We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel AD Gallias

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel AD Gallias
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bard
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed here for one night when we were driving down to Italy. bard is very convenient as it is just off the autoroute. The hotel is one the main street and is easy to find although parking is a problem. we had to park further up the town in a public are so were a little wary about leaving all our luggage in the car overnight.

The hotel is very good, modern rooms with free ( very fast WiFI). We had our dog with us and she was welcomed as well!. We ate in the restaurant and the meal was fantastic -- the grilled peaches with lavender ice cream was probably my best dessert ever !!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Belinda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    48
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
121
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

This really is a lovely hotel and fabulous location for #5 on a 16 day euro roadtrip. Parking was easy in the lay by just by the pedestrian crossing lights. Rooms were really nice, and service was excellent. We had a lovely meal and gorgeous wine finished off sitting on the roof terrace viewing the lit up castle at night. Castle and surrounds were right on the doorstep. Take the lifts to the top and take a leasurely stroll down taking in the castle features as you go. Bard is also a great stop off from Geneva through to Lake Garda.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StephnLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed just for one night passing through in late June, This hotel is a must for anyone in the area, friendly, very helpful staff, our rooms where modern clean and very well appointed, the hotel is in a great location near the castle and close to some of the best roads in Italy, Oh i forgot to mention the great food and local wine. A special mention must go to all the staff for making us so welcome, Thank you

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyon, Switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this lovely hotel beginning of August only for one night as we were traveling to Tuscany with two kids. We had a Deluxe room which had an amazing view of the castle. The hotel throughout looked very well maintained and beautifully designed. Our room was good size, it felt very comfortable and clean. We dined at the restaurant which I highly recommend, food was amazing and service was great. Breakfast buffet had good selection of cold cuts, cheese, pastries, fruits and anything else you would have for breakfast, it didn't feel as if there was anything missing. We had very good coffee and they were so kind to even fill up our traveling coffee mugs with coffee for the road. I can only say good things about this hotel and staff. Everyone was very helpful and we'll certainly come back.
Hotel is very well located, only few minutes walk to the castle and old town.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jet7r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
84 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

The Ad Gallias is a lovely hotel in tiny Bard, which is one of the most beautiful castles I have seen--where the Italians managed to hold off Napoleon. The Ad Gallias has a lovely staff: Giovanni and Jean Luc are particularily great. The restaurant has lovely food, the best in town and the rooms with balconies, the suites with views of the river are modern/rustic. A lovely stop on the way in or out of Valle D'Aosta--and at the castle you can check out an exhibition or maybe be lucky enough as we were to hear a concert.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lenorenewyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Thank you everyone who has reviewed this hotel before - they were right a fantastic boutique hotel. It does not look promising from the outside (by the main road) but inside it has been imaginatively restored. The hotel is right by the fort. There is parking next to the road (free - in a lay-by by bus stop), in Hone (across the bridge) or in a underground car park (you need to pay but not much). Our room was at the front on the 2nd floor. It was big, the bed King sized and comfortable and the bathroom had a huge shower. There was satalite TV but no English channels. We dinned at the hotel restaurant. It was well worth it. Breakfast was continental and beautifully served. All in all out best hotel and dinner of our trip. Highly recommended.
Do go to see the fort you can ride the lifts and see the public areas for free. The view of the valley is worth it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Psip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Loved this hotel. Excellent restaurant and wonderful staff. The food here was better than most restaurants we went to. They made Made great recommendations about the area. I would happily return to this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wgolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bard
10.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Alla Posta
0.0 mi away
Hotel Cavour et des Officiers
11.0 mi away
Parc Hotel Billia
Parc Hotel Billia
#1 of 12 in Saint-Vincent
4.5 of 5 stars 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.0 mi away
Hotel Milleluci
Hotel Milleluci
#1 of 18 in Aosta
4.5 of 5 stars 346 reviews
23.0 mi away
Saint Hubertus Resort
Saint Hubertus Resort
#1 of 37 in Breuil-Cervinia
5.0 of 5 stars 306 reviews
8.1 mi away
Hotel Parc Mont Avic
Hotel Parc Mont Avic
#1 of 1 in Champdepraz
4.5 of 5 stars 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel AD Gallias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel AD Gallias

Property: Hotel AD Gallias
Address: Via Vittorio Emanuele 5/7, 11020 Bard, Italy
Location: Italy > Valle d'Aosta > Bard
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel AD Gallias 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in two expertly restored buildings at the entrance to the medieval village of Bard, the Hotel Ad Gallias preserves the historic traces of the different activities that have, over the years, taken place there. The hotel’s strikingly picturesque backdrop, with the imposing Forte di Bard dominating the surrounding landscape, makes it the ideal location for a relaxing break or an active sporting or cultural holiday. The classic décor featuring original antiques from artisan workshops and the warm, intimate and friendly atmosphere will make your stay here enjoyable and comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel AD Gallias reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing