We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and friendly”
Review of Shivika Lake Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shivika Lake Hotel
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Ranakpur
Reviewed February 14, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed here in Feb 2012 in a basic but large stone bungalow, (with ensuite), for 600 rupees per night but you may be able to haggle a better price, Set inside a lovely sunny garden, next to a beautiful lake, where you can eat your dinner if you like, this is an oasis of calm where you can really chill out and relax. The owners and staff were attentive but not intrusive.
The swimming pool was empty when we stayed here.
The food in the restaurant was excellent.
Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank notmiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (47)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 47 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2012

Stayed here and if the owners are not there (which is most the time) you are dealt with by two young children that can hardly speak any English. The service was terrible food took ages and was expensive, and the whole place looks very tired. We stayed one night thank goodness it was not longer. We were leaving early in the morning and as we were getting packed all we could hear was coughing and some old man smoking his head off was lighting a fire under the 50 year old boiler to heat the water which we were not told about otherwise we could of washed. Oh and bed sheets were very dirty with stains on that looked horrible.

Temple worth a visit but do it as a trip from Udaipur as the village is not worth staying in unless you pay for better acommodation.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank devison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2010

My husband and I stayed at this place for 2 nights and had a wonderful experience. We loved this place as it took us away from the madness of urban India. The place blended in well with its serene surroundings. The place has a lot of potential for being a true eco-tourism destination.

First about the location - it is located by the Aravali hills and the views around are magnificent with many beautiful birds and trees. If you are fond of walking and hiking, this place is ideal for you. Yes, the next door lake was dried up because of poor monsoons in the past year. Also, the swimming pool was empty, but to expect a swimming pool in Rajasthan does not make any ecological sense.

Now about the management - Shivika, the owner's daughter and the manager, was extremely helpful and hospitable. Our train arrived at 3 A.M. and she arranged for a taxi pick-up at the remote Phalna railway station. When we arrived at that late hour, she woke up to see that we had arrived safely and were satisfied with our room. The staff mainly comprised of people from the local tribes. They were all friendly and helpful. Because we try to avoid plastic bottled water as much as possible, we asked for boiled water pitchers and they always brought them promptly. The owning family spends a lot of time there so the place has a familial charm.

About the food - The food usually took 20 - 30 mins to arrive but we did not mind that because we were not in a hurry and the food was always excellent and reasonable priced. Try their thali and the Marwari Malai Koftas.

About the rooms - This place should not be called a hotel. It is more like a retreat with single room lodges scattered around the large grounds and surrounded by gardens and the Aravalli hills in the backdrop. The lodges have simple furnishings and are very clean. The bathrooms are basic and clean as well. Hot water comes from a wood burning heater so it is best to ask if the water is warm before you shower.

Recommendations - Walk to the Ranapur Temple through the trails in the scrub forest. Stop by the large lake near the temple and check out the different bird species, small turtles, langoors and villagers herding their cattle. Walk to the little town nearby and shop for the local handmade durries. I would not recommend the safari trip to the Kumbalgarh Wildlife Sanctuary. The trip is relatively expensive and the sanctuary is not that big. We felt that there was not much wildlife to see, we only saw a few 'neelgais' or blue bulls.

And always remember, when you leave, only leave behind your footprints and not your trash.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sadc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2009

We stayed at Shivika in November 2009 after a recommendation from a guest house we stayed at in Jodhpur. We were looking for a brief stopover in a rural location to escape the relentlessness of India's city's so xxx was fine for this purpose as the location at the foot of the Aravali hills is perfectly serene. However if you've looked at shivika website prior to booking I would say that you'd be extremely disappointed. The set up is a series of cottages with bedroom/ensuite bathroom. The cottages were shabby and we payed extra for the promise of hot water but this did not happen. Supposedly shivika has a swimming pool with lake views, but when we arrived the swimming pool was empty and looked like a building site and the lake too was dried up (granted this was not the hotel's fault as the monsoons were poor this year). We had some food there which was ok but not especially exciting, on the plus side beer was perhaps the coldest we were served in India. On the whole I'd say if you are looking for somewhere at the lower end of the price scale as a base to see Ranakpur Jain temple then shivika is fine but don't come expecting too much more.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nangers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2009

Too bad...it was a disappointment
A bit run down
Swimming pool looked like it hasnt been used in ages
Rooms ok
Service inexistant

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leprefrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2009

Firstly, I will let my pictures speak for themselves. Check the pictures, then check the website out.

http://shivikalakehotel.com/

Shivika lake is not only listed in the Lonely Planet but also the Rough Guide, its easy to see it run down now but was obviously at some point was a nice place. What I found most upsetting though is the false advertising, seeing the website, reading the reviews and expecting to arrive to that after a long sweaty bus ride, so disapointing.

We had booked into stay 3nights, alarms bells started to ring the moment we checked in when they asked for money up front 'a deposit'. Now, at that point we had no idea there was lovely hotel just up the road so we felt stuck with no option but to stay at least one night. When we voiced our concern and disapointment, all the owner was interested in was making sure we pay the remaining money in the morning. Despite being booked in for 3night, with 3 friends arriving the following day for two nights and all five of us wanting to do a safari with them.. all they wanted was that nights money, not interested in appeasing us at all. The food was awful as well, the picture is of a club sandwich if you were wondering. Such a shame, obviously a good place at some point but now ripping people off. To be honest, Im sure some budget travellers might consider it, it did have air con and wasnt filthy.. I've seen and stayed in worse.. but it was 1200R a night.. for another 300R you can stay at the Ranakpur Hill Resort.

Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Magic_Hands27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2009

This resort is located a little off the highway from ranakpur and is the ideal place to stay for visits to the Ranakpur Jain temples, Kumbalgarh sanctuary and even Haldi Ghati, if your're inclined to visit the battlefield. Location apart, there's nothing much to reccommend the place. It's practically hewn out of the surrounding forests, so one cannot expect 5-star comforts here, but one does expect clean bathrooms and food served on time. There are cottages with their own little verandahs scattered around the property. Watch out for doors without latches, bulbs that don't function and worst of all, creepy-crawlies that come through the bathroom drain to visit you. If you want food, you gotta order a few hours in advance and present yourself at the restaurant at the appointed hour hoping nourishment will be forthcoming. One look at you, and the waiter dons an apron and disappears into the kitchen to rustle up something. Sadly there are no alternatives in this locality other than the oh-so-expensive palace type of accomodation.

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maitri468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ranakpur
2.2 mi away
Mana Hotels Ranakpur
Mana Hotels Ranakpur
#2 of 8 in Ranakpur
295 reviews
1.8 mi away
WelcomHeritage Maharani Bagh Orchard Retreat
6.4 mi away
Aodhi Hotel
Aodhi Hotel
#3 of 11 in Kumbhalgarh
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
King's Abode
King's Abode
#1 of 8 in Ranakpur
288 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Kumbha Bagh
The Kumbha Bagh
#2 of 11 in Kumbhalgarh
161 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ranakpur Safari Resort
Ranakpur Safari Resort
#4 of 8 in Ranakpur
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shivika Lake Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shivika Lake Hotel

Address: Ranakpur Road | Dist. Pali, Ranakpur 306702, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Pali District > Ranakpur
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Ranakpur
Price Range: $27 - $46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Shivika Lake Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing