We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Chumbi Mountain Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Pelling
Reviewed March 3, 2014

too good hotel to stay in pelling.......no need to go any where just stay in hotel and enjoy amazing views of kanchenjunga.......staff is so cordial and polite....food is amazingly tasty and mouth watering dishes.....the restaurants and surrounding enviornment is exceptionally awesome.

Room Tip: the hermitage room is best at place and price..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Amit M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (203)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

192 - 198 of 203 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2014

It's a super lovely resort facing the breathtaking Kanchendzonga range, all set up in such serene environment, offering awesome hospitality in tranquility! The resort features every possible contemporary convenience you can think of ... in fact BEYOND that ... all blended with a traditional heritage ambience. Gives you the awesome feel of quintessential Sikkimese culture and tradition while you relax in the serene comfort of a lush, luxurious five Star setting.

We were there to celebrate our first Wedding Anniversary in November '13. I must say.. Such an enriching experience it was!!! We are in love with this property!! The staff was kind 'n helpful enough to make our stay as comfortable and convenient as it could have been! Right from the moment we stepped in till we signed off, we were taken very good care of! We are so glad we chose to stay there! Our day was made special!
Would definitely love to go back!!
In short...Highly Highly Highly recommended to one and all!

**A note on Pelling - Do include Pelling in your itinerary.. You won't regret 'n Make sure it's a minimum of 2 nights stay in Pelling. Don't miss to visit Khecheopalri Lake! Sheer Bliss!!
And if it's Pelling, it has to be The Chumbi Mountain Retreat!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Hermitage Room. These rooms offer the best view to the mighty Kanchendzonga range...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shaveta G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Calm and serenity engulfs you as you drive into this scenic property – most of it lies within a bird sanctuary, tall tress surrounding you. As you enter the hotel, the staff will come rushing out to greet you like an old friend. The warmth and affability is chilly Pelling will instantly put you at ease. The property is what mature hoteliering is all about – the architecture is unmistakably Sikkimese – the motifs are pristine, the intricate woodwork harks back to the ancient patterns in Monasteries and Buddhist sanctuaries. The rooms are opulent – spacious, airy, bright with functional furniture and rich upholstery. The open spaces in the resort will transport you to a dreamy wonderland overlooking the Kanchenjunga range and the clouds will come right down to your window whispering songs from another time in space. The property is equipped with a very extensive Spa (which was unfortunately not functional at that time) and a very plush theater with quite a collection of Hollywood and Bollywood films. The staff is extremely courteous and friendly and takes great pride in their work (mark of sustainable people practices) and will help you plan your travel to Pelling very effectively. We wish to see a more authentic Sikkimese fare in the menu when we visit next and hope that the same capability in service and accommodation is recreated in the food – ensuring a completely authentic Sikkimese experience in opulence and tranquility.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shaonlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

The staff were great and very helpful giving advice on where to visit and arranging drivers. The resort was deserted when we visited so a lot of services like the log fire in the bar, (most drinks in the bar) and the fire pit were not in service. I also felt like the rooms were quite cold and when I asked for an extra heater they told me I couldnt have one because it would be too expensive. Also the hot water didnt last long enough to wash my hair! If they listen to this advice then I think other than a couple of issues this could be a 4/5 star resort.

Things I loved about this hotel are the location (views of the mountain are spectacular) the overall presentation of the hotel and the rooms are excellent. Everyone in the spa was lovely and the services they offered reasonably priced. Overall we had a lovely holiday in an excellent hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VickyK83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

The staff was super helpful and eager. The property is beautiful. The all-inclusive deal is great but you dont get to try the local cuisine that way. So I highly recommend grabbing lunch at a local place to make sure you get a taste of Sikkim.

For foreign tourists, its good to know that the hotel is not centrally heated (as in most of India). So expect to be cold while the room takes time to heat up with a space heater. We also asked for extra blankets. Similarly the water in the shower goes cold very quickly. A good trick was to run it on lower pressure to make the hot water last.

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain view room. It is not just glorious to wake up to the beautiful Himalayan ranges...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PreeChee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

Chumbi is situated at pelling... offers amazing view of kanchenjunga... but i feel its too highly priced... the location.rooms are exotic..but the prices are sky high for the services they offer. The food is decent.. not really good... but yeah...the bonfire pit is amazing... u can hav a gr8 time durin winters.. all in all.. good place..if it doesnt hurt ur pocket...

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Mohit L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We traveled to Pelling in Nov 13 and stayed in the resort for 3 nights which was dubbed as the best is Sikkim.
It was so true as the location, overall view from the resort and the view from almost all the rooms was amazing to say the least.
The rooms, restaurants, spa, gym... all were excellent with vibrant decor and color.
The weather was chilly and that added to the enjoyment of the stay and also the food served was very nice, specially local dishes.
We lapped the warm Sikkim hospitality showered on us by all the staff members be it housekeeping, restaurant, room service and reception.
Thank you Abhishek and everyone, it was a very enjoyable and memorable stay

Room Tip: All rooms that have a grand view of the Kanchenjunga
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank manishm357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pelling
0.4 mi away
The Elgin Mount Pandim, Pelling
0.7 mi away
Norbu Ghang Resort
Norbu Ghang Resort
#2 of 20 in Pelling
282 reviews
0.7 mi away
Summit Newa Regency
Summit Newa Regency
#7 of 20 in Pelling
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Rabdentse Residency
Rabdentse Residency
#9 of 20 in Pelling
213 reviews
0.0 mi away
Himalayan Retreat & Resort
Himalayan Retreat & Resort
#15 of 20 in Pelling
99 reviews
0.5 mi away
Club Mahindra Sikkim Baiguney
Club Mahindra Sikkim Baiguney
#20 of 25 in West Sikkim
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chumbi Mountain Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chumbi Mountain Resort & Spa

Address: Naku Chumbong, Pelling 737113, India
Location: India > Sikkim > West Sikkim > Pelling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Pelling
Price Range: $143 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Chumbi Mountain Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chumbi Mountain Retreat is located in Naku-Chumgbung, a village below Pelling in West Sikkim. It is a unique resort for nature lovers in a natural environment. The resort stands tall with its unique monastic structure which is an eye catcher for every new visitor. The structure gives the resort a very traditional heritage ambiance, and a feel of Sikkimese tradition and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Chumbi Mountain Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chumbi Mountain Resort & Spa Pelling, Sikkim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing