We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lost in Time”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Samode Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Samode Palace
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Samode
Certificate of Excellence
Arnold, Maryland
Level Contributor
485 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Lost in Time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

This magical property is lost in time. The Rajput-Mughal architecture reflects an earlier time when this was an ancient caravan stop. You do feel like a maharajah when you stay at this intimate property. The service is spectacular as is the food. The setting includes an old marble pool at the foot of the property and a small new rooftop pool where the waiters will watch to keep the baboons from stealing your lunch when you dip in the pool. Do have the hotel arrange some local tours for you as you have a rare chance to explore real Indian. It is opulent and captivating as you get lost in some of the small passages that open out to towering views of the mountains.

Room Tip: Ask for the room above the courtyard with the marble tub with the lions head. It is actually three r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    573
    144
    25
    16
    9
See reviews for
175
341
26
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

A really nice place. The 5 star palace in India. The food is too amazing. The service is amazing and the staff is very prompt and courteous.
The rooms are clean and well maintained. Good experience. Will recommend it

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarthak K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

Had stayed here in November, is a beautiful palace(albeit a little smaller compared to the palaces in Rajasthan) surround by a hillock which results in it being 'cooler' esp in Summer and Winter.The rooms are huge an opulent with amazingly huge bathrooms. The property has an old world charm to it and the layout a little complex making it it very easy to get lost there. The staff is very helpful and the food quite nice too.

The only thing about this place that i found strange is that, it has an 'eerie' feel/aura to it esp late evenings/night.This was something that was concurred by a lot of my friends who have stayed there as well.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aashish7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MATHURA
Level Contributor
125 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 357 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

We went to Samode Palace on 18th June’2013. We went by road, by our own car. It was my wife’s birthday, I wanted to celebrate and visit and exotic place, so selected this option.
Samode is 40 kms away from Jaipur and approachable via Sikar Road or National Highway No-11 (Agra-Jaipur-Bikaner highway). From Jaipur one has to move 32 Kms to Chomu, then leave the highway, turn right side below the highway-flyover and move straight 9 kms via Ajitgarh Road, which is a state highway. This turning is opposite to Chomu crossing. At the 9th Km mark on this Ajitgarh road, on left side, a dilapidated old gate will come (refer the attached photograph). You need to turn the vehicle inside this gate, then cross a second similar gate, move thru the narrow road going uphill and reach the palace.
Kindly note the following salient points:
1.0> For those without any prior booking for accommodation in Samode Palace Hotel, for just taking photographs of inside and outside or enjoying the frescos and pictures of the palace, there is a cover charge of INR 1000. This cover charge also includes lunch. In fact, this lunch is essential, as there are no other eateries located nearby. This was told to me from the reception of the palace when I called them from Jaipur on 17-06-13 afternoon.
2.0> The above-mentioned 9 kms stretch is quite desolate, only one petrol pump located close to the gate, no other basic provisions nearby. If travelling by own vehicle, kindly ensure your tyres and cars are healthy as I didn’t see any car mechanic shop nearby. Also the location of the hotel was quite desolate, so no city amenities. Kindly carry your basic amenities like medicines etc.
3.0> If you have no prior booking, it is advised to inquire from the reception in advance whether the palace is booked for any marriage-reception or not and in such case, whether you’ll be allowed entry in the palace even for photography or not.
4.0> The approach road from the first gate onwards via the second gate towards the palace is through a dirty, poverty-stricken, under-developed village, which is in stark contrast to the opulence of the palace; hence it presents a depressing and starkly contrasting site. The road condition is also not good.
We went on 18/06/13 afternoon, had no booking but wanted to take some nice photographs of the palace, enjoy the views from there, thereafter, if rooms available, there was a desire in our mind to stay there for 1 - 2 days.
But the daunting approach road sapped away all our enthusiasm. Also my wife was asking me whether it will be OK to shell out INR 1000 bucks as cover charge just for the sake of taking some photos and taking lunch therein? What if ultimately we get no accommodation? What if the tyre of our car gives away in our return journey in evening? She was already quite daunted by the loneliness and desolation of the place.
Skeptical myself, I turned back my car after covering a few yards inside the second gate.
All in all, my assessment is : This may very well be an exotic fort-cum-heritage-place; but it is located in a desolate, lonely place with a depressing surrounding, staying there will be a daunting proposition. Samode village did not leave a positive impression in my mind.
However, those who do not care much for the surroundings of the place where they choose to stay, or for those who won’t mind moving away “far from the maddening crowd” of the city to stay in an exotic, colorful palace amidst natural surroundings – this may be an ideal place to stay. Thus, it is a matter of judicious call.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
Helpful?
3 Thank KINGSHUK S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
141 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

There are "feel like royalty" resorts in Rajasthan galore. Every second place uses it as a marketing line but the Samode Palace doesn't. Here they actually make you feel special. This small palace (compared to other palaces) has around 30 beautifully furnished rooms, each one different from the other, situated on 4 courtyard levels. There are no elevators so if you have mobility problems, inform than and they will accommodate you accordingly. The rooms are finished in a mix of traditional Rajasthani and Victorian styles, equipped with a minibar, air conditioning and television even thought I don't understand why one would waste time on TV when here. The restaurant has food that is simply divine and the breakfast buffet is amply stocked considering that the property is almost 40kms from Jaipur in rural Rajasthan. They have two superb pools, one large main pool and another deck pool overlooking the hills that encircle the property, and both have attached jacuzzis. They also have a spa. The staff are very polite, helpful and will go the extra mile to make your stay comfortable. This is not a budget hotel but if you go in the summer (March to June) they have great deals as it can get very hot. I can write pages about this property but the best would be to go there and enjoy the experience. So, start saving up and out this hotel on your first or next trip to Rajasthan. You will not regret it.

Room Tip: In summer don't go for the upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mraquamarine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

We only stayed one night which was memorable. Unfortunately it rained but we had a chance in the early evening to explore the area on foot. The hotel is in a magnificent historic building. Our upgraded room was spacious, clean & comfortable. The staff were helpful. We ate in the restaurant & even though the hotel was very quiet it was clear that standards were being maintained. Sadly our stay was short and we had an early departure- on my list for a longer stay

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robert j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

We had a fantastic 2 night stay at this incredible venue. The palace itself, rooms and pool area are magnificent. Staff was extremely professional and friendly. Food was good (we only took the buffets so cannot comment on alacarte). Overall it was a truly majestic experience to stay in this historical place while having access to all amenities required. Absolutely outstanding!
It is however important to note that it takes 1 hr to jaipur.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snooksnmamba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Samode
18.9 mi away
Samode Haveli
Samode Haveli
#12 of 377 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,154 reviews
20.3 mi away
Jai Mahal Palace
Jai Mahal Palace
#6 of 377 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,921 reviews
21.2 mi away
Rambagh Palace
Rambagh Palace
#4 of 377 in Jaipur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.3 mi away
The Oberoi Rajvilas
The Oberoi Rajvilas
#1 of 377 in Jaipur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,322 reviews
5.7 mi away
Chomu Palace Hotel
Chomu Palace Hotel
#77 of 377 in Jaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
19.7 mi away
Royal Heritage Haveli
Royal Heritage Haveli
#2 of 377 in Jaipur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samode Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samode Palace

Property: Samode Palace
Address: Samode 302002, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Samode
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Samode
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Samode Palace 4.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Samode Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samode Palace Hotel Samode
Samode Palace Hotel Jaipur
Samode Palace Jaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing