We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inspiring on many levels”
Review of Castle on the Hill

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Castle on the Hill
Ranked #2 of 3 Uki B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 29, 2012

My partner and I recently stayed at the Castle on the Hill again, and this time with overseas guests. As before, the welcome to the Castle was amazing, with a welcome drink, some nibbles and a chat with hostess Irene. She showed our overseas guests the entire amazing building , and some of the fantastic art works of Robert Pope and Robert Todonai, both significant Australian Artists working from the Castle. Robert Todonai gives art classes every last Saturday of the month, which we attended and enjoyed immensely.

Breakfast is included, and the time for it can pretty much be chosen, depending on whether we were keen to sleep in or plan for a day of adventures. It is just a short drive from the Gold Coast, and many attractions are within close driving distance.

The building is very special and has many hidden gems in various corners. You truly feel like residing in a country manor, or castle. The rooms are tastefully decorated and come with ensuite. Irene and Robert have their own chicken, which provide the organic eggs for breakfast.

The Castle gives perfect opportunities to do a variety of things, and Irene is more than happy to make suggestions and giver useful tips. We decided to climb Mount Warning, apparently the spot where the sun hits Australia first, and had an excursion to Byron Bay as well.

With a pristine mansion, a lush garden and lovely hosts, we will most certainly be going back to the Castle on the Hill.

Stefan F

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stefan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (15)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 15 of 15 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2012

I have stayed at Castle on the Hill several times over the last few years. It is a beautiful place to explore the region and the Bryron Bay hinterland south of the Queensland Gold Coast, Australia. I climbed Mt Warning (named by James Cook) during my 2nd visit which is close by and one of the first places on mainland Australia to receive the sun's rays each day.

The lodgings and the surroundings are beautiful, relaxing and lovely, reminiscent of Europe in Australia with a splendid setting of the Greco garden and a panoramic view of Mt Warning from the dining room. Irene, Castle's operator looked after me like royalty during my stays at Castle on the Hill.

I recommend Castle on the Hill and do enjoy the experience. Anthony

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anthony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

I have stayed there a few times and had a lovely time. Situated in beautiful gardens, it was a most relaxing experience. The owners are friendly and the rooms are charming. After breakfast, there is a magical garden to explore, including a Greek style column, many native plants and trees and the peak of Mt Warning in view from the window. The owners are artists and their work is in the rooms. I recommend this hotel highly.

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautifully designed. It feels like a castle when you enter the Lady or the King...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rose B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

This castle was built by the resident professor of Arts & Science. The building is interesting and the host, Irene is really sweet, However if you're after a relaxing break (as we were), the morning discussions/lectures can get a little much. If you like discussing arts and science with your morning coffee, then this is the place for you. To be honest it felt more like staying in their home, which isn't quite what we were after.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicci B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Uki hotels
6.4 mi away
Mt Warning Forest Hideaway
1.1 mi away
A View of Mt Warning Bed & Breakfast
2.5 mi away
ecOasis Resorts
ecOasis Resorts
#1 of 1 in Uki
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle on the Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle on the Hill

Address: 90 Bonnydoon Rd, Uki, New South Wales 2484, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Uki
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Uki
Price Range: $3 - $3 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle on the Hill 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique Accommodation in the Tweed Valley We provide luxury accommodation and delicious buffet breakfast in a magnificent castle overlooking the lush Tweed Valley. We offer our guests a 'Renaissance Experience' which touches the senses. Beauty - through the pleasure of aesthetic art. Interesting conversations - to stimulate the mind and interest. Grandeur - through the majestic castle architecture of stone and heavy timber, built to pleasing artistic proportions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Castle on the Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing