We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent budget choice with great views.”
Review of Hotel Garuda

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pelling
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Garuda
Ranked #5 of 56 Pelling B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 26, 2013

This hotel a top recommendation in Lonely Planet and it does live up to the reviews. The most expensive room, Nima, at Rs 800 has excellent views of the Kanchenjunga range with a tiny balcony overlooking it. Other cheaper rooms (starting I think at Rs 300) are clean and adequate but can be tiny and without views. Very honest family runs the place with quick service for any maintenance issues (my bathroom faucets were leaking and they repaired it as soon as I pointed it out). Good location as well, right next to the Jeep drop-off.

The only con is an extremely slow kitchen, so be prepared for slow food service.

Room Tip: The Nima room has excellent views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tejas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (99)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 99 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2013

It was off season between 15th to 18th Nov and we were offered the best room "Nokura" @ Rs.1800 per night. Its a suite with huge rooms. You can see Kanchanjangha from bed. The restroom separates the bed room and the dining section. There is even a balcony that opens roadside (3rd floor). The bedroom overlooks mountains (unobstructed view). Simply awesome.

We were 5 friends, within minutes of check in they arranged extra beds (at no extra charge), around 10 quilts, around 12 pillows, and extra care of all our demands.

Govind is very helpful. His family stays there too. He has a cute son, with whom we spend long time. There is a good collection of books, and a small but cozy lobby. The restaurant food is very tasty; service is prompt and its well decorated. You will definitely enjoy the hot sip of coffee there.

The only issue we had was the hot water tap was jammed. Govind however repaired it in minutes. The hotel manager even offered us use of the restroom from the adjacent suite.

The terrace is a bonus. If you plan you time of visit like us, you can even enjoy view of Kanchanjangha on a full moon night.

I fully recommend Garuda.

Room Tip: Go for the Suites - Nomura or Pema. Nomura is better. I am not sure about view available from low f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AurobindoSaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is a centrally located at upper pelling with awsome views from our room(family suite at top floor).very very good room service by the hotel boys(specially govind).price was 2400 for the family room(on the higher side for this budget hotel).rooms were spacious,with tv and geaser with runnig hot water.overall good experience!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Koelina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Pelling is in Sikkim and nearly every visitor comes here basically to have a look at Kanchanganga peak, as the best view one gets is from Pelling. Its a tiny little village with seasonal tourism. There aren't many places to stay around And Hotel Garuda is one of the better ones. As it is located right in the main intersection of roads I was a bit skeptical to stay there for the road noise. But quickly found out that Garuda is certainly a better choice.

My stay there of 4-5 days was very peaceful and the family which runs the place was very welcoming and warm. There is a lovely café on the ground floor with a beautiful fire place and one can site there reading Kindle or a book from a small library they have there.

They were glad to organize cars for me to travel around and the drivers and the cars were very reliable. Food was good and I had a lovely look at the magnificent Kanchanganga peaks on the 4th day of my stay there. First 3 days the peaks being in clouds!

I needed heater for the room which was provided at a basic cost and they invited some local people to meet me once they knew more about me. It was really good stay and everything there!

Room Tip: Try to get a room with the view of Kanchanganga peaks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmmDee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We visited the hotel previous year and this hotel just made our trip...its offers such a wonderful view of the kanchanjungas directly from your bed..we watched the sunrise at 5am in the morning, with 2degrees of outside temperature without even leaving the bed and the blanket..rooms are good but there are places of improvement..bathrooms are clean and the room service was excellent...the hotel owner was very much co-operating and he himself made all the arrangements for our local tours...The place was very peaceful and the food quality was good and tasty...in all it was a wonderful stay...

Room Tip: choose room "nima" for the excellent view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MADHULIMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

centre place at upper pelling...owner Mr.tshering and his wife sumitra aunty are very helpful..food is nice...inexpensive....so its a thumps up for hotel Garuda....if you are lucky enough you may experience the exelent view of Mt. kanchanjunga....we were lucky to watch the life time experience.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dataranil3359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Wake up in room 19, write down what you want for breakfast, hand it in at reception, back to the room to open the double windows, stare awe struck at the amazing view in front of you...oh and if you can tear your eyes away nibble on your tea and toast. The Garuda hotel created a beautiful and peaceful environment to add to a perfect honeymoon. The food in the restaurant was delicious and freshly cooked, the service always with a smile. And to top it off we were presented with white silks when we left. Thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank homicidalhobbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pelling hotels
1.3 mi away
Delight Hotels The Touristo
0.3 mi away
Himalayan Retreat & Resort
Himalayan Retreat & Resort
#15 of 20 in Pelling
99 reviews
0.3 mi away
Summit Newa Regency
Summit Newa Regency
#7 of 20 in Pelling
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Rabdentse Residency
Rabdentse Residency
#9 of 20 in Pelling
213 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Takura
Hotel Takura
#10 of 20 in Pelling
32 reviews
0.3 mi away
Floret Pelling
Floret Pelling
#27 of 56 in Pelling
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Garuda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garuda

Address: Pelling 737113, India
Location: India > Sikkim > West Sikkim > Pelling
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Pelling
Price Range: $10 - $31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Hotel Garuda Pelling, Sikkim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing