We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spartan”
Review of Hotel Tiger Den

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sariska
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Tiger Den
Ranked #3 of 3 Sariska B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 4, 2012

The hotel is situated just outside the gates of the sanctuary. That's the best thing about it. Beyond it, the place has a small and neat lawn to boast of. Other than that, everything else is quite mediocre.

The food is simple and filling, satisfactory, but nothing to write home about. The service is generally slow and borders on apathetic. The elderly single waiter in the dining room and one or two others seemed to be the few helpful and hospitable members of the staff, the rest were content to chatter amongst themselves.

The rooms were in a state of disrepair, only a single dull light worked in our room, two others were not functional. Plug points were not working. Barely any channels were subscribed to in the TV.

However, the rooms were really cheap and there are not many options available so close to the sanctuary. Considering that one generally wont go to Sariska for a long stay, it makes sense to grin and bear the place, if you dont want to spend too much.

They don't serve alcohol, so get your own.

An evening function was organized by the hotel - some Rajasthani singers and dancers. Helps pass the time, but again nothing exceptional. Other than that there are no avenues of entertainment, so get your own books, games etc.

Room Tip: just choose the cheapest one
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tanmayamar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Tiger Den
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 101 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2012

As the title suggests, if you land up in Sariska only to focus on the Safari (that too brace yourself for ample of Cheetals and NeelGais, not much more), you may be ok to bunk at this place (max 1 night). Tardy, poor service, below average food (incl bad tea) are only some of the attributes of the place. The dining area makes you wish you were on a fast during the visit. Stock your knick-knacks on the trip - there is nothing much to eat for miles (and at least 3 of them on a non-existent potholed road). Only saving grace, its right next to be obviously neglected sanctuary which claims to have 5 borrowed tigers from Ranthambore (wonder if they were on their induction program as they were nowhere to be seen). As a photography enthusiast, I thankfully got a few good shots to make up for the disappointments all around.

Room Tip: Online booking is helpful
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mel-man-india
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2012

We stayed when it was cold at night. There was no heating available in our rooms. And no extra blankets. The staff seemed unable to do anything about it. Has a lovely garden . Very expensive for what you get . Inflexible booking policy means you can't change the dates without paying for the night. Being a government institution the staff just put the phone down on you once the rules are explained

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jeremy g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

A beautiful property owned & run by the Rajasthan Tourism Development Corpn. next to the gates of the Sariska Tiger Reserve, marred by poor maintenance, bad food, uninterested and listless people to look after guests (their interest levels perk up on the rustle of banknotes - large tips work wonders here!)

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SS-Shom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

This hotel is far off the main road, so there is nothing else around it. The grounds are pretty w/ their rose garden. The rooms are separate villas and they are nice.

However, my husband had some under cooked meat and fell ill for 2 days. So beware of what you eat.

The service staff was excellent.

The safaris themselves are a rip off. We paid extra to ensure we saw a tiger, and of course we did. However, we spent 45 min waiting for the tiger to come out of a watering hole after it ran in there after we saw it. We didn't see anything else and we just sat there. What a waste of money. If you pay them extra, they will take you to see the tigers on the first safari. For those of you who don't have time to waste.

Room Tip: It gets very chilly in the evenings during the winter months, so be sure to ask for a heater. The ho...
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rimen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2011

We stayed at RTDC Hotel Tiger Den which is located very close to Sariska Tiger Reserve booking office and entrance gate. It is in a very quiet and peaceful location, far from the city noise. It gives the feel of staying inside the forest. The hotel has spacious rooms, beautiful and well-manicured lawn, good, friendly and well mannered staff. Do not expect luxury but a good value for your budget. Small things need to be taken care of like providing hand tissues at the restaurant, keeping match box along with candle in the room. Good thing is that the safari jeep comes to the hotel to pick you up. The restaurant offers homely food but limited choice (buffet food), but you do not have other option. Very good location for family and group weekend trips.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing the lawn.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jvs2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2011

We traveled by car from Agra to Sariska--Got no help or assistance from the Tiger's Den managing staff over the phone, as to how to get there. It took us almost 5 and half hours and we were q clearly told enroute not to expect any food, but to eat and come!
We were 3 of us. Our handicapped 18 yr old daughter had to be carried upstairs and downstairs, as we had booked a non AC room and this was on the first floor. This was done willingly and very well by Pawan, the room service boy and waiter rolled into one!
The rooms look unkempt, shabby and are too full of furniture. Adding a third bed absolutely prevented space for movement.
The bathrooms could do with care on leakages and defined levels for bath, as the bathroom gets wet and dirty in minutes of use.
On the thumbs up side, food was simple but tasty.
The staff was friendly, but too laid back viz no proper info was given to us about the time of the morning rides .
The gardens are large and green so great to sit around. The upper rooms have balconies.
The location -- just near the forest is very convenient. Very important to note that all the other Hotels are at least 15 kms away, so it takes at least half an hour or more to reach the forest from them. Except for Sariska Palace which is a hi- fi Hotel (U need to pay Rs 500 to go inside to see it! )
On the whole we enjoyed our stay …… hope the friendly hotel staff starts looking after the rooms, so that the guests can have an average to great place to stay. At present it is below average.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kiran9mumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sariska
20.6 mi away
Sariska - Tiger Heaven, A Sterling Holidays Resort
3.9 mi away
Burja Haveli Hotel
Burja Haveli Hotel
#7 of 23 in Alwar
94 reviews
7.3 mi away
Alwar Bagh (Sariska) by Aamod
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Neemrana's - Hill-Fort, Kesroli
1.3 mi away
Hotel Aravali
Hotel Aravali
#9 of 23 in Alwar
98 reviews
34.2 mi away
Gulmohar Sariska Resort
Gulmohar Sariska Resort
#2 of 3 in Sariska
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tiger Den? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tiger Den

Address: Near Forest Rest House, Sariska 301022, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Alwar District > Sariska
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Sariska
Price Range: $71 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing