We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cozy and friendly hotel with excellent view”
Review of Hotel Sonamchen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Sonamchen
Ranked #2 of 51 Pelling B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
321 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
“Very cozy and friendly hotel with excellent view”
Reviewed April 15, 2012

One of the best hotels to stay with families/ single/ groups. The hotel is in the center of the town and close to tourist office and other shops. Situated in height, hence the outside views are even more wonderful. The best part of this hotel is the good view of the beautiful Kanchanjunga Mountains. All the rooms have nice balconies which has a wonderful view of the mountains and the valley. The Hotel has no covered parking but has space to park about six cars, just in front of its entrance. We were even given a good discount on room rate.
The rooms are not excellent but alright. Another best thing worth mentioning is the excellent attitude of the staff. They always obliged what we asked for and served excellent food which is always piping hot and also tasty. One evening I have asked for fried momos. Though they were not available at that time, they brought it immediately from outside and did not pester me for the money. The room service is very fast and the serving staff is always with smile. I can say the views from balcony and the food served here are the major attractions in this hotel. I will go again and stay in this hotel for both the above reasons.
On the whole, the hotel is a good option for the budget traveller and for both long and short stays.

Room Tip: Allmost all rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Usha65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    30
    16
    4
    6
See reviews for
53
30
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2011

First - Wonderful view of Kanchendjonga from the bed itself. The window was large and planned so to accommodate the mighty mountain to be viewed from your bed.
Second - The furnishing was clean and the room was spacious and well maintained.
Third - The staff were forever smiling and helpful
Fourth - The food, though not out of the world was fresh and hot. Efforts were made to cater to Special requests for my child.
Fifth - The location of the property is well located outside the chaos of lower Pelling and adjacent to the play gound where I enjoyed a game of cricket with the local youth.
Room for improvement - The heater given to us in Dec 10 chill had only one filament working instead of 2 and it was replaced only the next morning.
Added plus - The Bonfire lit by them on 31st December to usher in the New Year and the honour bestowed by offer the khada (white silk scarf) to us.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kaushik_Chatterjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhubaneswar
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2011

Positive Points: Fabulos view of Kanchendjonga, Extremely good , courteous and friendly staff, very reasonable rates, reasonably good food

Improvement required: Room maintenance
Obverall experience : Excellent
Stayed - With family in October 2011

Room Tip: Choose upper floor rooms like 501, 502, having view of Kanchendjonga
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MKBP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2010

Overall experince was bad....
Kanchanjunga view from hotel room was good..

Worst Experience: Room service was not there..
rooms were not well maintained( so much flies over there)..
Veg food is not available...you have to walk about 1km to get vegetarian food..

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sudhindra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pelling hotels
0.2 mi away
Summit Newa Regency
Summit Newa Regency
#7 of 19 in Pelling
237 reviews
0.1 mi away
Norbu Ghang Resort
Norbu Ghang Resort
#2 of 19 in Pelling
274 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rabdentse Residency
Rabdentse Residency
#8 of 19 in Pelling
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Elgin Mount Pandim, Pelling
0.6 mi away
The Chumbi Mountain Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
Himalayan Retreat & Resort
Himalayan Retreat & Resort
#15 of 19 in Pelling
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sonamchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sonamchen

Property: Hotel Sonamchen
Address: Helipad Ground, Pelling 737113, India
Location: India > Sikkim > West Sikkim > Pelling
Amenities:
Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Pelling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Sonamchen 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Hotel Sonamchen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sonamchen Pelling, Sikkim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing