We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Go Madras Electronic Music Festival Venue”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chariot Beach Resort
Ranked #8 of 27 Hotels in Mahabalipuram
Bangalore, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The Go Madras Electronic Music Festival Venue”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The fourth edition of the Go Madras electronic music festival was held here and it was a great experience.

Besides the festival itself I was impressed with the hotel's ambience.

What made me mark this place average was the security or lack thereof. A friend of mine woke up on the second morning of our stay only to find her luggage strewn across the front lawn of her room and her phone was missing. On investigation we found that a labourer from the festival had scaled the wall of the open shower area and used the door to enter the room (this we found thanks to the infrared camera's placed along the pathway of the hotel)

If a hotel is to design rooms like this they should have more than just infrared cameras for security.

Room Tip: The cottages/villas that overlook the beach are the most gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Noella C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    144
    88
    50
    40
See reviews for
135
109
17
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kozhikode, India
Level Contributor
44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We were a family group of six adults and three kids, who happened to book this place for 2 nights. I must say that this hotel is a prime example of a very nice property, which lacks a really good management. The food that is served is mediocre and heavily overpriced. The rooms are okay with good beds and furniture, but water supply is totally erratic and while taking a shower, it may suddenly stop and after a few minutes, resume with scalding hot water. The swimming pool is quite big, but not well maintained. On the second day of our stay, there was some cleaning up of the pool. The beach is far away from the building and you have to depend on their buggy to take you to the beach, which is nothing great.
There were very few occupants in the hotel and one could make out that this was once a well run hotel, which has gone into managerial decay. The price that you have to pay cannot ever be justified. There are so many good resorts around the area, so one can afford to stay away from this over priced poorly managed hotel.

Room Tip: No tip, avoid this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank premc44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mahabalipuram hotels

Re
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We were a little afraid of spending time in this hotel due to prior quite bad feedback on the hotel. Well, from the very beginning we felt like being in paradise. The whole residence was very well-cared with a wonderful garden and an absolutely astonishing huge and clean pool. Everday pool service included being brought clean towels by a very helpful staff member - it was even spread for you on the lounge-chair under the palm trees.

We were upgraded to a direct seaview-appartment and enjoyed every minute there. The room - we used it with our two daughters, 8 and 11 - was very large with an adjacent large and absolutely clean bathroom. Our veranda had breath-taking views of the Indian Ocean. All staff members - from maintenance to front desk - were very friendly and supportive trying to fulfill quickly every wish we had.

Breakfast was fantastic offering more than one could eat from toast and jam with fresh fruit and cereal to ham and eggs as well a stypical Indian dishes. The whole restaurant was filled with an atmosphere of warmth and welcome.

From the hotel one can easily walk along the beach to the centre of Mahabalipuram within 15 minutes or go on a five- minute ride witha a riksha- taxi.

Thank you to everyone working in the hotel for an excellent stay!!!

Room Tip: Invest into a direct seaview appartment if you enjoy sitting on your veranda listening to the ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Uli L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

It's got beautiful location on the beach. Very close to touristy places. The rooms are spacious. I did enjoy the stay few months back but this time I had taken a pool view cottage. The air conditioning at this resort is really bad. I heard lot of similar angry complaints at the lobby. Shower was not working. Room took time to check in. Wasn't clean even after check in time. Had to wait. No soaps were kept. Brought soaps after 3 hours. Shower and air conditioning was never fixed. Couldn't relax or enjoy the stay at this resort. The breakfast quality had gone down totally as compared to my last stay. I cannot recommend this hotel as they charge competitive rate to similar resort but no competitive service or quality.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SrinathH7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
59 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Location- Huge beach front property , stayed in a villa close to the beach.
Its a long walk and need to use the golf cart from the reception/parking to the room.They are efficient, but an inconvenience.
Rooms- Are spacious, but AC does not cover the whole room, the room is humid, all day through.Fan comes in handy, but again, hot air is circulated, and the roof is tatched/Tiled.
Food- Dry dishes, werent happy with the service, slow and inefficient. One of the house keeping folk guided us to Moon rakers, in Mahabalipuram, and we had lunch and dinner there. Neat place , you should try.
Parking- No problems, heavenly!
The only thing we enjoyed was, sitting on the beach at midnight , and gazing at the stars. They have security watching over us and thats a good thing.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VikrantSathyakumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is a nice resort right behind the 5 rathas monument. We took a deluxe cottage and found it very spacious. 2 queeen beds could easily accomodate our 2 kids. The ACs in the room was awesome. In the humid heat of May, we felt very comfortable in the room. The staff is very nice and helpful. The access to beach is very good and we could take a stroll early in the morning.

Some things that we did not find god were:
1. Very expensive food. INR 1000 for a buffet is very expensive. We actually went to another hotel (Mamalla Heritage) to have our meals :-)
2. The rooms are nice, but bathrooms were not very good. When you charge INR 10,000 for a night, we expected better equipment in Bathroom. The drains were blocked, Taps broken, showers not working properly etc.

Otherwise a nice peaceful stay for 2 days.

Room Tip: i think the deluxe rooms are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rohitmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
69 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We spent 5 nights here at the end of our travels around India watching IPL matches and we couldn't have picked a more perfect place to relax in. We had been booked a standard room but my wife asked for a pool view and they were happy to give us a free upgrade.
Staff were friendly and helpful from the manager down and we can't fault the service or the food which was both delicious and well-presented.
We enjoyed relaxing by the pool and strolling down to the beach at the end of the day which was clean and well maintained. We were lucky that for most of our stay here the resort was quite quiet and we felt like privileged guests. We would highly recommend this resort for people who want a relaxing stay in a tranquil and lovely setting. We were very sorry to leave.

Room Tip: Sea view room in main building are very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daveanddore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mahabalipuram hotels
1.2 mi away
Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram
1.4 mi away
Grande Bay Resort and Spa
Grande Bay Resort and Spa
#2 of 27 in Mahabalipuram
374 reviews
9.5 mi away
InterContinental Chennai Mahabalipuram Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Welcomhotel Kences Palm Beach
Welcomhotel Kences Palm Beach
#5 of 27 in Mahabalipuram
90 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Mamalla Heritage
Hotel Mamalla Heritage
#7 of 27 in Mahabalipuram
433 reviews
0.8 mi away
INDeco Mahabalipuram
INDeco Mahabalipuram
#13 of 27 in Mahabalipuram
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chariot Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chariot Beach Resort

Property: Chariot Beach Resort
Address: Five Rathas Road | Behind Five Rathas Monument, Mahabalipuram 603104, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Kanchipuram District > Mahabalipuram
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Mahabalipuram
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Mahabalipuram
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Chariot Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chariot Beach Resort is like a world of its own. Some might even say a perfect world. Located at an elevation, that offers an unmatched panoramic view of the spectacular beach and bay front, the elegantly landscaped resort features sea facing spacious rooms, cottages a few with open to sky showers! and a proudly presenting the bigger swimming pool on the breadth and width of east coast road. No detail has been overlooked and more importantly, is just the way you want. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Chariot Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chariot Beach Hotel Mahabalipuram
Fortune Chariot Beach Hotel
Fortune Chariot Beach Mahabalipuram

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing