We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place (The best in Lachung)”
Review of Yarlam

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Yarlam
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Lachung
Certificate of Excellence
Pune
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice place (The best in Lachung)”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Lachung is a place which is surrounded by snow capped mountains and a river flowing through it. Its a place en route to Yumthang Valley and Zero Point. We were in Yarlam from 6th to 8th June. After a 7 hour bumpy & scary ride from Gangtok we reached Yarlam by 8:00 pm (avoid traveling in the dark, because of the fog/clouds there was hardly any visibility) it was cold (say about 8 to 10C). After dinner we went out for a stroll, although it was cold the only sound of the river flowing near by made us wait outside for a while.
Our room was a Deluxe non valley view room (it was spacious,clean & warm) a passage from the stairs connecting the other rooms went from our rooms door and the windows of our room opened right in that passage (i didnt like the idea of windows opening in the passage). Although the windows were covered properly by curtains, there could be enough scope of voyeurism if not properly covered. Bathrooms were clean enough, hot water was available in the morning from i guess 6 to 8:30 am, but 1 would have to wait for at least half an hour in between 2 consecutive baths (so better plan your baths accordingly).
The food was decent. The staff was also friendly, in fact i enjoyed talking to the staff at the counter, they told me about the life at lachung and a few local stories. The staff in the restaurant is also friendly. The view of the surrounding valley from the top floor of the hotel is scenic, you could see snow covered mountains if the sky is clear enough.
Overall a nice experience, would like to visit again.

Room Tip: Book a valley view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rohan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    80
    33
    7
    3
See reviews for
128
65
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
mumbai
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

we reached yarlam around 8 in te evening.... after a tiring journey from gangtok..hungry n cold we were greeted with a hostile staff at the front desk who were more concerned about the children who they said were not mentioned in the booking..which we clearly didnt agree..but due to no internet or phone connectivity couldnt prove..so finally aft agreeing to pay additional charges we went on to look at our rooms....all only basic n nothing much for wat they charge...
.buffet ws absolutely unpalatable..n as cold as te place..
te next morning we were quite eager to hv a nice look at te valley from our rooms but to our shock te rooms on te ground floor only stared at blank walls....but te beauty of te place quite made up for this as we went out on a small walk n came back quite enchanted....te nxt day aft our ardeous journey n bac to zero point....we were quite shocked to see all our luggage moved to 2 rooms frm te 5 room we held...wonder how any hotel cn do tat w/o te permission of te guest...
anyways any visitor goin to lachung hardly has a choice as the homestays surely wont provide basic amenities like heater,etc..so being undisputed in lachung ,yarlam is te only choice.... tho abolutely below average.

Room Tip: pl mention valley facing room.n abolutely no to gr floor rooms....
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vidya1407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gujarat
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

my room was valley view room. some insect living with me in this room, they have no pest control division or they took not ur complain seriously and bathroom is so terrible where u can't stand enough to take bath. only a good part is food. ohh yes, they charge for child play room...i saw first time in my life. staff of restaurant is very good and friendly.

Room Tip: on higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kbhsoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jigme79, Owner at Yarlam, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear sir,
Thank you for taking your time to review our resort. We have noted the points you have mentioned as to why our resort was not up to your expectation and we have also notified concerned departments regarding your grievances.
While we do appreciate genuine concerns being raised as it helps us maintain the level and quality of service, however whether the glass is "HALF FULL " or " HALF EMPTY"
is a matter of personal opinion.

Thank you and have a good day.

Regards,
Management, Yarlam resort, Lachung.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
49 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Lachung is another one night halt point (like Lachen village for visiting Gurudongmar lake) enroute to visiting 'Zero Point'.

Yarlam Resort Hotel, located in Lachung, offers true luxury for visitors.

We first visited Lachen and then proceeded for Lachung. Journey from Lachen to Lachung took around 4 hours. The journey was as always excellent as all trips in north Sikkim (ignoring the poor conditions of the road).

The resort has a grand reception that makes you feel welcome right from the moment you step in. Our check in was fast and smooth and were allotted rooms on 2nd floor. We had reserved non valley view facing rooms. The rooms yet had a good back side view of towering hills.
The rooms were spacious, clean, warm, inviting and cozy. To our surprise, each room had a TV with a good choice of channels. To genuinely explain better, we felt as though the rooms emanated warmth! I guess after staying across 4 hotels in trip, the rooms were 3 points better than our expectation and hence a good feeling.
The bed was very comfortable.
The dining room was big and very clean. The table linens did need a little cleaning. The menu spread was almost equivalent to a 3 star hotel in Mumbai. Breakfast had 3 options i.e. puri bhaji, south indian dish like idli and continental options like bread/ toast butter, baked beans, tetra pack juices, corn flakes etc. Lunch is unfortunately only chinese cuisine i.e. Noodles, fried rice etc. Dinner is a proper combination of Indian meal like soup, Phulka, 2 sabjis. dal, rice and khicdi, sweets etc. In short good filling meals.

The bathrooms are neat, clean and nicely designed. Hot water is supplied in the morning from 6:30 to 8:30 or so. Other option for hot water thru out day is thru geyser, but the capacity is good enough for one bath. For the 2nd person to enjoy this facility post morning hours is to for 30 minutes to allow geyser to warm up the icy cold water.

The hotel has a nice library and sufficient reading options. This helps in times of bad weather - as you are limited to spend the day in the hotel. They quite a good collections of DVD (English and Hindi) which are available on rentals - Rs 100 for each DVD. Rooms are provided with DVD players.

The top floor is the activity area equipped with Table Tennis Table, Snooker Table, Chess, Carom etc. My son and his friend enjoyed spending late evenings after dinner in the activity areas.

The room service is slightly sloppy in our terms but as compared to standards maintained in North Sikkim, it can be rated as excellent.

Again, as is the case all over North Sikkim neither Vodafone Nor Airtel had any connectivity. BSNL has some sought of connections, which disappeared for hours at times.

The hotel uses internet thru V-SAT (Video Satellite) which is very expensive and hence not made available for guests.

Had great 3 nights to stay and enjoyed the time all around. Overall an oasis located in small village surrounded by rugged mountain terrain - no doubt.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pinesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jigme79, Owner at Yarlam, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Sir,
Thank you for your wonderful review of our resort and we hope you give us an opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Warm regards,
Management @ Yarlam Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

All the while we were told Lachung is a remote place and hence the accomodation facilities there are a bit suspect and may not be up to the mark. Boy were those people wrong about Yarlam. It is a fantastic property and to maintain it at the place it is is a job well done by all those involved. Cleanliness, responsiveness everything was just about spot on.
One suggestion would be to improve upon the service in the restaurant. At times guests are kept waiting for too long and the buffet items go missing for a while. Other than that everything is great.
Loved the idea of playing music throughout the resort. The buddhist chants in the morning sounded heavenly. Thanks for a great 2 nights !!!

Room Tip: Go for the valley facing rooms if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Billy323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jigme79, Owner at Yarlam, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear sir,
Thank you for your wonderful feedback of our resort and we appreciate your time taken to do so. It is reviews such as yours that makes it so worth while for us, and to know that all our hard work and dedication have paid off.

Thank you once again and have a great day.

Regards,
Management,
Yarlam Resort, Lachung.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Level Contributor
94 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

The drive from Gangtok (around 130 kms) to Lachung takes around 5-6 hours. The drive is scenic & beautiful (with numerous streams and waterfalls on the way) and in some places adventurous too. Only SUVs are allowed and there is a reason for that too. Hats off to BRO (Border Road Organisation) for maintaining these roads at an altitude of around 10k-15k feet. The gangtok-lachung route will remind other famous routes including delhi-manali route, manali-leh route, adirapally-valparai route as well as hill routes in south indian hill stations.
As part of Sikkim trip for 2 weeks, I have been to all parts of Sikkim & North Sikkim, by far, is the best. Pls do not give it a miss. And if it is North Sikkim, Yarlam resort is the place to stay. Excellent resort, Fantastic service, Splendid location---This is Yarlam resort in Lachung. Views you get from the hotel is awesome. Service of the staff was great and food tasted good. No complaints on the menu items considering the location of the hotel. Room was spacious and clean with all required amenities. I stayed in a non valley room- however you do get the views of the valley at the back side. Library was a good time killer. They have some play rooms too where one can try indoor games. Overall, highly recommended place to stay. If you do not get rooms in Yarlam for your dates, I will suggest you to change your dates so as to stay here.
Also pls stay for minimum 2 nights in Lachung. Staying here for one night and doing sight seeing next day is very tiresome & one wont get to completely enjoy the stay here. Also you can start bit late at around 8.30 AM in the morning for sightseeing if you stay for 2 nights. If you stay here for one night, you need to start for sightseeing by minimum 6AM in morning.
Also pls note that only BSNL connection is available here. Majority of the times the landlines here do not work and you have to depend on mobiles of staff here for making any urgent calls. Do ensure to bring a BSNL connection in North Sikkim.
Also, pls enquire thoroughly before you start to North sikkim. The next day we returned from Lachung, we heard that the route was closed for almost two days because of heave rains and land slides.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dinesh_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jigme79, Owner at Yarlam, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Sir,
Thank you very much for your wonderful review of our resort and the place. It is indeed encouraging and motivating. Lachung is indeed one amongst the most beautiful villages that is adorned with the vista of snow caped mountains, astounding waterfalls and streams. This place of incredible splendur has been affirmed as the "most picturesque village of sikkim" by Joseph salton hooker in ' The Himalayan journal' 1855.
Thank you once again and have a good day!

Regards,
Management @ Yarlam Resort, Lachung.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

The drive from Gangtok to Lachung was scary to say the least. However, once you reach Yarlam at Lachung it was all worth it. Incidently there is a helipad just opposite to Yarlam for those who want to take a chopter ride.

The rooms were well appointed, the resturant has an excellent spread and the people were very friendly.

If at all I had a reason to complain, they refused me access to internet, even if I was willing to pay for it. They are connected through V Sat.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RamananSV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jigme79, Owner at Yarlam, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Sir,
Thank you for taking you time to review our property, and would also like to mention here that we really like the caption you have used to describe our town Lachung.
Regarding the internet usage, we have informed our concerned department and assure you that we will look into the possibilities.

Warm regards,
Management,
Yarlam resort, Lachung
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lachung
0.8 mi away
Etho Metho by RightClique
8.2 mi away
Tenzing Retreat
Tenzing Retreat
#6 of 6 in Lachung
3.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.1 mi away
Delight Hotels Royal Lachung
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
41.9 mi away
Rabdentse Residency
Rabdentse Residency
#8 of 19 in Pelling
4.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
18.9 mi away
Tamarind Residency
Tamarind Residency
#50 of 115 in Gangtok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.6 mi away
Apple Valley INN
Apple Valley INN
#3 of 17 in Lachung
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yarlam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yarlam

Property: Yarlam
Address: Lachung 737135, India (Formerly Mayfair Yarlam)
Phone Number:
Location: India > Sikkim > North Sikkim > Lachung
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Lachung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Yarlam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yarlam Lachung, Sikkim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing