We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful beach resort near historical monuments”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chariot Beach Resort
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Mahabalipuram
Reviewed June 29, 2011

Located in historical Mahabalipuram, this beatiful resort is located next to monuments- Fiv Raths (chariots). Rooms are good, so is food. Rooms are located on reception area and also at beach level. Round shaped restaurant amid sprawling lawns is a good place to enjoy food. The swimming pool, outdoor party places are nice places

Room Tip: those on the beach level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DGLION
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (486)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

369 - 375 of 486 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2011

The hotel is located 60 kilometers away from chennai airport and is situated in mahabalipuram. It is near the beautiful beach of mhabalipuram.

It is a very beautiful place and full of silence with calm surroundings

It is very easily accessible from Chennai by road.


the quality of rooms is superb and overall facilities are of superior nature.

The restaurant is good, cosy and beautiful.

The sleep quality is very good- Beds are of good order and it makes a pleasurable experience.


the quality of room service is quite good and efficient.

The staff is quite hospitable and vety near from business centre.

It is worth a experience

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nikhilbaijal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2011

Fairly nice looking on the surface, but there are no 'finishing touches' to make this a worthwhile stay. Some of the problems: Service was quite overbearing - knock on door to deliver free newspaper first thing in the morning, waiters hovering to take plates milliseconds after you've finished, etc; Overcharging for things: taxis (unfortunately commonplace, apparently), water, etc. Experience in restaurant was bad - very expensive for the quality of food; we also ordered 3 times with the waiter repeatedly coming back (after a long delay) to tell us our food wasn't available - despite assuring us each time that the rest of the menu was available.

We stayed in a cottage, which was spacious and clean other than the presence of ants (which I awoke to find swarming a pack of ibuprofen, of all things). The hotel also suffered from several power cuts every day, which may not have been hotel's fault, but were not addressed at all by staff.

We just couldn't get over the feeling that we had been thoroughly ripped off for the price. Much more luxury hotels in the area are available for the same rates, if not less.

Room Tip: cottages seem to be an improvement on other rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jeanie002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2011

This beach resort has a great infrastructure but the staff seemed to crumble under pressure. Had to spend four hours to get through a dinner. each dish came separately, there were no plates and of course no cutlery. six of us had to make do with two forks. we didn't mind much as we were in the lawn and it was great evening, but then the bill doesnt have any discounts for bad service. The entire staff seemed focussed on a beach-side party leaving regular guests to fend for their own.
The breakfast buffet next day had many missing dishes thanks to a conference in the premises. The bearer thought it was better to take away my plate after a while than have me meandering for more food.
But the rooms are nice and its next door to the five rathas monument. The private beach in neat and the pool is large. go there when there are no large groups around.

Room Tip: book online
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nandu79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2011

This place did'nt keep up to its promise.Altough, this resort has all the amenities,the food was not at all to my liking.The resort doesnt even have a nice view.It was really a turn off for me.It is ok for officail visit but I would not recommend for any personal trip.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pallu16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2011

great location, just minutes away from the beach, spacious well-appointed rooms and very child-friendly staff - those were the highlights of our stay. the sun-rise is beautiful that we could watch easily every day being so close to - almost on - the beach. we stayed in the sea-view cottage which was very spacious with 2 very large beds, wide working and eating area, a full bathroom and an open shower. my daughter particularly enjoyed the latter and also the Indian classical music performance which the hotel holds every weekend. There is also a rides park safe and interesting for kids.

food wasn't the best; i definitely expected better south Indian fare. I was amazed by the lack internet connectivity in the room; there was only one connection at the reception which was also very expensive.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shalinikala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2011

Ok there are some good things about this hotel. The swimming pool is huge and very nice, and there is access to a private part of the beach. The beds are OK with decent pillows.

But the place a major rip off. £15 for two gin and tonics at the bar, which (not surprisingly) was deserted with no atmosphere. This might be OK if the place was a true luxury resort with prices to match, but this is not a luxury hotel.

The restaurant boasts that it does Indian as well as Continental cuisine. Having tired of Indian every night we decided to order two salads and a pizza. The "salads" consisted almost entirely of chopped onions (3 different kinds) and green and red peppers (no salad leaves or tomatoes or other discernible salad ingredients). A "pepperoni" pizza was really luncheon sausage, and pronounced inedible by my girlfriend.

Also, this was our worst night's sleep of our stay in India. We got room 101, which is closest to the reception area. The rooms have almost no soundproofing, and I was reduced to putting the aircon on full blast in order to mask as best I could the noise of people coming and going from reception and using the reception bathroom opposite our room. The phone from the reception could be heard from our room, as could the sounds of doors slamming in the driveway and people talking on their cellphones (the hotel was hosting a function for an IT company the night we stayed).

Toilets not up to standard. I witnessed a staff member washing his hair using the handbasin in the reception bathroom. My girlfriend complained to staff that there was no bin in the ladies and the staff shrugged this off. Showers and bathroom near the pool are unpleasant.

Despite promises of wifi in the rooms this was not working while we stayed.

This is very much a hotel resting on its laurels and letting things slide. It is shame because it is in a great location with a nice pool and beach, but the staff and management are lazy and do not deserve to be rewarded with guests. Do not stay here!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Enrico019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mahabalipuram hotels
3.5 mi away
Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram
1.4 mi away
Grande Bay Resort and Spa
Grande Bay Resort and Spa
#3 of 28 in Mahabalipuram
425 reviews
2.6 mi away
WelcomHotel Kences Palm Beach
WelcomHotel Kences Palm Beach
#1 of 28 in Mahabalipuram
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
InterContinental Chennai Mahabalipuram Resort
3.1 mi away
Village Retreat
Village Retreat
#26 of 28 in Mahabalipuram
42 reviews
0.6 mi away
INDeco Mahabalipuram
INDeco Mahabalipuram
#14 of 28 in Mahabalipuram
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chariot Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chariot Beach Resort

Address: Five Rathas Road | Behind Five Rathas Monument, Mahabalipuram 603104, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Kanchipuram District > Mahabalipuram
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Mahabalipuram
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Mahabalipuram
Price Range: $90 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chariot Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chariot Beach Resort is like a world of its own. Some might even say a perfect world. Located at an elevation, that offers an unmatched panoramic view of the spectacular beach and bay front, the elegantly landscaped resort features sea facing spacious rooms, cottages a few with open to sky showers! and a proudly presenting the bigger swimming pool on the breadth and width of east coast road. No detail has been overlooked and more importantly, is just the way you want. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chariot Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chariot Beach Hotel Mahabalipuram
Fortune Chariot Beach Hotel
Fortune Chariot Beach Mahabalipuram

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing