We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good resort to explore the less travelled parts of Nilgiris”
Review of Green Nest Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Green Nest Resort
Ranked #1 of 30 Kotagiri B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very good resort to explore the less travelled parts of Nilgiris”
Reviewed March 20, 2014

The Manager is extremely friendly and makes every effort to ensure the guests are having a good time. The resort has a very good chef and the food was awesome. We enjoyed our stay and had a blast. We were also excited to spot wild life.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Partha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreenNestResort, General Manager at Green Nest Resort, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
We are delighted to receive your review of your wonderful stay with us. Thank you for your encouraging feedback and compliments of the resort . Our team and I look forward to your continued visits and take this opportunity to assure you of our best attention and service at all times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    46
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
69
27
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
2 reviews
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We were five senior citizen couples; came to spend a quiet New Year Eve.away from the high decibel New Year bash of the city. We got what we wanted. The resort is situated among tea gardens well away from the main line traffic with beautiful scenery all around. The air is fresh and pure. The rooms are clean, comfortable and well maintained.The staff are very courteous. The cook is excellent. We thoroughly .enjoyed the food. The owners of the resort were very helpful and guided us to some of the nice view points.
I will definitely recommend this resort to all who love to spend some time quietly among the Nature.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Natarajan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreenNestResort, General Manager at Green Nest Resort, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Greetings from Green Nest Resort

Thank you for giving us your feedback through Trip Advisor regarding your stay with us during your visit to Kotagiri. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed the stay and services.

Sir, we strive to maintain high standards of product and service and feedback such as yours go a long way in helping us meet the standards through continuous improvement and I thank you for the same.

Looking forward to your continued patronage of Green Nest Resort and assuring you of our best attention and services at all times

Regards
RAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

The place is away from the hustle and bustle and so in the lap of nature.The view is awsome, we dropped all our plans to visit near by places to just be there...have a walk in the tea gardens and enjoy the view.The place looks more beautiful than in the pictures.

A must visit place.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Poulomi13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreenNestResort, General Manager at Green Nest Resort, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for staying with us and sharing your experience. It is really nice to know that your stay experience was truly memorable. Your positive comments will surely go a long way in maintaining our standards and services. We look forward for your next visit and assure you of best services and attention at all times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

It was a memorable getaway from all the hussles and rustles of city life. The place and the ambience literally takes one away from all these.

Rooms were adequately clean. Service was good. Food was excellent. Special mention to the chef who served as authentic Tamilnadu cuisine. Çhicken Pallipalayam is one of the reason why we want to come back to Green nest.

The surprise element of our trip was, our encounter with wild bisons on our evening walk amidst the tea plantations.

A couple of improvement areas would be

1. Have separate cottages at a distance, than housing all guests at main block
2. Serving food at the specified time
3. Barbeque and camp fire to be guaranteed.

Room Tip: Rooms with balcony are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Arun G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreenNestResort, General Manager at Green Nest Resort, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Thank you for your feedback and compliments of the ambiance of the resort. . Your good words about the location of our resort will be helpful for many travelers alike who are looking for a isolated place away from the city. We have noted down the feedback which you put on the trip adviser and assure you that the needful will be done. We look forward for your next visit and assure you of best services and attention at all times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
2 reviews
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We were 10 adults and 5 kids, went there from Bangalore . We were there for 2 nights.The trip to Green Nest was excellent. The location is unforgettable. The views are still flashing in our eyes.
Rooms are clean. They have big dining rooms and elegant sofas ... The owner seems to have a good taste in the interiors.

But be careful in one thing , as they don't include food into the tariff and it looked costly, we planned to take our breakfast (Bread,Butter,cucumber etc) and planned to take our lunch outside when we are outside. But we took dinner,barbique and first day lunch.. The problem started when they realized we are having breakfast on our own ... They never said NO but the staffs started behaving in a different manner.

Eg- During dinner there were leftovers and we asked them to keep it and when next day we asked them to make it warm they straight away said it will cost extra.

Mineral water was complimentary (1/day) and the staffs started asking money for that.

During our check out owner was presnt and we complained. He apologized to us for the wrong doings and exempted the water charges .....

Except for few problems like this the over all experience was excellent.

I would definitely recommend this resort. But u need your own/rented car to reach there. I would say dont miss it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Aninda_mit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreenNestResort, General Manager at Green Nest Resort, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Thank you for your feedback and compliments of the ambiance of the resort. We are delighted to receive the review of your wonderful stay with us.

As published in the tariff, room rent doesn't include any food and addressing to the concern, the leftover’s was returned only during the next day at the time of breakfast. Normally, there is no charge for reheating but on this leftover occasion; there was a small amount of charge levied which was pre-informed to the guest. Complimentary mineral water is provided only in the rooms and not at dining halls. But if the guests had preinformed the staffs earlier, they would not have billed them and this was an unintentional mistake.

Sir, we strive to maintain high standards of product and service and we really value all your feedback as it gives us a chance to grow and improve on our services.

Looking forward to your continued patronage and assuring you of the very best in hospitality.


Warm regards,

Green Nest Resort Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
Reviewed December 28, 2013

This is a very nice resort located amid tea gardens in a serene surrounding. A perfect location for those looking for a relaxing experience. This is a small resort with very basic needs. The rooms are well maintained and staff is friendly and helping. The resort can improve on their advertisement to give more information to the prospective visitors.

Room Tip: rooms on first floor gives nice view of the surroundings
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank sandeep t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreenNestResort, General Manager at Green Nest Resort, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Greetings from Green Nest Resort,

Thank you for giving us your feedback through TripAdvisor regarding your stay with us during your visit to Kotagiri. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed the stay and services.

Sir, we strive to maintain high standards of product and service and feedback such as yours go a long way in helping us meet the standards through continuous improvement and I thank you for the same.

Looking forward to your continued patronage of Green Nest Resort and assuring you of our best attention and services at all times
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Green Nest resort is a must visit place for all nature lovers and the ones who want to escape from the city life for some days.The location is breathtaking... amidst tea plantation... and the best part is the resort and surrounding is exactly the same as in Green nest website. Good food and the BBQ/bonfire at night is a must. Morning walk along the tea gardens is a must. Overall a must visit place but with family and friends, else you may feel a bit lonely due to the serenity of the surrounding. Thank you, Green Nest Management - keep up the good work.

Room Tip: All rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank KushaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreenNestResort, General Manager at Green Nest Resort, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Greetings from Green Nest Resort

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your stay at Green Nest Resort. Your kind review is very encouraging for our team in the resort. We are so glad that you enjoyed the ambiance and service rendered by the team.

Looking forward to your continued patronage and assuring you of the very best in hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kotagiri
6.9 mi away
Sunvalley Homestay
Sunvalley Homestay
#1 of 11 in Coonoor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
5.9 mi away
Tea Nest
Tea Nest
#3 of 11 in Coonoor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
2.9 mi away
Orange Pekoe Hotel
Orange Pekoe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kotagiri
3.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
2.4 mi away
Celestial Resorts
Celestial Resorts
#19 of 30 in Kotagiri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Point
The Point
#2 of 30 in Kotagiri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Nest Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Nest Resort

Property: Green Nest Resort
Address: Gundada School Road, Kotagiri 643217, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Kotagiri
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Kotagiri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Green Nest Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Green Nest - Eco Friendly Resort. Lying in the lap of nature, surrounded by calm and tranquility, Green Nest is a charming & striking location looking out upon the imposing scenery of the Valley at a height of 2000m. Kotagiri offers a wide range of recreational opportunities and its picture-perfect landscape provides a unique backdrop for an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Green Nest Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing