We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True luxury”
Review of Yarlam

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Yarlam
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Lachung
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai
Level Contributor
49 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“True luxury”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Lachung is another one night halt point (like Lachen village for visiting Gurudongmar lake) enroute to visiting 'Zero Point'.

Yarlam Resort Hotel, located in Lachung, offers true luxury for visitors.

We first visited Lachen and then proceeded for Lachung. Journey from Lachen to Lachung took around 4 hours. The journey was as always excellent as all trips in north Sikkim (ignoring the poor conditions of the road).

The resort has a grand reception that makes you feel welcome right from the moment you step in. Our check in was fast and smooth and were allotted rooms on 2nd floor. We had reserved non valley view facing rooms. The rooms yet had a good back side view of towering hills.
The rooms were spacious, clean, warm, inviting and cozy. To our surprise, each room had a TV with a good choice of channels. To genuinely explain better, we felt as though the rooms emanated warmth! I guess after staying across 4 hotels in trip, the rooms were 3 points better than our expectation and hence a good feeling.
The bed was very comfortable.
The dining room was big and very clean. The table linens did need a little cleaning. The menu spread was almost equivalent to a 3 star hotel in Mumbai. Breakfast had 3 options i.e. puri bhaji, south indian dish like idli and continental options like bread/ toast butter, baked beans, tetra pack juices, corn flakes etc. Lunch is unfortunately only chinese cuisine i.e. Noodles, fried rice etc. Dinner is a proper combination of Indian meal like soup, Phulka, 2 sabjis. dal, rice and khicdi, sweets etc. In short good filling meals.

The bathrooms are neat, clean and nicely designed. Hot water is supplied in the morning from 6:30 to 8:30 or so. Other option for hot water thru out day is thru geyser, but the capacity is good enough for one bath. For the 2nd person to enjoy this facility post morning hours is to for 30 minutes to allow geyser to warm up the icy cold water.

The hotel has a nice library and sufficient reading options. This helps in times of bad weather - as you are limited to spend the day in the hotel. They quite a good collections of DVD (English and Hindi) which are available on rentals - Rs 100 for each DVD. Rooms are provided with DVD players.

The top floor is the activity area equipped with Table Tennis Table, Snooker Table, Chess, Carom etc. My son and his friend enjoyed spending late evenings after dinner in the activity areas.

The room service is slightly sloppy in our terms but as compared to standards maintained in North Sikkim, it can be rated as excellent.

Again, as is the case all over North Sikkim neither Vodafone Nor Airtel had any connectivity. BSNL has some sought of connections, which disappeared for hours at times.

The hotel uses internet thru V-SAT (Video Satellite) which is very expensive and hence not made available for guests.

Had great 3 nights to stay and enjoyed the time all around. Overall an oasis located in small village surrounded by rugged mountain terrain - no doubt.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pinesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jigme79, Owner at Yarlam, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Sir,
Thank you for your wonderful review of our resort and we hope you give us an opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Warm regards,
Management @ Yarlam Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    84
    34
    7
    3
See reviews for
135
65
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

All the while we were told Lachung is a remote place and hence the accomodation facilities there are a bit suspect and may not be up to the mark. Boy were those people wrong about Yarlam. It is a fantastic property and to maintain it at the place it is is a job well done by all those involved. Cleanliness, responsiveness everything was just about spot on.
One suggestion would be to improve upon the service in the restaurant. At times guests are kept waiting for too long and the buffet items go missing for a while. Other than that everything is great.
Loved the idea of playing music throughout the resort. The buddhist chants in the morning sounded heavenly. Thanks for a great 2 nights !!!

Room Tip: Go for the valley facing rooms if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Billy323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jigme79, Owner at Yarlam, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear sir,
Thank you for your wonderful feedback of our resort and we appreciate your time taken to do so. It is reviews such as yours that makes it so worth while for us, and to know that all our hard work and dedication have paid off.

Thank you once again and have a great day.

Regards,
Management,
Yarlam Resort, Lachung.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Level Contributor
94 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

The drive from Gangtok (around 130 kms) to Lachung takes around 5-6 hours. The drive is scenic & beautiful (with numerous streams and waterfalls on the way) and in some places adventurous too. Only SUVs are allowed and there is a reason for that too. Hats off to BRO (Border Road Organisation) for maintaining these roads at an altitude of around 10k-15k feet. The gangtok-lachung route will remind other famous routes including delhi-manali route, manali-leh route, adirapally-valparai route as well as hill routes in south indian hill stations.
As part of Sikkim trip for 2 weeks, I have been to all parts of Sikkim & North Sikkim, by far, is the best. Pls do not give it a miss. And if it is North Sikkim, Yarlam resort is the place to stay. Excellent resort, Fantastic service, Splendid location---This is Yarlam resort in Lachung. Views you get from the hotel is awesome. Service of the staff was great and food tasted good. No complaints on the menu items considering the location of the hotel. Room was spacious and clean with all required amenities. I stayed in a non valley room- however you do get the views of the valley at the back side. Library was a good time killer. They have some play rooms too where one can try indoor games. Overall, highly recommended place to stay. If you do not get rooms in Yarlam for your dates, I will suggest you to change your dates so as to stay here.
Also pls stay for minimum 2 nights in Lachung. Staying here for one night and doing sight seeing next day is very tiresome & one wont get to completely enjoy the stay here. Also you can start bit late at around 8.30 AM in the morning for sightseeing if you stay for 2 nights. If you stay here for one night, you need to start for sightseeing by minimum 6AM in morning.
Also pls note that only BSNL connection is available here. Majority of the times the landlines here do not work and you have to depend on mobiles of staff here for making any urgent calls. Do ensure to bring a BSNL connection in North Sikkim.
Also, pls enquire thoroughly before you start to North sikkim. The next day we returned from Lachung, we heard that the route was closed for almost two days because of heave rains and land slides.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dinesh_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jigme79, Owner at Yarlam, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Sir,
Thank you very much for your wonderful review of our resort and the place. It is indeed encouraging and motivating. Lachung is indeed one amongst the most beautiful villages that is adorned with the vista of snow caped mountains, astounding waterfalls and streams. This place of incredible splendur has been affirmed as the "most picturesque village of sikkim" by Joseph salton hooker in ' The Himalayan journal' 1855.
Thank you once again and have a good day!

Regards,
Management @ Yarlam Resort, Lachung.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

The drive from Gangtok to Lachung was scary to say the least. However, once you reach Yarlam at Lachung it was all worth it. Incidently there is a helipad just opposite to Yarlam for those who want to take a chopter ride.

The rooms were well appointed, the resturant has an excellent spread and the people were very friendly.

If at all I had a reason to complain, they refused me access to internet, even if I was willing to pay for it. They are connected through V Sat.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RamananSV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jigme79, Owner at Yarlam, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Sir,
Thank you for taking you time to review our property, and would also like to mention here that we really like the caption you have used to describe our town Lachung.
Regarding the internet usage, we have informed our concerned department and assure you that we will look into the possibilities.

Warm regards,
Management,
Yarlam resort, Lachung
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed in Yarlam Resort. Reached at 17.15 hrs , 23rd April'13. Were served hot tea on arrival as the temperature was 5-6 degree . The rooms were spacious and well maintained , clean , well done in all aspect. Room Heaters were there to make the stay comfortable. The tariff plan is AP but we ordered snacks in the evening which was served hot and good quality. Again the employees were found to be very friendly and cooperative, always there to help. Breakfast , lunch and dinner are all buffet . Location is beautiful with surrounding mountains clad with snow. The best place to stay in Lachung . Memorable stay ...... was there for 2 nights .

Room Tip: Ask for valley view rooms . Room standards are same , it is the view that matters. In case there are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anjan22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jigme79, Owner at Yarlam, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear sir,
Thank you for taking your time to review our resort, and we are glad that we were able to make your stay a memorable one.

Hope to see you again.
Regards,
Management at Yarlam resort, lachung.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
100 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

The drive to Lachung is full of Bumpy roads, greens on either side, hilly terrain but it is scenic and beautiful.
Yarlam Resort' belonged to the same group as our Lachen hotel. This resort seems very suave and enticing but unfortunately we are just overnight here.
Food quality is decent though non veg options are not many.
The kids games are all chargeable. Even TT is. The climate here is awesome. Location of the Hotel is terrific.
One of the best properties in North Sikkim.
Do not miss Zero Point and Yumthang valley.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShabbirBaldiwala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jigme79, Owner at Yarlam, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear sir,
Thank you for your feedback and we value the time you spared to do so. Although we generally advice most of our guests to spend minimum 2 nights at Lachung to fully enjoy the majestic landscape and heavenly beauty of Yumthang, occasionally we miss out on a few... like in your case. Hope you give us a chance to welcome you back again in the future and with our new hotel coming up in Gangtok as well... to give you a complete Yarlam experience in our small beautiful state Sikkim.

Warm regards,
Management @ Yarlam resort, Lachung.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

AFTER being driven through the treacherous pathways of NORTH SIKKIM all the day long we reached LACHUNG, contemplating was it worth to come all the way. no doubt the stops at SHIV -MANDIR and BHIM NALA were awe inspiring and enough to make us realise the lofty majesty of NATURE, and HIMALAYAS,the landslides were making us realise the brittle and still young nature of the rock formation in HIMALAYAS, still we reached HOTEL YARLAM by 1630 hrs IST, which was early dusk there, the hotel was nested in the snow covered peaks, as if it was being cushioned by the peaks as their precious child.
The staff was so helpful that offered first the cup of steaming hot tea and told us to relax and put our signatures only only on the forms which they had already kept ready in anticipation, a rare promptness which I noticed though most of the times my tours pre booked, but such an attitude is missing, every time you are on the reception desk for not less than 15 minutes.
The library was well stocked with books and periodicals and cosy enough to spend a couple of hours meaningfully.
Food was served in the well appointed Hall. In the remotest place too the spread was worth enjoying.The staff was eager to serve and help you with your needs. the day we were in the hotel, there were a big group of Japanese tourists hence their food tastes were also taken into consideration too,hence we could savour that flavour too.IF THESE VARIED THINGS CAN BE TAKEN CARE OF IN SUCH DISTANT AND FAR OFF PLACES IT IS A LESSON FOR HOTELS AT OTHER PLACES TOO.
Before going to bed when I enquired about hot water I was surprised that it was available even then because of centralised heating, hence I could retire after a hearty hot shower. In the night we were provided with hot water bags,despite the room had room heaters.

In the last I would like to emphasize and suggest that the hotel should make some arrangement for drivers who drive the guests that long, for I noticed that they were not very happy to drive the guests to YARLAM for this reason only. the management can charge the guests in someway or other or bear it any way.please think on it.

Room Tip: For better view choose rooms on upper floors, best view,crisp and fresh air guaranteed but be ready...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Santosh07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jigme79, Owner at Yarlam, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear sir,
Thank you for your wonderful review of our resort, it is indeed encouraging & appreciate your time taken to do so.
We have noted your advice and assure you that we will look into all possibilities.

Thank you once again and have a good day!

warm regards,
Management, Yarlam resort, Lachung.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lachung
0.8 mi away
Etho Metho by RightClique
8.2 mi away
Tenzing Retreat
Tenzing Retreat
#6 of 6 in Lachung
67 reviews
0.1 mi away
Delight Hotels Royal Lachung
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 mi away
Tamarind Residency
Tamarind Residency
#46 of 117 in Gangtok
62 reviews
12.6 mi away
Apple Orchard Resort
Apple Orchard Resort
#1 of 9 in Lachen
147 reviews
0.6 mi away
Apple Valley INN
Apple Valley INN
#3 of 18 in Lachung
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yarlam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yarlam

Property: Yarlam
Address: Lachung 737135, India (Formerly Mayfair Yarlam)
Phone Number:
Location: India > Sikkim > North Sikkim > Lachung
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Lachung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Yarlam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yarlam Lachung, Sikkim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing