We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ooty trip”
Review of Riga Residency

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wellington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riga Residency
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wellington
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Nice food, excellent service and hotel located in a excellent location. Over all value for money with the price tag. Nice food, excellent service and hotel located in a excellent location. Over all value for money with the price tag. Nice food, excellent service and hotel located in a excellent location. Over all value for money with the price tag.


  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
2  Thank Nihar Ranjan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (46)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 46 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2013

It's a best choice hotel in Coonoor for middle-class people. The tariff is very reasonable especially during peak season except the food cost but the quality of the food is good. If you have a vehicle i would definitely recommend this hotel for a stay in Coonoor instead of busy crowded ooty since it is just 25 minutes drive from this hotel to ooty. This hotel is situated between coonoor and wellington station and it gives a wonderful view from the room from where you can enjoy the hill view, chill weather, cool breeze. I initially booked a room for 3 days in this hotel this summer i.e. May 2013 but later i decided to continue in the same hotel for another 4 days since i had a car instead of finding a hotel in ooty as it was crowded, dusty, rooms were costly and not pleasant. Overall i stayed with my wife and 4 year old daughter for 7 days and we really enjoyed the stay and it was affordable and it was really worth a stay. If you experience in this hotel you would surely stay again in the same hotel instead of searching for a hotel in ooty. The reception and the rooms are spacious, hotel has parking space and offers quality food, less polluted etc. Ofcourse the disadvantages being lift under service, difficult to order room service as the staff do not know tamil or english but for otherwise it was a pleasant stay. Inorder to reach the hotel, carefully understand and follow the direction as given in the hotel website. The places to visit in Coonoor are Sim's park, Dolphin nose, lamb's rock, Wellington lake (boating), Wellington rly. station. In ooty - botanical garden, rose garden, dhotabatta, ooty rly. station, ooty lake (boating), ketti & lovedale rly. station, mudumalai tiger reserve (35 kms.).

Room Tip: Book a deluxe room on the 1st floor as you have to climb stairs. The rooms are spacious and less exp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rrajesh06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Cons:Located about 1 km away from coonoor bus stand, this hotel is an old one which needs to be modernised. There is no lift in the hotel and I had to take the steps for 3 floors like trekking. Food in the restaurant is quite expensive and only chinese food is good. Better avoid south indian foods. I stayed for 2 nights and they never asked whether to clean the room when i am out. With Old towels, old bed & bedsheets this hotel will never attract the guests again

Pros: view from the hotel is quite good.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benz777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

its located in welligton(between ooty and coonoor) 12km from ooty and 2 km from coonoor. Location of the hotel is very pleasing and nice. I enjoyed the stay. our room was on third floor v iew from the room was very nice. the restaurant is a bit costly other wise its all good.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
3  Thank Shridevi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Firstly the road to hotel is not properly guided by hotel staff itself! Not a single sign board or name placard of the hotel is seen in the vicinity to guide the tourist who unfortunately have the bookings of the same. If we take a wrong route, the roads are so narrow nd curvy plus crowded with heavy duty vehicles that u turns or reverse turns are very very difficult.
The management of the hotel is the worst... the pics of hotel are attractive than it is actually... we totally get misguided. The rates of the restaurant are exorbitant (i mean as good as 4star hotel) but food quality is worst than dhaba... absolutely third class!
The room heaters are provided just for the sake of name..not capable of heating the room at all! The geyser in our room was not working...the heater made the fuse trip.. overall 'ekdum pathetic scenario' inside so outside scenery less appreciated!
We asked for cleaning the room in the morning while going for sightseeing; till we returned it was not taken care off.. completely ignorant hotel staff nd manager.
The lift of the hotel was not working so we had to climb the stairs which was exhaustive...!
Only plus point is that Welington station is walking distance to catch the ooty train.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FreshFace2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

I was amazed by the view from my room. It was foggy and view of Willington station was amazing. Rooms are big and we loved spending couple of hours walking around the hotel. They have facility for the drivers too.

Check in and check out was facilitated by the General Manager of the hotel. He also took our order for dinner. For us, it didn't matter as we were having good time and were not bothered about who is doing what.

Hotel has a lift but it was not working. The person who was serving the food got bit confused with the order as there was another guest having dinner in the hotel restaurant. Along with what we ordered, he also served us something that we didn't order.

Over all a nice experience.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PraveeNegi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

On a hilltop, in front of a Wellington station. Small, beautiful, toy trains runnig on the nilgiri is clearly visible from the window.

Rooms can be improved and same as the staff of the hotel.

overall pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rahulkodinya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riga Residency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riga Residency

Address: 2 Appleby Road, Wellington 643231, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Wellington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wellington
Price Range: $27 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Riga Residency 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riga Residency is renaissance of gracious hospitality. A star-class family-run hotel, it is the destination of choice for both business and leisure travelers. Perched on a hill-top, every room at the Riga Residency offers you spectacular views of the surrounding hills and valleys and the UNESCO Heritage Nilgiris Mountain Railway. Riga Residency's multi cuisine restaurant serves Indian, South Indian, Mugalai, Chinese & Continental dishes. We also have lawn-service, bar, and a banquet hall. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riga Residency Wellington
Riga Residency Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing