We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pathetic experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Kabur

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pelling
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Kabur
Ranked #14 of 51 Pelling B&B and Inns
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“pathetic experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

We booked 2 rooms in advance for 2 days ... hence expected that rooms would be in place
and clean ... however while reaching there were surprised and found one of the room dirty and not cleaned ...
pathetic experience ... rooms are not maintained properly and are just okay sort of ... if no other option avaibale then Kabur
can be an option to stay ... psot evening just beware of moths and other bugs .. they just come from anywhere. food is very spicy.
The chairs on roof are very much different from what it is shown in site pictures. Those are currently used for sitting
of their digs and to feed them, The restaurent itself is not maintained properly and very shabby.
However staffs there try their best to serve and help but overall maintainance is very bad. Next day morning itself we had to change
our hotel.

Room Tip: hotels near upper pelling taxi stand are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank saurav1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    27
    6
    4
    7
See reviews for
10
20
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Heilbronn
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

... however it is not - or not anymore or temporarily not. The building is nice has a roof terrace with a good view of the himalayans (when it is not cloudy), the rooms are nice made with wood on the walls and also wooden furniture. There are nice plants (mainly orchids) on the terrace and everywhere. It feels like a nice place. We stayed here twice, before and after trekking.

The first time, our room was not properly cleaned. The bed was made nice, but it was used blankets. There weas dirt and hair from previous travellers everywhere in the bathroom. The towel was still wet (and not the wet from everything being humid). I convinced my wife that this was probably just a one time mistake, that they hurried up with cleaning because a lot of people showed up at the same time. The first stay was ok with some problems however. The food in the restaurant was ok in the beginning and it changed to just taste like warm ketchup later.

The second stay was really horrible. The room was even more dirty, the dust bin was still full of previous waste - the rooms just don't get cleaned. Usually you get a soap - we didn't have one they told they would bring one - which did not happen. There was an old used glass around - they did not take it and did not bring a clean one. In the early (4 am) morning time people talked really loud on the phone in front of our window so we woke up.

Most of this problems can be traced back to the fact that the nice owner deepesh is not there and that his nephew runs the guesthouse. I don't know how old he is, but he and the roomboys are very immature and make you feel weird, when they keep laughing when you pass. They really don't give any effort in to that nice place. Whenever the real owner was there (10% of the time) they behaved like nice staff, when he was gone they stopped cleaning and were just busy with them growing up.

The worst was, that the second stay we agreed on a price and took the room and when we payed, the boy insisted on more money. We refused to pay more. He did not apologize and tried to make us feel like it was our fault and we should be happy to pay less. Usually they offer to you to give your breakfast order in the evening when you leave early in order for it to be ready in the morning. After we had the payment disaster we asked the nephew for breakfast and he just said in a powdy way "I don't know if I am up, I like sleeping late, so maybe order in the morning if we are there". Nice... we did not have breakfast this morning then.

I am really sure, that this can be a nice place and I understand positive reviews given here. But right now this place is not recommendable at all. I don't know why the owners weren't there - I am sure it would be different if they were there or if their staff was instructed better.

Room Tip: Check triple the bed sheets and the bathroom for cleanliness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Treewave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pelling hotels

Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

The room was comfortable and the water hot. It's a family operation. The kids, a boy and a girl in their mid teens, provide the customer service (when they aren't at school). The restaurant includes a rooftop area, ringed with potted orchids.
The view would be spectacular if the cloud cleared.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sundwnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tofte, Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

This is a great traveler hang out in a "town" that is basically a string of hotels. If you spend any time in the cafe, you'll definitely have "what are you doing india" conversations with travelers from all over the world, and you can get good tips on what to do in Sikkim. The rooms are cozy and reasonably priced and clean. The restaurant has GREAT food, slightly pricier than other places in India, but that could just be because Sikkim is far away from everything. The honey banana pancake and porridge and veg fallay were welcome changes to the omelet and toast breakfast options so common everywhere else. The staff could not be friendlier and the deck (when the weather is nice) is awesome. A big thanks to Depeche, Pukar, Suesant and the great cooks in the kitchen for making our stay so nice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toftegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

Simple n clean room. Also got hot shower after al day travelling. The views from the room and also from cafeteria outside in the morning were just amazing. Got some good shots!! The food is quite good too. The soup was tasty n large portions. Try the Hit beer :)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mohan_dub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2012

... you get a great view of Mount Kabur across the valley. You also get Kanchenjunga and other magnificent peaks. On a grey day, you get ...... lots of cloud. The hotel is justifiably well-reviewed in Lonely Planet. Glad to report it has maintained standards - both the rooms and the restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aginippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2011

I spoke with the hotel manager, he showed me the rooms and I picked one of them. I went out to pick my bags from the jeep (10 mins both ways). On the way towards jeep stand I saw new people coming towards hotel (another jeep arrived). When I came back with the bags I saw the room was given to these people. Manager told me he had forgotten it had been booked the day before, and showed me the blank piece of paper with such line: room 107 booking. Totally pathetic. I assumed they just offered more cash. I asked the woman directly in frot of the manager if she had booked the room. She said she didn't want to get into this issue.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Max D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pelling hotels
0.4 mi away
Summit Newa Regency
Summit Newa Regency
#6 of 19 in Pelling
3.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
1.1 mi away
Himalayan Retreat & Resort
Himalayan Retreat & Resort
#11 of 19 in Pelling
3.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rabdentse Residency
Rabdentse Residency
#5 of 19 in Pelling
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Delight Hotels The Touristo
0.6 mi away
The Elgin Mount Pandim, Pelling
0.4 mi away
Norbu Ghang Resort
Norbu Ghang Resort
#2 of 19 in Pelling
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kabur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kabur

Property: Hotel Kabur
Address: Upper Pelling | Upper Pelling, Pelling 737113, India
Location: India > Sikkim > Pelling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Pelling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Hotel Kabur Pelling, Sikkim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing