We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Life-time Experience !!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Elgin Mount Pandim, Pelling

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Elgin Mount Pandim, Pelling
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Pelling
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Life-time Experience !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

We visited Mt. Pandim Hotel while we were in Sikkim in December 2013.
Stayed for 2 days 1 night.
They welcomed us with their traditional welcome cloth and a shot of cherry wine, which was too good. It also has a good fire place which was useful to warm ourselves in freezing cold.
If you're a book reader, you can get the books to read.
There are 2 big dogs which are in the gardens. I have never ever seen such huge dogs !!
The hotel is located aptly and has great view of Mt. Kanchendjonga from its lush green gardens.
Also, the food is awesome. Wifi connectivity is OK in the rooms.
Staff is well-behaved and we had no complaints whatsoever.
To sum it up - it was a great experience and a Big thumbs up from us.

Room Tip: Select a room which has direct view of Mt. Kanchendjonga from your balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vishal D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElginGuestRelations, General Manager at The Elgin Mount Pandim, Pelling, responded to this review, November 3, 2014
Dear Vishal!

We really appreciate and thank you for the details of your feedback . We are sure it will be of great help to our potential guests who read your review in the near future . Our Snow dogs (Mickey and Rose) would be delighted to see u again on your next visit .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    122
    23
    7
    5
See reviews for
192
165
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

I stayed there during last week of June. This is the best Elgin among all Elgin properties. Beautifully maintained...really a 5 star property. The view from the Mt. Pandim is just breath taking...I felt like this place is out of the world..just heaven. One can feel the blessings of nature at this place.

The staff was also very kind enough and cooperative. Delicious food. I'd like to visit this place again. Truly mesmerizing...!!!

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ankur272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElginGuestRelations, General Manager at The Elgin Mount Pandim, Pelling, responded to this review, November 3, 2014
Dear Ankur !

Thank you so much for your positive feedback . I will convey your appreciation of our property to my team at the hotel.

Once again we would like to thank you for choosing the Elgin Mount Pandim as your preferred hotel of stay . We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us especially the views of the snow capped himalayas from your room and the ambiance , food and service standards of the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

I stayed there for 3D/2N, had a wonderful experience with Elgin..
Staff, food, was really great!!!
But the Best part was the Location(view of Kanchanjunga).
Very peaceful place, Value for money., Loved it!!

Room Tip: Best for Honeymooners!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank siddharth c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElginGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Elgin Mount Pandim, Pelling, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Sir !
We thank you for choosing the Elgin Mount Pandim as your preferred hotel of stay . We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us especially the views of the snow capped himalayas from your room and the ambiance , food and service standards of the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

monsoon trip n freezing cold it was..so beautifull this hotel is..full heritage experiance it was..lush green gardens..snow clad view of mt kunchunjenga from our room..heaven feeling..Staying in a hotel like Elgin Mount Pandim is itself an experience which you can cherish forever. friendly staff and delicious hot food..do not go anywhere just stay here n njoy this property..
i would love to visit this place with the same room again n again every year just to spend some time in this hotel..
good job to the soo friendly staff..
it was indeed a memorable experience..!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rsid2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElginGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Elgin Mount Pandim, Pelling, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Sir !
We thank you for choosing the Elgin Mount Pandim as your preferred hotel of stay . We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us especially the views of the snow capped himalayas from your room and the ambiance , food and service standards of the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

This is the first Elgin group of hotels i have visited. The hotel is located beautifully and is a heritage property. You can view the Kanchenjunga from the room and trust me it looks beautiful. The hotel staff is good and helpful. The food needs improvement. The rooms are good and the stay is comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank siddharthmehta2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElginGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Elgin Mount Pandim, Pelling, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Sir !
We thank you for choosing the Elgin Mount Pandim as your preferred hotel of stay . We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us especially the views of the snow capped himalayas from your room and the ambiance , food and service standards of the hotel.

We wish you a great journey ahead and a safe trip back home and we look forward to having you over with us again in the near future .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sibsagar, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

Staying in a hotel like Elgin Mount Pandim is itself an experience which you can cherish forever.
The location of the hotel is simply amazing and put most of the so called view points for snow clad Himalayan mountain range to shame. You can have a very very clear & close view of mighty Himalayan range including Mt. Kanchenjunga from this hotel while sipping morning/afternoon cup of tea in the lobby or garden which is breathtaking.
The service of the hotel is very efficient & friendly and the buffet breakfast/dinner is elaborate and i personally thank the hotel management for serving mainly the Indian dish in the dinner.
Overall a very memorable experience for me & my family and to all nature lovers if u want to go to pelling do stay in this Elgin Property & trust me it worth the extra premium charged by the hotel. Whole heartedly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jones_1717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElginGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Elgin Mount Pandim, Pelling, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Sir !
We thank you for choosing the Elgin Mount Pandim as your preferred hotel of stay . We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us especially the views of the snow capped himalayas from your room and the ambiance , food and service standards of the hotel.

We wish you a great journey ahead and a safe trip back home and we look forward to having you over with us again in the near future .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014

Elgin Mount Pandim Pelling Hotel is an amazing place to stay with serene surroundings, friendly staff and delicious piping hot food. 3 nights is minimum what you should spend here, and possibly I would suggest if you are nature lover do not go anywhere else, stay here and enjoy the property and the surroundings.

Normally people do Pelling and may be 1 or 2 more hill stations such as Kalimpong (a place to be avoided, no sight seeing, highly commercial and dirty hill station) for people who yet to discover the North Bengal & Sikkim hill stations should couple Gangtok with Pelling or Darjeeling with Pelling.

You may take day trips for which the travel desk can help you or you can also pre book on your own through your agent or any agent in Siliguri/Sikkim, prices may vary a bit from different agents.

Do not keep the car all through which you hire from Siliguri, instead hire a car from a travel guy in Sikkim throughout from pick up to drop at Siliguri station/airport as the bengal registration cars are not allowed up for sight seeing, so you will end up hiring two cars which will be a waste. You must stress on providing you with a calm driver and a good condition car as the Sikkim drivers are very rough in driving and their attitude.

Hope the above information will help you plan better. All the best & enjoy your holidays!!!!

Room Tip: Garden view rooms on higher floors are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ViineetK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElginGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Elgin Mount Pandim, Pelling, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Sir !
We thank you for choosing the Elgin Mount Pandim as your preferred hotel of stay . We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us especially the views of the snow capped himalayas from your room and the ambiance , food and service standards of the hotel.

We wish you a great journey ahead and a safe trip back home and we look forward to having you over with us again in the near future .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pelling
1.3 mi away
Norbu Ghang Resort
Norbu Ghang Resort
#2 of 19 in Pelling
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Chumbi Mountain Retreat & Spa
1.3 mi away
Summit Newa Regency
Summit Newa Regency
#7 of 19 in Pelling
3.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.3 mi away
The Elgin Nor-Khill, Gangtok
37.6 mi away
Rabdentse Residency
Rabdentse Residency
#5 of 19 in Pelling
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
17.9 mi away
The Elgin, Darjeeling
The Elgin, Darjeeling
#3 of 94 in Darjeeling
4.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elgin Mount Pandim, Pelling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elgin Mount Pandim, Pelling

Property: The Elgin Mount Pandim, Pelling
Address: Monastery Road | Pemayangtse, Pelling 737113, India
Location: India > Sikkim > Pelling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Pelling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Elgin Mount Pandim, Pelling 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once the summer retreat of the royal family of Sikkim, this Heritage property is now a luxury boutique hotel. Each bedroom in the hotel offers magnificent views of the snow capped mountains and peaks; a unique and personal tryst with the Himalayas. Set in eight acres of virgin forest and landscaped gardens, it invokes the old charm of its first owners - the royal family of Sikkim - and offers a peaceful retreat with a glorious view of the Singalila range. The 300 year old Pemayangtse monastery is right next to the resort on a verdant hill top covered by moist temperate Oak forests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Elgin Mount Pandim, Pelling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Elgin Mount Pandim, Pelling Sikkim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing