We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply sensational”
Review of Samode Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Samode Palace
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Samode
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Simply sensational”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

This is a real gem. To get there you have to drive through a tiny village, but when you do arrive it's like a dream. This is a truly authentic palace - not full of mod cons, but lovingly restored to it's original glory. The architecture and decor is beautiful, and the rooms are just amazing. It's like a step back in time. Food is also very good, and service is faultless.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quinox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    584
    149
    25
    16
    9
See reviews for
181
345
27
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Its really a 5star hotel concerning the service and the atmosphere is unique. The swimming pool is great, the food is good. The rooms were very well decorated. You get the feeling of how to like live in a palace looks like.
We had a guided visit around the whole palace after having a great time in the swimming pool.
Everything was perfect. I honestly recommend to have this experience. Its another face of India apart from the poverty. The far best breakfast in India after traveling for 2 weeks.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margarida W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

A beautifully maintained palace located within the cool wind swept mountains of Samode (approximately 45 minutes from Jaipur by car). The rooms are tastefully furnished and the walls intricately hand painted by local artists from the adjacent village. The various halls, the mirror room and mutual gathering open plan areas are opulently decorated and painted.

The palace has two restaurants, one of which is fine dining only open in the evening. We attended lunch in the alternative restaurant (open for breakfast, lunch and dinner) and was priced to western standards; as we assumed prior. Breakfast was a particularly well delivered buffet style offering local and western selections.

We stayed in the maharaja room (possibly an upgrade) where I can think of nothing negative to comment on.

The staff were very eager to please and friendly.

The mountain behind the palace is a pleasant easy walk in the morning offering great views of the rugged yet beautiful mountain landscape. I would also suggest a walk through the local heritage listed village (with or without a guide- a guide can be found at the car park at any time) where you can observe blacksmiths making agricultural implements, watch resin bangles skillfully assembled then decorated and look at jewelers cut and polish an array of gems.

It would be beneficial to arrange a pick up from the palace prior to arriving, if you do not have the luxury of a driver. The palace will organise a taxi for you but it is extortionately expensive costing around US$ 65 one way to go 35 kilometers to Jaipur (you wouldn't even pay that in Sydney). This is the only negative element I can think of at the palace (which I consider my fault anyway).

Well worth the expense...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Samode is a little town with no words to describe how amazing it is, first we arived in camels si that was amazing, then you go up to the hotel and you arrive in to this amazing place with mountains all arownd the view is spectacular, te people are amazing and kind the food its great we wanted to stay one more day in the hotel but we had to leave to get to know other places

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renata D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Yes, The Royal Palace. The moment you enter the Gates you start feeling like a king, the way you are welcomed, the stairs you walk up, the feeling of being special starts seeping in. These guys know their job and have maintained the place immaculately with service with a smile on their face. One of the best destination wedding Venues in the world. My Son Got married here and I have only one word to say along with all the 140 guests we had "Magnificient" You can use all synonyms of this word for this place, their people and their service.

Room Tip: all rooms on the top floor. If you can spend a little more and stay in the Royal Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raajkap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brooklyn, NY
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

While we enjoyed our stay, in large part because of the isolation and remoteness of the hotel, an hour away from the raucus streets of Jaipur, and subsequently in the Samode Haveli in Jaipur itself, we feel that we were misled by the website advertising a third night free after a two night stay at either of the two hotels. This offer appears on the landing page of the website without any accompanying qualification such as "subject to conditions" or "click here for details". So upon checkout we discovered that we were being charged for the third night stay. Had we only just clicked on that offer, which "everybody" does according to the manager, we would have discovered that the offer is only available to Indian residents, by itself an offensive concept for a hotel in this price range. This fact was also not made apparent to us at the time of check-in when we indicated that we were interested in the three night offer.

No amount of discussion could get the manager to see our point of view and abate the charges, so we are submitting this negative review with an overall rating of "poor" in spite of our complete satisfaction with all other aspect of our stay. This type of advertising error would never be tolerated in the US or Europe, where any offer would have to be accompanied by an obvious disclaimer, not some hidden link that one would chance upon only by accident.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hrd2pleez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Samod is what every one wishes to be - A King in his own palace!! Its exquisite, its breathtaking, very refreshing and each step takes you centuries back in time.

We were a group of around 20 people, who went to stay with Samod, and our first evening we had High tea organized at a Sand Dune nearby. Our transport were majestic camels, till the foot of the dune, when we climbed - the view was simply regal - Royal servers, had set up kit flying, volley ball for sports, barbecue and tea were all prepared in front of us - without compromising on the tastes of any royal faimly!!

On reaching the palace - the second visual treat were the rooms...absolutely out of the world decor, paintings, bath tub to ward robes - it was a prince having a rest abode for each one of us!!

Samod also has a few of the royal cats living nearby and some times in the night, you can hear them on their prey - it all adds up to the experience!!

Finally the Palace has a majestic array of smaller and larger pools, breathtaking halls and a Sheesh Mahal (Glass Palace) - To sum it up - you are amidst the best money can buy!!

Room Tip: Each room is different - ask the staff to change the room every night !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anshumali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Samode
18.9 mi away
Samode Haveli
Samode Haveli
#12 of 381 in Jaipur
1,188 reviews
20.3 mi away
Taj Jai Mahal Palace Jaipur
19.7 mi away
Royal Heritage Haveli
Royal Heritage Haveli
#2 of 381 in Jaipur
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.3 mi away
Rambagh Palace
Rambagh Palace
#5 of 381 in Jaipur
1,698 reviews
5.7 mi away
Chomu Palace Hotel
Chomu Palace Hotel
#76 of 381 in Jaipur
239 reviews
19.8 mi away
ITC Rajputana, Jaipur
ITC Rajputana, Jaipur
#18 of 381 in Jaipur
3,442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samode Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samode Palace

Property: Samode Palace
Address: Samode 302002, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Samode
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Samode
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Samode Palace 4.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon and Booking.com so you can book your Samode Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samode Palace Hotel Samode
Samode Palace Hotel Jaipur
Samode Palace Jaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing