We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Explore other options”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Apple Valley INN

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Apple Valley INN
Ranked #1 of 17 Lachung B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Explore other options”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Yak & Yeti tours had booked here for one night. Except a great view of the mountains this "hotel" does not have much else going for it. The room was depressing with flimsy wooden partitions and dim lighting. House keeping was terrible because the mattresses were stained and the bathroom still had items left behind by the previous occupants. The flush was broken and the whole bathroom was wet because of it. The food was just about edible. The only redeeming factor was the staff who were very friendly. We got a room in the back of the hotel. The rooms in the front looked better maintained. Though there are not many options in Lachung, I am sure you will find something better than this. Avoid it if you can.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Roshni S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    28
    6
    4
    4
See reviews for
31
16
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed at the Apple Valley Inn, Lachung for 2 nights during May, 2013. The property is located on the Yumthang Road and has excellent views of the Lachung Valley.

We found the double room very small and in bad shape. The room and the bathroom reminds one of a government hospital as well as a jail barrack (you can listen to all your neighbor talks and does). The atmosphere is so suffocating that one would like to stay out.

We found the staff very kind, friendly, and hospitable. They also serve you very good food. These two are the real plus points.

Despite great staff, we would be reluctant to return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose the bigger rooms (3-4 beds) even if you are only a couple. They are bigger than the double ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arun_Murthy_65a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

This place is right by the side of main road. We stayed here for 2 nights in April. Given the remoteness of Lachung I would rate this place great. The rooms are small but enough for a family with 2 kids. Bathroom has geyser and electricity was there most of the time, which was great. No room heater but the blankets were sufficient. No TV. Service is excellent, chef Uttam makes great food. The other staffs were very helpful with requests for the kids (warm milk, fries etc.). View from the hotel is awesome, snow capped mountain on the west and stiff wall like mountain on east and a waterfall visible from the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kkaviraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kolkata
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

As Lachung is located very remotely one cannot expect much from the Hotels. The choice for food is not very flexible. The rooms are mostly available on AP (including food).The food is cooked only for the staying guests with their prior consultation. Although they try their level best to satisfy you.It is always suggested to take AP rooms or else one may have to compromise on hunger due to nonavailability of grocery. The rooms are good enough according to the location.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rohansur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calcutta, West Bengal, India
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Apple Valley Inn is situated in front of a valley overlooking a green mountain and a snow capped peak beyond it. In short the view in front will just take your breath away. Lachung is a remote village in north Sikkim hence one can not expect 5 start facilities over here. Apple valley inn does a pretty decent job of providing you with basic amenities like a geyser, clean toilets and clean sheets to sleep on at night. The rooms are not very big in size and are made mostly of wood. The rooms share common walls made of wood and hence you can hear what is going on in the adjacent room. Also lachung is a place for frequent power cuts hence it is advisable to carry a flashlight with you. The room is provided with candles and matchsticks though. The place is very cold even in May so you could opt for a heater at night. Of course there is a small charge for the heater.

The food at this place is excellent and the best thing about the food is that it is served steaming hot! The staff is very friendly and they even wake you up in the morning if you tell them to do so for your trip to Yumthang, Katao and zero point.


P.S. The address provided by tripadvisor says lachung 700012 but its actually Kolkata-700012. The booking office is located in kolkata.

52/1B/1 B.B.Ganguly Street,
Kolkata-700012

Room Tip: Check the geyser in the room before you check in. Opt for valley view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Priyankar78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed here for a night during our North Sikkim trip. What this place lacks in creature comforts, it more than makes up with the warmth and hospitality of the staff. In a place as remote as Lachung, apple valley inn does a decent job of providing accommodation, which although not top class, does pass muster. The rooms though not very big, are cosy and clean. Power cuts are frequent here, and the staff anticipating this had very thoughtfully provided us with candles, which meant that we did not have to blunder around in the dark. Also note, the rooms are not exactly soundproof and share a common wall with the neighbouring rooms. The food provided is excellent, both in terms of quality and quantity. The cook/room boy Uttam is a delightful chap, who impressed us with his hospitality, which stems from the heart rather than from any training on etiquette. All in all, not a bad choice for a night`s accommodation.

Room Tip: Really not much to choose from. All rooms are similar and share a common balcony at the back. Since...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ashokb83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lachung
0.5 mi away
Yarlam
Yarlam
#1 of 6 in Lachung
227 reviews
0.3 mi away
Etho Metho by RightClique
0.4 mi away
Delight Hotels Royal Lachung
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Tenzing Retreat
Tenzing Retreat
#6 of 6 in Lachung
58 reviews
12.3 mi away
Apple Orchard Resort
Apple Orchard Resort
#1 of 9 in Lachen
133 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Lachung Continental
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apple Valley INN? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apple Valley INN

Property: Apple Valley INN
Address: Faka Lachung | North Sikkim, India, Lachung, India
Location: India > Sikkim > Lachung
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Lachung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hotel Apple Valley INN is in Northeast Sikkim town Lachung, near the border with Tibet, covered by mountain village, at a height of 8610 ft, embraced by snow capped mountain peaks. To visit this destination please fill free to contact Magellan Tours & Travels ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Apple Valley INN reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apple Valley INN Lachung, Sikkim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing