We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feel like "Your Own Country"”
Review of Samode Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Samode Palace
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Samode
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Feel like "Your Own Country"”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Samod is what every one wishes to be - A King in his own palace!! Its exquisite, its breathtaking, very refreshing and each step takes you centuries back in time.

We were a group of around 20 people, who went to stay with Samod, and our first evening we had High tea organized at a Sand Dune nearby. Our transport were majestic camels, till the foot of the dune, when we climbed - the view was simply regal - Royal servers, had set up kit flying, volley ball for sports, barbecue and tea were all prepared in front of us - without compromising on the tastes of any royal faimly!!

On reaching the palace - the second visual treat were the rooms...absolutely out of the world decor, paintings, bath tub to ward robes - it was a prince having a rest abode for each one of us!!

Samod also has a few of the royal cats living nearby and some times in the night, you can hear them on their prey - it all adds up to the experience!!

Finally the Palace has a majestic array of smaller and larger pools, breathtaking halls and a Sheesh Mahal (Glass Palace) - To sum it up - you are amidst the best money can buy!!

Room Tip: Each room is different - ask the staff to change the room every night !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anshumali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    575
    145
    25
    16
    9
See reviews for
176
342
26
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The ambience of Samode Palace is hard to beat. You can truly imagine what it was like to be a guest of the Maharajah back in the day. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay from the moment we arrived at the impressive entrance. The accommodation is glamorous, the 'rural' location a relief after the hustle of Jaipur, the incredible views, swimming pools and expansive terraces were all relaxing and the ability to wander through Samode Village a treat nearby. I'd highly recommend breaking your journey between India's larger cities with a night or two at Samode Palace.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SH-on-safari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

On a beautiful Rajasthan tour, we spent some days in the hotel.
It was a beautiful experience, the hotel is a magnificent palace, where each court yeard, each room reveals fantastic interiors and views.
The service is excellent, very nice and professional. The food is delicious.
We had the pleasure of spending the New Year's eve there, and everything was magnificent, including the firework!
The Spa is excellent as well, the Ayurveda treatments are very good.
Overall, a fantastic experience!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie_love2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Being our second trip to Samode Palace, the expectations were quite high, most of them got met with.
This place deserves to be nurtured, promoted and enjoyed by people who value heritage yet are a little choosy about the worldly comforts. It has the best of heritage and the best of comforts.

This review is basically a summing up of our two stays here, in July 2011 and recently, this month itself.

Accommodation :

Suites are superb, very luxurious, tastefully decorated, well appointed, furniture is period yet elegantly maintained. Linen is top-class,amenities and gadgets adequate. Each suite is unique, in it's interior decor as well as views it commands over the palace and the surrounding hill scape. Toilets are lavish, well-made and pretty large. Toiletries are great too.

Common areas :

Courtyards are lively,terraces are nice, restaurants are great too. Pools are worth visiting over and again, both the main pool, in all it's regal splendor and the terrace top with it's breathtaking encompassing hill side, lush green during the monsoons. The water was clean, pool side well maintained and towels etc easily available. The jacuzzis in both the pools function well and are clean and hygienic.

Food :

Easily one of the broadest of Indian selections during the breakfast, cooked, made to order, quality and range was fabulous. The spread is sumptuous.

Service and Staff :

Ever courteous , eager to please, the house keeping and room service are very prompt too.

The high tea at Samode Bagh and camel safari was a great experience too.

Negatives :

None from the previous visit, a couple from the recent one.

1. The ongoing civil work and renovation brings a lot of workmen into the palace, it's not a very comforting site , does bring a little insecurity to the mind. Knowing that weekend was heavily booked, they could've perhaps held the construction for the weekend.
2. Considering the amount of guests visiting, staff strength in the restaurant during breakfast was woefully inadequate. Staff present was trying their best to cope but it was evident that it was not enough.
3. I have never seen a restaurant in such a premium property without a restaurant manager, none ! The mis-management was a natural consequence.


Samode Palace stands apart from all other similar properties and the difference in service levels in a span of just two years was disturbing. One hopes that it was a one-off case.

Room Tip: Courtyard farthest from the reception courtyard has the most recently renovated rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anand4323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

I've been to India the past two summers and I must say, this hotel has had a lasting impression. I stayed for three days and the entire stay was wonderful. The service as amazing (as usual) and the rooms were beautiful. Well, what else would you expect in a palace after all? Anyways, I recommend taking a trip to their spa, I had a great full body massage-just remember no one speaks english so you have to be very clear about what you want. The infinity pool was also a highlight of my stay and the views were spectacular. If you're interested in some outdoor activities, they have some great trails up the mountain to see a fort and another temple. The only complaint-there's only wifi in the lobby area. Oh, and this wasn't much of a problem for me, but my friend said that the gym is a bit too small and outdated. Thanks so much for those few days!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Once in a lifetime you get to stay somewhere as special as this. The main pool is quite remarkable, and the rooms are divine. It really takes you back in time to the world of the Raj and the majesty of Rajasthan. Loved. Highly recommended.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank benscan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Another "converter" project. Samode, Palace had been converted into an elegant and quiet luxury hotel run by the family. It’s an interesting building build on three levels, each with its own courtyard. There are 40 guest bedrooms, all decorated with regal heirlooms, but improved with modern comforts such as air-conditioning. We really enjoyed our time there and found this type of hotels in India are the most beautiful, cultural and safe to stay. For more information visit alextravelblog.com

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Samode
18.9 mi away
Samode Haveli
Samode Haveli
#12 of 380 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,172 reviews
20.3 mi away
Jai Mahal Palace
Jai Mahal Palace
#6 of 380 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,955 reviews
21.2 mi away
Rambagh Palace
Rambagh Palace
#4 of 380 in Jaipur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.3 mi away
The Oberoi Rajvilas
The Oberoi Rajvilas
#1 of 380 in Jaipur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,345 reviews
5.7 mi away
Chomu Palace Hotel
Chomu Palace Hotel
#74 of 380 in Jaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
19.7 mi away
Royal Heritage Haveli
Royal Heritage Haveli
#2 of 380 in Jaipur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samode Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samode Palace

Property: Samode Palace
Address: Samode 302002, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Samode
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Samode
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Samode Palace 4.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and HRS so you can book your Samode Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samode Palace Hotel Samode
Samode Palace Hotel Jaipur
Samode Palace Jaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing