay with taxes and that too is not refundable. I told them I will pay for one day and the stay is good then I'll continue. they refused to give me room when it was 2 am, but they finally agreed for three days payment. there was no other was I paid them. but the stay was not so pleasant due to the service of the people, also Wifi was not there, Mobile connectivity was poor and they had guest in only few rooms, wherever I saw it was vacant. the food was not meeting the good taste.
They are charging too much for their room and their service. If anybody wants to enjoy the beach without any disturbances or crowd, they may select this Resort. but they have select other restaurants for their food.
After three days I have shifted to the Chennai City as all other resorts were not available near to our Desalination plant.

Room Tip: select the beach side rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SVN1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

Two friends with family went there. Initially after seeing some reviews we booked this resort with hesitation. but, it was really a nice resort, access to beach on the back side, very near to town and tourist attractions. The swimming pool was very big and maintained well.

The breakfast they serve to be improved a lot.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manoharan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014

Been there a few times by now, and each time it was a relaxing and refreshing experience. The place is spacious, green, open lobby, phantastic large pool, spacious rooms with a nice ambiente and (indonesian, as far as I was told) furniture, excellent beds and pillows generally clean and friendly staff. Though accommodating tourist groups we never had a feeling of disturbance - and the pool area has always enough space and privacy too. Glad to note that the Pool Cleaner is back after a break when water quality was deterioriating a little.
Restaurant staff are generally friendly, but many times poor in English, which can make ordering food a bit difficult. Food quality and variety is average for that style of hotel & price range. The Espresso coffee is great - if the machine is working - and unfortunately that's not the case all to often; definitely room for improvement there...
The Cottages are a wonderful place to stay, though a bit pricy; they do, however, offer an outdoor shower (with sometimes not a clean floor) and lots of space, easy access to the pool/area and guarantee a quiet night's sleep.
Well worth a stay of more than just a weekend - with the Heritage Sites so nearby anyway!

Room Tip: Deluxe Rooms offer nice Sea View - though the sea is a bit away
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sassikala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

I went along with my team mates at work. The place is pretty huge and has the following facilities
1) ATV bikes
2) Swimming pool
3) Shuttle and Cricket ground
4) The following water rides - Banana Ride, Water roller ride, Boating and a speed boat trip till the beach
5) Floating restaurant
Only 2 ATV bikes were working when we went and each person was allowed only 1 round. Banana Ride was not working, we enjoyed the water roller ride as much as we enjoyed the floating restaurant.

Pros
1) Very spacious
2) Many facilities available
3) Swimming pool is great
4) Not very expensive

Cons
1) Bad service - Ex: The men who helped us with the water rides were rude.
2) Some rides that are mentioned in the website are not in working condition.

Note: We did not stay the night in the rooms, so am not sure of the room service. We were given one room to change our dresses and freshen up, and that was decent and spacious.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DivyaGopinath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
199 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

We came here just for two days and got what we needed: total relaxation.

The pool is big. The ocean is close enough. They have a "action center" with all kinds of activites (great for companies) and all the scenery in Mahabalipuram is in walking distance.

Only thing i can complain about is that the service is a little slow, we ordered water and it took 45 minutes. We ordered juice and it took about one hour... for a juice??

All in all it was a good stay and i can only recommend it.
(Btw the gym is under reconstruction or something..)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henning K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, CA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

Nice room, beautiful grounds. Huge pool. Rooms are large and clean, and the beds are comfortable. Great location near World Heritage temples. The restaurant is charming and the food is good but it is quite expensive.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanda1233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mahabalipuram hotels
1.2 mi away
Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram
1.4 mi away
Grande Bay Resort and Spa
Grande Bay Resort and Spa
#2 of 27 in Mahabalipuram
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
9.5 mi away
InterContinental Chennai Mahabalipuram Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Esthell Village Resort
Esthell Village Resort
#11 of 27 in Mahabalipuram
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.8 mi away
INDeco Mahabalipuram
INDeco Mahabalipuram
#12 of 27 in Mahabalipuram
3.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Mamalla Heritage
Hotel Mamalla Heritage
#6 of 27 in Mahabalipuram
3.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chariot Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chariot Beach Resort

Property: Chariot Beach Resort
Address: Five Rathas Road | Behind Five Rathas Monument, Mahabalipuram 603104, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Mahabalipuram
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Mahabalipuram
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Mahabalipuram
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Chariot Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chariot Beach Resort is like a world of its own. Some might even say a perfect world. Located at an elevation, that offers an unmatched panoramic view of the spectacular beach and bay front, the elegantly landscaped resort features sea facing spacious rooms, cottages a few with open to sky showers! and a proudly presenting the bigger swimming pool on the breadth and width of east coast road. No detail has been overlooked and more importantly, is just the way you want. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chariot Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chariot Beach Hotel Mahabalipuram
Fortune Chariot Beach Hotel
Fortune Chariot Beach Mahabalipuram

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing