We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Un disturbed natural beuti” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shivika Lake Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shivika Lake Hotel
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Ranakpur
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
“Un disturbed natural beuti”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

me and my husband were there for 4 nights actually we had come only for two days but this place is just magical so we extended our stay for two more nights
rooms were simple but clean.it is run by a young couple .
They both are extremely helpful and so is the staff which is not professional but friendly
Food was excellent must try there pan cakes,barbecue Rajasthani pasta and many more we almost tried everything from there menu in 4days
lovely to sit by the pool or take a dip in the freshly filed pool
only thing which I dint like was to ask the staff to lite the hot water boilers for showerbut I got the water in time so it di t really bother me

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheela_garden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    16
    6
    12
    7
See reviews for
9
28
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Helmond-Netherlands
Level Contributor
59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

This hotel excist in a central building /kitchen restaurant and some rooms , build in the landscape around this building.
Up the hil behind the building is a big lake and a swimmingpool.This swimmingpoolwas in bad shape last time and not funtioning but the vieuw from there over the lake is very Beautifull and quiet.
A wonderfull place for birdwatchers and rest-seekers.
It is a very quiet mountain-area and when there is enough rain there is also very much wild/birdlife around the hotel.
It is very near to the wonderfull Jaintempels of Ranakpur. I think it is approx half hour walking there.
The kitchen is slow, so order your food in time or in advance, specialy when you travel with groups.
The prices are reasonable. I payed around 1000 rupees for a double room.

Room Tip: All the same type. Small houses with 2 rooms each.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank indiafan_1007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coonoor, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

I stayed a night here during a 2 week solo cycling trip through Southern Rajasthan in November. Friendly staff, and great food, and an easy 15 minute cycle ride to the spectacular Ranakpur temple.

My 600 rupee/night tent cottage had a comfortable double bed, and a small but adequate shower, with a bucket of hot water available on request.

A relaxed, unpressured place to stay, perfect backpacking traveller place to relax.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank placidpeaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chennai
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

good location and hotel.but no maintenance work.broken locks,lot of insects.uncleaned rooms.they are not interested in keeping the rooms and beds clean.bad smell from rooms.frogs in rooms.badly maintained hotel.but excellent location near mountains.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sureshlion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ranakpur hotels

Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed here in Feb 2012 in a basic but large stone bungalow, (with ensuite), for 600 rupees per night but you may be able to haggle a better price, Set inside a lovely sunny garden, next to a beautiful lake, where you can eat your dinner if you like, this is an oasis of calm where you can really chill out and relax. The owners and staff were attentive but not intrusive.
The swimming pool was empty when we stayed here.
The food in the restaurant was excellent.
Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank notmiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2012

Stayed here and if the owners are not there (which is most the time) you are dealt with by two young children that can hardly speak any English. The service was terrible food took ages and was expensive, and the whole place looks very tired. We stayed one night thank goodness it was not longer. We were leaving early in the morning and as we were getting packed all we could hear was coughing and some old man smoking his head off was lighting a fire under the 50 year old boiler to heat the water which we were not told about otherwise we could of washed. Oh and bed sheets were very dirty with stains on that looked horrible.

Temple worth a visit but do it as a trip from Udaipur as the village is not worth staying in unless you pay for better acommodation.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank devison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
d.c.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2010

My husband and I stayed at this place for 2 nights and had a wonderful experience. We loved this place as it took us away from the madness of urban India. The place blended in well with its serene surroundings. The place has a lot of potential for being a true eco-tourism destination.

First about the location - it is located by the Aravali hills and the views around are magnificent with many beautiful birds and trees. If you are fond of walking and hiking, this place is ideal for you. Yes, the next door lake was dried up because of poor monsoons in the past year. Also, the swimming pool was empty, but to expect a swimming pool in Rajasthan does not make any ecological sense.

Now about the management - Shivika, the owner's daughter and the manager, was extremely helpful and hospitable. Our train arrived at 3 A.M. and she arranged for a taxi pick-up at the remote Phalna railway station. When we arrived at that late hour, she woke up to see that we had arrived safely and were satisfied with our room. The staff mainly comprised of people from the local tribes. They were all friendly and helpful. Because we try to avoid plastic bottled water as much as possible, we asked for boiled water pitchers and they always brought them promptly. The owning family spends a lot of time there so the place has a familial charm.

About the food - The food usually took 20 - 30 mins to arrive but we did not mind that because we were not in a hurry and the food was always excellent and reasonable priced. Try their thali and the Marwari Malai Koftas.

About the rooms - This place should not be called a hotel. It is more like a retreat with single room lodges scattered around the large grounds and surrounded by gardens and the Aravalli hills in the backdrop. The lodges have simple furnishings and are very clean. The bathrooms are basic and clean as well. Hot water comes from a wood burning heater so it is best to ask if the water is warm before you shower.

Recommendations - Walk to the Ranapur Temple through the trails in the scrub forest. Stop by the large lake near the temple and check out the different bird species, small turtles, langoors and villagers herding their cattle. Walk to the little town nearby and shop for the local handmade durries. I would not recommend the safari trip to the Kumbalgarh Wildlife Sanctuary. The trip is relatively expensive and the sanctuary is not that big. We felt that there was not much wildlife to see, we only saw a few 'neelgais' or blue bulls.

And always remember, when you leave, only leave behind your footprints and not your trash.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sadc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ranakpur
2.2 mi away
Mana Hotels Ranakpur
Mana Hotels Ranakpur
#2 of 8 in Ranakpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
1.7 mi away
King's Abode
King's Abode
#1 of 8 in Ranakpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
3.1 mi away
Aranyawas
Aranyawas
#4 of 8 in Ranakpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Aodhi Hotel
Aodhi Hotel
#2 of 8 in Kumbhalgarh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
3.6 mi away
WelcomHeritage Maharani Bagh Orchard Retreat
9.2 mi away
Ghanerao Royal Castle
Ghanerao Royal Castle
#1 of 1 in Ghanerao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shivika Lake Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shivika Lake Hotel

Property: Shivika Lake Hotel
Address: Ranakpur Road | Dist. Pali, Ranakpur 306702, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Ranakpur
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Ranakpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing