We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel good but restaurant not so good”
Review of Barsingha Villa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Phalodi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Barsingha Villa
Ranked #2 of 3 Phalodi B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
218 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
“Hotel good but restaurant not so good”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

About twenty miles north of Phalodi on NH 15 there is a beautiful hotel. In the middle of the desert a gardened oasis awaits. Traditional Rajasthani decorations abound and the rooms are spacious and clean. The water is hot and the TV gets English stations. The staff is courteous. The flowering trees in the middle of the desert are a true pleasure. The restaurant on the other hand is a disappointment but I doubt that there are many options anywhere nearby. I ordered the mutton biryani but was told it is not available. This is an US $80 per night resort. If it's on the menu then they ought to have it. So I switched to the sweet and sour chicken which turned out to be neither. The desert vegetables which were delicious at KB Lodge in Jaisalmer disappointed. There was a plethora of undercooked roots and twigs but very few of the delicious desert beans. In frustration I ordered the tuna salad on toast. Big mistake. Imagine tuna out of a can placed on toast. That's it. When I complained it came back warm with cut vegetables in it. The thing is that you don't need bottled mayonnaise to make mayonnaise all you need are eggs, oil, and a little salt, even maybe a bit of saffron. Why have a tuna salad on toast on the menu if you don't have a cook who has a clue what it is? I actually told the manager to take it off the menu because it was the worst tuna salad sandwich that I had ever had. So the hotel is great but bring your own food.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JamesNYC212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    14
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
8
10
1
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We went to Barsingha Villa in January as part of a driving holiday and stopped for lunch, then liked it so much we stayed for two nights. Great place, v friendly attentive staff and although close to a main road, quiet at night and very comfortable: good tastefully decorated large rooms, very clean, private courtyards to sit in and rooftop dining around a nice fire, great food.

Our host was superb and we really enjoyed the time. Simple pleasures to do in the vicinity, go to the salt pans and see the workers there, cycling, visit local Thar desert villages (my daughter loved playing with the lambs), and see the Demoiselle Cranes (by the 1000+) in Kichan, 25 kms away.

Really good place, we want to go back (British family, working in Mumbai).

Room Tip: choose the original building rooms, 102 or 103, private courtyard, can be bolted close at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank synnefoula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We had a lovely room in the old part of the house,very comfortable and nicely decorated.Evening meals were never in the same spot twice which was nice.The food was good and the grounds where you could just chill out were lovely.The staff were very polite and the service was good.The only negative i can think of is that the excursions are overpriced for what you get and when you come to pay the bill ,firstly they do not accept anything but cash and secondly there are added charges eg:luxury tax which was not warrented.
The owner is very hands on and took us to all the excursions himself,he was friendly and polite.Phalodi itself is ok,there are a few nice lakes around for visiting,and if you want to see the local school do it yourself without going on the excursion which is not needed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank culturebuff8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
72 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Barsinga Villa stands on the edge of the highway, close to the village of Baap. The hotel is built around a large inner courtyard, with large, clean, airy rooms. The bathrooms are spacious, although not having curtains on their windows can leave some people jittery, especially as they open to the highway. The food is freshly cooked and served in generous portions. The service is impeccable, in true Rajasthani standard. The region around Baap is seeing a lot of activities in terms of construction of solar power plants, so this hotel can expect to receive a steady flow of patrons in the years to come.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Udayadittya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Level Contributor
216 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Very nice place to stay if you need to stop between Bikaner and Jaisalmer. We stayed here in order to visit the Bird Sanctuary. Basically can the distance between Bikane and Jaisalmer as well be covered in only one day as the road has been improved. But you miss the desert athmosphere.

The food is great, the rooms are spacious and clean and very nicely decorated.

This place serves as well as a great lunch stop!

We feel thankful that we stopped at this place.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Junix02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, Delhi, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 25, 2012

great ownership and hospitality. Best amalgamation of quality, tranquility,serenity & sensuousness at one place .
highly reckon d' one.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Honey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2011

My friends and i loved everything about this small boutique hotel. If you travel to Rajasthan you must not miss staying here. The hotel is located in the the rural village of Bhap which is located in the Thar desert, an essential experience in itself. Each luxury bedroom in this beautiful villa has a unique charm because of the care taken by Australian, Julie Salmon, to collect furniture and textiles which reflect India’s exotic heritage. Julie is a partner in this beautiful hotel with Narendra Singh, who has lived in this area all his life and thus has immense local knowledge. Nothing was too much trouble for these two and their wonderful staff. Our dining experiences were amazing from the beautiful breakfasts which we ate in a hand painted room while gazing out on a beautiful courtyard, to the outdoor rooftop experience where we watched a beautiful sunset and were entertained by local musicians and an exotic dancer. The food we ate was amongst some of the best we had during our tour through Rajasthan. Julie and Narendra organised some fantastic activities for the few days we stayed at Barsingha Villa. We walked throught the local village and visited the school, which the hotel supports. Here the principal allowed us to visit the classrooms where the older children subjected us to a barrage of questions in their endeavours to improve their English and find out more about Australia. A tour of the local salt lakes was organised where a local industry extracts the salt from the earth and processes it to ship all over India. The sight of the myriad of white lakes and the graceful Indians working across them is stamped in my mind. We toured local adobe villages where the people live in primitive mud huts as they have for centuries. The children flocked around us shrieking with laughter when their photos were taken. However the highlight of our visit to Barsingha Villa was a late afternoon trip to the Thar desert to find a herd of camels and the tribesmen who look after them in the most magestic manner. I had read about camels being the ships of the desert and this is how they appeared as they elegantly strode across the sands with the exotic tribesmen captaining their every move.The more adventurous of us in the party even got to ride a camel. The evening was capped off by a wonderful candlelit dinner in the courtyard of the two bedroom adobe which is owned by Barsingha Villa. The stars that shine in the sky above the Thar desert have to be seen to be believed. I thoroughly recommend Barsingha Villa to anyone wanting a unique experience in India.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travellerdisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phalodi hotels
106.8 mi away
Lal Niwas
Lal Niwas
#2 of 3 in Phalodi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
17.6 mi away
No photo provided
New Golden Palace
#1 of 3 in Phalodi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
5.7 mi away
Red Rock Resort
Red Rock Resort
#1 of 3 in Phalodi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Fort View
#2 of 2 in Phalodi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Barsingha Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barsingha Villa

Property: Barsingha Villa
Address: Phalodi 342307, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jodhpur District > Phalodi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Phalodi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Barsingha Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barsingha Villa Hotel is set in the vast Thar Desert of Rajasthan between Bikaner and Jodhpur and comprises 18 beautifully appointed bedrooms, all with private en-suites and air conditioning, two restaurants, four lounges, two bars and a beautiful rooftop garden. Owned and run by Kr. Narender Singh and designed by Australian Julie Salmon, Barsingha Villa Hotel near Bikaner provides visitors with a memorable Rajasthani experience, using local decor, colours, traditions and cuisine. From the Villa our staff can arrange safari tours to include ancient adobe villages, exposing the culture and colorful living of the desert people, as well as animal watching, camel rides and desert feasts. Stay with us for 3 or 4 nights and see the amazing delights and splendour that the desert has to offer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Barsingha Villa Phalodi, Rajasthan, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing