We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a stay to see the palace”
Review of Samode Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Samode Palace
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Samode
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Worth a stay to see the palace”
Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

The palace is beautiful. Check out the mirrored, intricate hall.

We had a beautiful room with a sweet little terrace overlooking the hills.

Worth the trek up the stairs for a high up room and/or view.

Wonderful, attentive staff. Good food in all the restaurants at the hotel.

Samode is a small, rural village and worth a walk around to experience something different to the bigger cities.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bunny-London25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    582
    146
    25
    16
    9
See reviews for
180
344
27
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

It's a beautiful experience to stay here, staff are lovely esp the young guy who work in the restaurant.

The room was huge and lovely designe, we were in one of their Suite rooms, we got a nice view of the pool and the mountain.
One of the managers guided us around the palace, this tour you MUST DO, the palace looks very secret and interesting and beautiful.

The food in their fine restaurant was lovely but the other one was ok. Thanks for the yummy drinks after our food in the fine restaurant.

If you have time, take a short trip yourself to explore the village in front of the hotel.

The reason we rate the hotel only 4 cos for some reasons, both of us didn't have a good sleep for both nights, it's not the hotel's fault but it was weird, maybe we travell too much and just too tired.

All in all, we still enjoyed our stay and thanks again guys for making our stay enjoyable

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sokny123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

This was a really great experience. In this Palace we felt like Maharajas. Wonderful place (garden, building, panorama). Our room was like a suite. Big, confortable, great. And the Bathroom... amazing. Large, beautiful with a bathtub in the middle, the showers on the right side the loo left. Hier we could see the backyards :).
We ate a lá carte. Excellent food with life music background. A dream.
The stuff was very friendly, helpful. It was the only hotel where we stood in India which has free hifi.

Room Tip: On the last floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renato M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papamoa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Everything about the stay here was exceptionally good and even borders on the superlatives used by other reviewers. Indeed it is an oasis in the desert, a haven of rest and serenity. The history and character of the Palace oozes from every courtyard, suite and just walking through the complex is uplifting. Until you come across the hard sell. Just when you thought you'd escaped the hawkers and rip-off merchants of India you are persuaded to take camel rides through the country-side and visit the fabulous Samode Resort. We specified camels when the choice between camels or a camel cart was given. A camel cart was duly despatched. A ride for over an hour in a back breaking journey over rough metal roads. A young lad attached himself to us and the hotel advised he would be with us for the duration. The cart was driven by another local. We were finally put down in a ramshackle village and virtually held ransom. Firstly our young 'friend' insisted we pay the camel driver (the hotel had arranged all this as an inclusive package we thought) and the 'friend' walking alongside us for the entire trip wanted us to buy his paintings. When I made it clear I didn't want to make a purchase, we were rudely dismissed and pointed in a general direction to find the 'Resort'. There was nobody there when we finally arrived apart from a few men putting up awnings and tables. I thought it was for us! On enquiry it was for a wedding the next day. We were further directed to the front of the 'Resort' where we were accused of not turning up for lunch. The hotel again had given us the choice of time and we'd elected late afternoon. We were given a cup of very mediocre coffee and stale piece of cake and that was it.

Another 'free' surprise came in the evening when a young boy invited us to see his puppet show. Just the two of us sat and watched the performance of about 10 minutes. It was cute, however after the final skit, we were faced with the 'hard sell' of his hand made puppets.

These two instances of commercial zeal by the locals were clearly endorsed by The Samode Palace. I did make a complaint to the 'assistant manager' and said it really let down the experience for us and I would be unable to rate the stay as 5 star.

Room Tip: Don't select a room facing into the courtyard. Very noisy in evening with loud tour groups clat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Why I choose the words "Jewel of Rajasthan" for Samode Palace can only be understood by visit and staying at this palace. One of the best Heritage Property and that's why numbers of awards received by this Palace Hotel (seen at Reception). When you start from Jaipur to reach this place, you may feel "Why I am going to Samode!" but once, you entered into the property, such thought never comes in your mind.... All hotel staff at your service. suggested by Travel Agent, very thankful to him. Must visit, if you want peace, views, heritage and 5 star services at one place.

Room Tip: Go for Suite Rooms..
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Sam_Mehta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
90 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

We deliberately took a detour to Samode before going on to Jaipur because we wanted to stay at this hotel. Despite a long drive and arriving in the dark, we were not disappointed. This is a wonderfully luxurious hotel in a beautiful location. We had a suite with views over the hillside. In addition to a large four poster bed there was an equally large "day bed" on which we could have lounged and watched TV if we had been so inclined. There was a huge bathroom with a free standing roll top bath as well a lovely separate shower. We had a choice of two restaurants, one serving the usual continental and Indian dishes and the other described as "fine dining". We opted for the latter just for the experience and enjoyed some very interesting dishes which were beautifully presented. The dining room was very well and tastefully decorated and service was excellent allowing for the fact that everything was prepared and cooked to order. The following morning, we ate our breakfasts in the "ordinary" restaurant. Somewhat to our surprise, the selection of dishes was a little more limited than in the Indian hotels we had stayed in previously but this did not prevent us from enjoying our breakfasts. After breakfast, we were shown round some of the hotel facilities including two swimming pools and one of the star features of the palace, the Hall of Mirrors. This is an amazing room with extraordinary wall and ceilng decoration and should not be missed. We also took a short walk outside the hotel down towards Samode village where we saw the gateway to a temple some 376 steps up a hill. We did not have time to visit this (thank goodness!) but we were given some information about it by a friendly local villager. We were also entertained by the antics of a troup of langour monkeys and a number of free ranging pigs!
All in all, this is a lovely hotel with exceptional facilities and we are very happy to recommend it unreservedly.

Room Tip: Unsurprisingly, the suites have the best views and facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DinnerLadies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

This hotel is wonderful. It has a lovely setting, friendly staff & beautiful rooms. We stayed in a suite, which was just gorgeous & with the nicest bathroom i have ever seen. The Indian food is also fantastic. Exclusive dinners & fires may be requested at beautiful locations around the hotel & grounds. The poolside menu is delicious as is the fine dining restaurant. One if the nicest hotels i have ever stayed in.

Samode Bagh nearby is also lovely, with simpler cabins but gorgeous gardens & incredibly peaceful. The only one i would completely avoid is the sister property Samode Haveli in Jaipur. Here the staff completely let the place down in terms of service, cleanliness & atmosphere. I is a shame they are related at all as the experience of both is not comparable. Every part of the experience at Samode Palace was wonderful, whereas the only positive experience at the Haveli was leaving.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Samode
18.9 mi away
Samode Haveli
Samode Haveli
#13 of 380 in Jaipur
1,182 reviews
20.3 mi away
Jai Mahal Palace
Jai Mahal Palace
#7 of 380 in Jaipur
2,000 reviews
23.3 mi away
The Oberoi Rajvilas
The Oberoi Rajvilas
#1 of 380 in Jaipur
1,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 mi away
Rambagh Palace
Rambagh Palace
#3 of 380 in Jaipur
1,678 reviews
5.7 mi away
Chomu Palace Hotel
Chomu Palace Hotel
#81 of 380 in Jaipur
236 reviews
19.7 mi away
Royal Heritage Haveli
Royal Heritage Haveli
#2 of 380 in Jaipur
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samode Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samode Palace

Property: Samode Palace
Address: Samode 302002, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Samode
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Samode
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Samode Palace 4.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Samode Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samode Palace Hotel Samode
Samode Palace Hotel Jaipur
Samode Palace Jaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing